We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #61 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Really liked this hotel. We stayed for a short break and it was perfect. The staff were very welcoming, the decor is bright and stylish and our room was amazing! As platinum priority members we were upgraded to a junior suite and its one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. A huge room with great decor, huge bed, great facilities and a fantastic bathroom (amazing shower!). Location is good...just a short walk to Princes Street. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicksterl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Vicksterl23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your short break with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We are in an ideal location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer, from a bit of retail therapy on Multrees walk and George street to a visit to the world famous Edinburgh castle. All within walking distance of the hotel.

I do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    411
    122
    26
    13
See reviews for
106
700
61
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My client booked me in to The Indigo so was unaware of what I was in for, I was not disappointed - What a great find!
The Indigo is a stylish hotel - It's well located, all areas are well decorated, rooms are well set out and presented. I would recommend to both business users and couples - It ticks all the boxes. Free mini-Bar (soft drinks & chocs only), free WI-FI...Not often seen in this day and age! Staff were fantastic. I will be back a few times over the next few months, that's for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheThirstyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear TheThirstyHobo,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay at a Hotel Indigo. All our boutique bedrooms come with complimentary welcome mini bar with snacks, soft drinks and fresh milk for your morning cuppa and you will also find free Wifi throughout the hotel.
It is great to hear that our team were able to look after you and I do hope that you will be back soon.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Indigo is a very smart, stylish hotel in a good location close to both new and old town. The rooms are lovely, with all mod cons and nice bathrooms. The big attraction for my 9 year old son, who travelled with me, was the 'free minibar'. This has crisps, biscuits and fizzy drinks for the taking and is replenished each day (good if you have a child hungry after sight-seeing). There is free wi-fi (as there should be in all hotels) and a nice bar and restaurant. We ate bar snacks one evening (after a blow out lunch) and they were delicious and very good value (larger portions than we expected). Service was really good and the staff very friendly. I strongly recommend it. Also, do try out Valonna and Crolla for breakfasts or lunches, around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas break. We found all the staff to be very attentive and charming. Our TV wasn't working when we got to our room, but they came up straight away and fixed it for us. The room was spacious and well decorated with a lovely big bed and walk in shower! It was easy to walk to everywhere we wanted to see and lots of lovely restaurants close by too. The only thing we wouldn't recommend is having breakfast in your room- measly portions ad you don't get the Full Scottish, which is yummy!

Room Tip: Anything except the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights at this Hotel. We were up to visit city and see Lion King at the Playhouse. This hotel is in an excellent location for the Theatre and for shopping with the St James Centre round the corner and the designer shops leading up to the square.
The Hotel is very comfortable and would recommend the club exec rooms.
Very good service and friendly staff.
Excellent value for city accommodation. This is our second visit and we will be staying again in 2014.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank joann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I knew this hotel would be of a good standard with it being owned by the crowne plaza chain but it was much much better than I expected and I would really recommend it to people wanting to stay in the new town side of Edinburgh.

It's right by the playhouse at the back of John Lewis and Harvey nics so only a few mins from George st and rose st.

The rooms were really nice and modern, very comfy bed! The nice touches were things like a platter of macaroons and fruit cake on arrival in the room as well as the fact the mini bar is restocked every day for u to help yourself included in the rate! (No alcohol mind!!) really great idea.

We stayed over the Hogmanay period so it wasn't cheap but we were made up with the fact that a bottle of fizz was added to our fridge to wish us a happy new year - a lovely gesture!

We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant looked nice, we just chose to lie in and have lunch instead out and about.

Would def recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PennoChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for my Girlfriends 40th birthday. We were both thoroughly delighted that we chose this Hotel for this special occasion. We were warmly greeted on arrival and had the bonus of our room being upgraded. The room was very chic and elegant, with a fantastic bed and a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast everyday at Indigo during our three day stay, at it was very good quality. The staff at the Hotel were friendly and attentive and the Hotel is situated at great location close to various shops, eateries, bars etc. We had dinner at the Hotel on the first night of our stay and it was excellent. It was in fact the best meal we had during our stay in Edinburgh.Thank you to all the staff at Indigo for making a weekend stay so special and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKESEY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,380 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing