We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #61 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab stay! ”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay at hotel indigo stayed for two nights for my boyfriends birthday, i'd asked for a cake or something that said happy birthday to be put in the room and we were greeted with a cake! Room really good amazing facilities including complimentary mini bar, breakfast not great only thing that lets it down but plenty of places nearby to have breakfast. Toiletries in room really nice aswell and room service not extortionally priced. Would definitely stay again :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    411
    122
    26
    13
See reviews for
106
700
61
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with husband and was not impressed. Poor room location right nexr to lifts. Dark room as no view backed onto wall with noise from air conditioning unit all night. Worse thing is breakfast very poor continental and cooked option. Have had better experience in Premier Inn dont waste your money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolbadger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Coolbadger77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is unfortunate that this visit was a disappointment on several aspects most especially with the condition of the breakfast served and the air conditioning unit. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Indigo

I booked into the Indigo because I had a great experience with the chain in London.

I was not disappointed.

The room had a very similar modern style and colorful style to the London hotel.

That included a modern TV, a nice settee to relax on and read the paper ontwo huge windows, hardwood floors, plenty of lighting and a stocked bar fridge.

My room was on the 3rd floor facing the street and time to time there was some vibration from the tram but otherwise it was quite quiet.

The air conditioning worked fine.

The Internet was fast and free but a bit difficult to access.

The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows.

The bathroom was modern and clean with a choice of water jets.

Concierge was very helpful in assisting to find some nearby shops.

The hotel is located in a great part of town.

I highly recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Would suggest the back of the hotel might be a bit quieter but I found the front to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night. We were part of a wedding party. I was worried that it was going to be noisy as it is in town and next to a busy road but I was surprised by how quite it was. We had a room at the rear of the hotel and it was great.

The rooms were clean, well furnished and stylish. The bathroom was modern and clean.

The staff were polite and friendly. They went the extra mile to make sure the wedding party were happy serving drinks into the early hours.

We had the cooked breakfast in the morning and it was good.

All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Amongst the most stylishly decorated and well equipped rooms of any hotel I've stayed at for years.

The breakfast was absolutely first rate as usual. The Full Scottish was cooked to order and included delicious black pudding and haggis. I had a poached egg which was perfectly cooked.

I woke up a few times as I was too hot and the view was 2nd rate - an extractor duct and the rear of a shopping complex, but overall these two unfortunate features didn't detract from the overall stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Amazing hotel with a fabulous, helpful and friendly staff. Very modern room with all the comforts you could want. The only hotel that we could find that offers 2 king beds (closer to a small queen) in a single room. The hotel is located in easy walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions. The Turquoise Thistle restaurant offers up some wonderful food. When booking directly on the Ihg website, make sure to join their members program first. You get great deals and could receive an email offer after booking with options to upgrade. One that we took was dinner for 2 at £32. Be aware that not everything on the menu is included. Also if you have mobility issues make sure that you mention it when booking. There is an elevator but our room was on the first floor in the back- we literally had to walk up a short flight of stairs to walk down another to get to it. This would be a problem for anyone that can't really climb more than 5 stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

IHG are really getting this one right. I've stayed in Liverpool under the same banner - see review - superb. Now to Edinburgh, the minuses (please understand these are frankly tiny) as with other indigos the communal areas are quite small and very 'open plan', I can live with this - they are clean and aesthetically pleasing though. Bar prices fine and service levels high. Restaurant was shut tonight, but plenty to be found nearby (sorry indigo I'd have put £70 in the bank tonight, but bar menu not enough when away and this is my indulgence). Now the icing on the cake - as always even with minor critique this chain deliver on the rooms! Simply excellent. Mine was to the front on the second floor; beautiful features, well glazed, air con and a free soft drink and snack mini bar. Just a shower, but a very good one - duplex with rainfall, and nice products. The package adds up to an eclectic mix for business travel, which I love. For a leisure night I wouldn't hesitate. I have now silly high points with IHG (platinum ambassador) automatic upgrade at intercontinental - where would I go? Sorry indigo every time I really do love it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bear12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,380 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing