We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Base in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #62 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Base in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a great choice of hotel to explore this beautiful city. The decor is super and the staff are very attentive. This hotel was recommended by a friend, I owe her a drink. It was a major factor in us having such a wonderful weekend. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    409
    120
    26
    13
See reviews for
105
695
60
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a quick tour of Scotland. Centrally located, about 10 minutes walk to Waverley Station/Bridge (for the airport bus) plus the tram will run right past when it it is finally complete. We arrived early and the room wasn't ready (it was before check in time so this wasn't a problem) but were told we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite which was great. It was quite a trek through a maze of corridors though to get to and from it.

The room itself was impeccable, very clean, furnished to a high standard and well maintained and a good size. We also had a complementary mini bar (no alcohol!) with drinks and snacks which was great. The only downside was the bed, we found this very uncomfortable.

We had breakfast in the restaurant and that was a good quality. All in all we found this a good hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as we were seeing show in the nearby Edinburgh Playhouse. The hotel is lovely and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately our room had a problem with one of the lights, we called reception and within 5 mins we were moved into another equally as lovely room. The luxury toiletries were a nice touch as well as the complimentary drinks and snacks in the mini bar.

The breakfast the following morning was nice as well although the bacon was a bit to salty for me.

All in all a great hotel with lovely staff. Ideally placed if you're off to the Edinburgh Playhouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiemcn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for the second time recently on a business trip, the first time being a personal trip. Once again the stay was fantastic, very nicely decorated rooms, exceptionally friendly staff, very clean rooms and all at a good price. Have also stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Glasgow and had a similarly good experience. Would definitely recommend and would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not being a person to leave reviews i was forced to change that after visiting the hotel Indigo. When i telephoned for the best possible rate i was greeted by a friendly receptionist and not your run of the mill why am i here i hate my job kinda person. Got a good deal and as its close to the theatre it was perfect.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff once again that were helpful and polite to say the least. On entering the room my first thought was it was a tad small but everything else was perfect. The complementary minibar which unfortunately wasn't full with the finest in alcoholic beverages was a great addition. The bathroom was stunning and spotlessly clean. I think they must employ some of Edinburgh's finest cleaners.
Imagine my surprise when i found that the bar had innis & Gunn in the fridge oh what a result. After i had consumed a bottle you could have blown me down when the had it on draft whoop whoop im having one of them :)) the down side to that is the £4.50 for a bottle and £6.50 for a pint!!! I was away for the weekend so i paid it and there was no way i wasnt indulging in at least one pint.
Breakfast is excellent, everything was perfect.
From start to finish there was not one single thing i could fault with this hotel.
I would strongly recommend any hotelier who doesnt have the best ratings to visit and watch how these guys do everything. Whoever pulls the strings in this place has done an excellent job and should be proud of every member staff in the place.
We had a fantastic time and im sure we will return in the future

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt look out on to a stone wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultimatecodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

What a besutiful modern clean hotel. This hotel is the best we have ever stay in and 100% spotless. When your in your room you cannot hear any other guests. The staff are lovely & helpfull. Location good. Never ate here but still highly recommend it. Thank you :-))

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here in November. Very friendly, helpful staff. Great food, super room. We were in room 104, which has been mentioned on here for being noisey - no way other than footsteps above. This room is lovely with its own outside area and very, very well appointed - I would ask for this one again. The staff are so helpful and the place is a joy to be in. Would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing