We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #70 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected upgrade”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were originally booked at another hotel but were told that that original booking was not made and we ended up here. Daniel, Alex, and Hilary were more than exemplary in answering all of our questions and nothing was not too much to ask. Daniel made reservations for us at a great restaurant; ask him about any restaurant.

Room Tip: I really don't think there are bad rooms. Ask for those furthest away from the elevator; that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannybdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    417
    126
    29
    14
See reviews for
109
711
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in February. Really helpful friendly staff who were very attentive, the room was beautiful & breakfast was great . Super location, very easy to walk into town . I complained as there were crisps beneath the glass top of the dressing table & this was immediately rectified & apologised for . Bar staff were also friendly & good at recommending cocktails & remembering our previous order . Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafan015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We chose this hotel and had a two night stay. Good location , tram stop at the door. The room was great, great furniture and a really lovely bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Great breakfast. We ate in the hotel 2 evenings and the meals were excellent. Would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was just fine but never really felt I was being looked after. Check in was poor and we had absolutely no service at breakfast. It was literally none existent and help yourself. Not rushing back by any means. Offered much but failed to deliver.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Marl R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

I am extremely disappointed that your stay was not to your expectation and I do apologise for the shortcomings at check in and breakfast. I would keen to discuss your comments in further detail in order to follow up correctly with my team. Should you wish to do so please contact me on dominic@hiedinburgh.co.uk.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel to restore your faith in our service.

Kind regards,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From day one when we met with Daniel at front of house to plan the weekend we knew we had found the perfect hotel for accommodating our wedding guests.

Daniel and the rest of the team at the hotel were all fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and often they would be one-step ahead offering to assist before the need for us to ask. From reception, to bar staff, to waiters and cleaners, everyone was super helpful and always had a smile on their face.

This sort of thing costs nothing but many hotels seem to forget it is the most important part of a Hotel. The staff at Indigo have got it just right.

We stayed at the hotel with our 23 wedding guests on a Friday and Saturday and spent a good few hours around the reception and bar area as people arrived. It was clear to see that the level of service was fantastic for all. Not just to us as a big group booking but even for people who accidently arrived at the wrong hotel. The staff simply helped them out and even booked a taxi for them to get them to their correct location.

On our wedding day the staff were great again. Evening buffet food was fantastic and the bar staff were friendly and seemed to enjoy the day nearly as much as the guests. In all they created a great atmosphere over the entire weekend.

The whole hotel has recently been refurbished by the looks of it and all rooms are a decent size. We had one of the suites which was similar décor to the standard rooms but slightly bigger. The finish is a high standard through with very comfy beds and showers with some power! The rooms were spotless and the team ensured everything had been quality checked for cleanliness and finish in the rooms before our guests checked in. Again these little touches just made the whole weekend run that bit smoother.

We have stayed a quite a few hotels in our time for Holidays and with work and have to say that this has been one of the best we have ever experienced in terms of guest service and staff. Yes, you can stay in hotels in slightly better locations (though it is perfectly located for a city break in Edinburgh) or with better parking, but for us and for our occasion it was about the service and I don’t think Hotel Indigo can be beaten in this respect. The added bonus being that the hotel within is finished brilliantly too.

Many thanks to Daniel, all of the staff and management at Indigo Edinburgh who made our weekend that extra bit special. We will definitely be back in the future.

Carl & Jess

Room Tip: Rooms at front have better views than at the back of the hotel but the rooms at the back maybe a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jess & Carl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your weekend with us and congratulations again to you both.

It has certainly been a pleasure to look after you and your wedding guests. I am delighted to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and that you had a great day on Saturday.

I will certainly pass on your thanks to Daniel and the team that was looking after you and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hotel Indigo and I was really pleasantly surprised with our last minute booking. This place has a very boutique feel to it with stylish, contemporary furnishings. The staff were great, in specific Alex - thank you for talking my slightly road anxious hubby safely into the parking garage...Louise for coffee, pastries and warm conversation, and Daniel for your helpful pleasant manner.
We also had dinner in the restaurant and I was so impressed. I have not had luck with "hotel food" in the past, but this was seriously great food. I had the Balmoral Chicken with roasted root vegetables...my husband the beef with smoky mash. Everything was cooked to perfection!
As for our room, the boutique feel continued. It was a small space, but everything was laid out well, there was a well appointed spa like bathroom, and a complimentary mini bar...not with alcohol, mind you, but with sodas, waters, cookies, chips, candy, nuts, teas, etc...DID I MENTION IT WAS COMPLIMENTARY?
The hotel was also only a short walk to Princes St, the Leith Walk, etc...so, well located. We would sty Gain

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debinsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Debinsea,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We certainly are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer from the Edinburgh Playhouse theatre just a short walk from the hotel to Edinburgh Castle.

I will certainly pass your comments on to Daniel, Louise and Alex who will be thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future, maybe for a visit to the Fringe festival.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First class service from start to finish, very helpful staff and well equipped rooms. We arrived three hours early and were given a different room as it was available. The location is perfect and a five minute walk gets you to the hustle and bustle of the city centre. All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave171970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dave171970,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your weekend away from start to finish. We do pride ourselves in delivering personable service and if you do arrive early we will certainly do our best to check you in as quickly as possible. Should your room not be ready we will happily store your luggage and give you a call as soon as it is ready.

We are in a great location right in the city centre and have now our very own tram stop outside the hotel which means you can get to the hotel in under 40 minutes.

We do hope that we can welcome you back soon, maybe for a visit to the Commonwealth Games.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,435 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing