We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great place to stay with my family for one night. The staff were super friendly and even gave the kids a lovely Christmas story book set in Edinburgh as a gift before we left. We were given a lovely big room, great when you have two kids under 6! The decor of the room was fun and made a nice change from boring chain hotels! Carpet in the hallway looked like it needed updating but that is the only tiny criticism. The breakfast was fantastic, a great choice and delicious. The location was also great, handy for the shops (including Harvey Nicks!) and also for the Playhouse if you want to see a show. The hotel staff recommended a great family friendly Italian Restaurant (Mamma Roma) to us too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pussycat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel has a super location and is very easy to get to from Waverley, even with my phones unreliable GPS (or could be my poor map reading skills). The check in staff were really helpful and we were luck enough to be able to check right in. We had a mega room! It was an executive twin on the ground floor. It was an orange theme, chaise long, waterfall shower, huge TV and massive comfy beds. There was so much space.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we like to go to Hendersons veggie restaurant, however we did order a couple of glasses of wine from the room service and they were lovely.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is fabulous.

Room Tip: Room 112. Exe twin. Beautiful. x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel Indigo is in a great location, the rooms are nice and the breakfast is great. There are lots of lovely touches to improve your stay and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Its also fantastic value for money - well worth staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 309 which was great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkmoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had stayed in this hotel before and everything was perfect except that I had a room on the basement floor and could hear every footstep from the reception area above. That ruined the stay for me but I gave them a second chance, knowing that I would refuse to stay there if they assigned me a basement room..

On this trip I requested a high floor when booking and was very happy with the stay. The room was immaculately clean, furnishings looked brand new, big comfy bed with TV at the bottom of it (can plug in a USB hard disk to watch movies), nice big overhead rain shower in the bath room, free minibar (non alcoholic), great location in Edinburgh, awesome.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank DalePhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

"one of the best locations to be in, as the central station and entertainment is in walking distance. very easy to catch a bus as bus stop is outside the hotel. Also opposite the hotel there are car hire facilities, tesco express and many restaurants and bars."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anant182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We chose hotel indigo for our first trip to Edinburgh and feel we made a great choice. We arrived at the hotel around 9am expecting to drop our bags off and explore the city until check in time, however we were told our room was ready which was a pleasant surprise! The hotel is in a great location, we were able to walk everywhere. Our room was modern, comfortable and clean, the only thing missing was a view, we looked out to an air conditioning unit and other rooms. We ordered room service on our first evening which didn't take long to arrive and was very tasty, as was the breakfast offered, with a hot option to order and a huge selection of continental breakfast goods. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel and would recommend it. We only stayed two nights but could definitely have stayed longer!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank carlyabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Holiday Inn Group chain of boutique hotels, under the brand Indigo, have, as yet, never let me down, this is the third that have stayed in and they do really move away from the corporate image of the HI and HIE chain.

The Edinburgh hotel Indigo has a lovely local feel, with nice lounge, bar and restaurant, as well as a small but adequate fitness room.

The hotel is in the city centre, and is in a row of converted Georgian houses (I think that's what they are, hey I am no architect/historian) there is no hotel parking but there is a good old, over priced NCP right behind the hotel.

The rooms are beautiful , with lovely decoration and quality beds.

The restaurant was also a nice surprise, with lots of local produce on the dinner, and breakfast menu.

All in all a well placed hotel with the quality of a family run hotel combined with your Holiday Inn loyalty point ;-)

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the front facing rooms as they can be a little noisy, hey come on its a city c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_is_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,704 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing