We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #59 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Food”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel in January for 2 nights and could not fault the hotel at all. Someone from the hotel contacted us the evening before we were due to arrive to confirm our stay, and when we arrived the check in process was friendly, courteous and helpful, with someone showing us to our room and confirming that we were satisfied. The only slight niggle was with the plumbing, as you could hear water from rooms above if someone used the bathroom, which sounded quite loud during the night; however this would not stop us from returning. Our reservation included an evening meal at the Thistle Restaurant and we were not disappointed; the food was delicious and was combined with very good service. The quality of the food was just as good at breakfast, with a good choice of continental and full breakfast. All of the hotel staff that we encountered were very friendly and the service provided was excellent, which really made our stay all the more enjoyable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    412
    122
    27
    13
See reviews for
107
700
61
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be a great choice and exactly what we want in a hotel. Friendly staff, great location and lovely modern rooms with the most amazing showers. We started off in rm 304 but found the air conditioning units outside the window to be too loud even with the double glazing. We mentioned our concerns to reception and were immediately moved to rm 005 with no fuss whatsoever and we really appreciated it as it was a rare weekend away from young kids and we needed the sleep! All in all, a great modern hotel.

Room Tip: As above, we found air cond units outside rm 304 to be too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Liz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend away especially as your husband mentioned it was a rare occasion. We certainly are in a perfect location for a weekend away to see Edinburgh's sights, enjoy a show at the Playhouse theatre or for some retail therapy.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon again.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I choose this hotel because of its proximity to the Royal College of Physicians. Usually my company would book one of the hotels on the Royal Mile, but they were all full. Am I glad that I picked this place instead.

The location is great, the only caveat being that the York Place is closed to vehicle traffic due to the ongoing tramway building works That said, my taxi driver was able to drop me off approximately 100 metres from the hotel.

I have stayed in the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle upon Tyne, and the décor is very similar. However, although it is part of the Holiday Inn chain, the atmosphere is completely different. As befits an Edinburgh hotel, they had a good selection of single malt whiskies available, and I enjoyed Lagavulin and Glengoyne. Very pleasant barman, who made what could have been a dire evening of being alone in a hotel much more enjoyable.

Major points to this hotel, as I asked the barman if I could find a box to send some work kit back rather than take it on the plane. He duly checked in the kitchen, and then placed the box in the luggage room for me for tomorrow.

So, nice atmosphere, pleasant, relaxing décor, friendly and helpful staff. This is what a hotel should be. I shall be making this my first choice for future meetings in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: It is worth joining the Holiday Inn Reward Points scheme. I was upgraded to a Junior Suite on arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Jo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the professional but friendly service of our team. I believe it was David that looked after you in the bar and I will certainly make sure to hand over your comments to him personally.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon for one of your future meetings.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Being a local, I have visted Hotel Indigo with groups of friends on several different occasions to eat in both the Turquoise Thistle Restaurant and in the hotel bar. On each occasion both myself and friends have been highly impressed with the quality and presentation of the food, which has also been very reasonalby priced. The staff within the hotel have consistently been extremely friendly and welcoming and have provided a very good service at each visit. It is a lovely place to meet friends for lunch, dinner or drinks, and can provide an "oasis" to relax in away from the city-centre noise and bustle. A definate favourite, and although, as an Edinburgh resident, I have not yet stayed in Hotel Indigo, I am planning to treat myself to an overnight stay so that I can enjoy all that the hotel has to offer!!

Room Tip: Have only visited for food and drink so far, however am planning an overnight stay as a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morag h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Morag,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh and the Turquoise Thistle restaurant.

It is always great to be able to welcome back our regulars and I hope you have enjoyed your lunch with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you for an overnight stay some time in the future and please do let me know before booking and I will make sure to arrange a complimentary upgrade for you.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed here for our annual Christmas shopping trip, great room and staff. We had afternoon tea on arrival which was good, look forward to returning again for next years trip. Only negative was the distance to the car park, but it was handy for shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Yorkshire Traveller 72,

Thank you very much for writing such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

We certainly are in a great location to explore all that Edinburgh has to offer. From the Playhouse theatre, over the designer shops on Multrees walk, to the bars and Pubs on Rose and George street.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon and please do let us know when you will be arriving and our concierge will be happy to help with luggage and car parking.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived late on Friday evening and were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff. We were given a room upgrade, which is always a great start. The check in was quick, simple and efficient. The room, although not massive, was very nice. A very contemporary style, comfortable and very clean. The complimentary mini bar is a nice touch (no alcohol). The shower room was very nice, with a 'rainfall' shower head. The bed was very comfortable and two very good nights sleep followed.
The bar and restaurant are stylish and comfortable, if I had any complaint it would be that service was extremely slow.... but as we were having a lazy weekend, we weren't too bothered. The breakfast was exceptional! The hotel is very centrally located, being only a few minutes walk from Princes Street and the Royal Mile.
BEST TIP. contact the hotel first to get the exact location for the taxi to drop you off, as, due to the tram line works, you can't get to the door of the hotel. Our driver dropped us off almost 1/2 a mile away, only to find that we could have got to within 100m!!!
A great hotel, with great service. We recommend it.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are really quiet as they are to the back of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for writing a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all the comforts of your bedroom. It is also great to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast and please do accept my apologies if the service was not as speedy as you expected. We do prepare all our cooked breakfast from scratch but have reviewed the cooking process in order to serve all our guests as quickly as possible.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon to our neighbourhood.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night for my boyfriends birthday and couldn't fault it. The hotel rang me on the Thursday before my stay asking if I had any special requirements and warning me of the road works which are taking place in Edinburgh which was really nice of them. The rooms are fairly small as it is based in an old town-house style building, but the décor and the stylish bathroom more than made up for the size. There was a complimentary mini bar of soft drinks and snacks, and the bathroom had lots of lovely Aveda products. We also stayed for breakfast which was also brilliant, although it would have been expensive if we hadn't got it included in our room package.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Kate,

Thak you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially as it was for such a special occasion. We do aim to contact all our guests before their stay as a matter of curtesy to help with travel arrangements etc. I will certainly pass your comments regarding our breakfast on to the Turquoise Thistle team as they work very hard to make sure all our guests receive a great breakfast to set them up for the day.

I hope that we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,387 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing