We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, Good LLocation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed one night on business, and the hotel is well located for central Edinburgh. The hotel has a nice welcoming feel to it, and the staff are very helpful and attentive. My room was large with a desk area to the side, which was useful, and the wifi was free. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, and both were very good. There is also a small, but nice, bar area. The only issue was the car park, which was a five minute walk away, and is separately located behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

I had a few issues booking this hotel which irritated me at first, but I wasn't disappointed when we arrived. And the staff were as accommodating as possible. The day before I called the hotel after receiving a call from them the day before that and spoke to Matt. He was very nice on the phone and very helpful, he was also on reception when we arrived and kindly let us check in early as our room was ready. This was greatly appreciated having travelled all morning and it was a cold day. The room was clean and nicely laid out, we loved the fact the tv was at the end of the very comfortable bed, great for watching a movie. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was lovely and warm.
We opted for the prepaid breakfast included deal which made the room better value as it was a little more than I would normally pay for a hotel room, though it is a boutique hotel and by comparison to others like it in Edinburgh the price was very reasonable. Plus the breakfast was good! The location is perfect. Not long from the Waverley station.

I hope my review gives other people enough information, but generally I would recommend the hotel and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y0dA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I've stayed twice in the last couple of months. It's all very new, and therefore the rooms and bathrooms are still in good nick. I'd say they're nicely done - very modern. But they aren't anything special. Everything is perfectly good, it just doesn't quite wow. And the crap window overlooking an AC unit was never going to score very highly!

Breakfast is pretty good, but not a huge selection on the continental side. Good cooked effort though.

Well located, easy walk to Princess St or Leith Walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

It's maybe a blessing that the tram works have shut off York Place in Edinburgh as the hotel was very peaceful with little noise from passing traffic. The staff were very friendly and helpful despite a slight hiccup with the parking arrangements. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was good, although I would have preferred a longer break between starter and main. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with a full complimentary minibar and good TV system.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGooderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The room was very comfortable, the bed was excellent and facilities were very good. It wasn't the largest room we've been in for one that is listed as a superior room, but it was very good quality indeed. It had an excellent rain shower, but no bath which some people might not like. It was quiet at night - always most important - and the heat control worked well. Service was good and the staff were courteous and friendly.
There were a couple of things the hotel could improve on. First, our room wasn't available until mid afternoon. This was despite us asking for an early check in if possible as our flight was a morning flight. They assured us it wasn't a problem but we still had quite a wait. Secondly the breakfast could be improved. The cold meat selection looked a bit dried out and the porridge could have done with more cooking time.. But these are relatively minor, and easily fixed problems and we would love to go back there again. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel in January for 2 nights and could not fault the hotel at all. Someone from the hotel contacted us the evening before we were due to arrive to confirm our stay, and when we arrived the check in process was friendly, courteous and helpful, with someone showing us to our room and confirming that we were satisfied. The only slight niggle was with the plumbing, as you could hear water from rooms above if someone used the bathroom, which sounded quite loud during the night; however this would not stop us from returning. Our reservation included an evening meal at the Thistle Restaurant and we were not disappointed; the food was delicious and was combined with very good service. The quality of the food was just as good at breakfast, with a good choice of continental and full breakfast. All of the hotel staff that we encountered were very friendly and the service provided was excellent, which really made our stay all the more enjoyable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be a great choice and exactly what we want in a hotel. Friendly staff, great location and lovely modern rooms with the most amazing showers. We started off in rm 304 but found the air conditioning units outside the window to be too loud even with the double glazing. We mentioned our concerns to reception and were immediately moved to rm 005 with no fuss whatsoever and we really appreciated it as it was a rare weekend away from young kids and we needed the sleep! All in all, a great modern hotel.

Room Tip: As above, we found air cond units outside rm 304 to be too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Liz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend away especially as your husband mentioned it was a rare occasion. We certainly are in a perfect location for a weekend away to see Edinburgh's sights, enjoy a show at the Playhouse theatre or for some retail therapy.

I will certainly pass your comments on to our team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon again.

Stay curious,

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing