We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location. If you like contemporary décor this for the price cant be beat. Take the tram from the airport and it drops you off directly in front, super easy!!! And if you like shopping Harvey Nic's is just down the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel Indigo is a great little boutique hotel in downtown Edinburgh. We stayed four nights in July 2014. The property is a series of four adjacent row houses converted to a hotel. This means that there are stairways that go in various directions and hallways that twist and turn giving the whole place a unique charm and character. The rooms are nice and large with stylish modern decorations. The staff are really fantastic and the restaurant is good. The wi-fi is free but my only complaint is about how they work it. They give you a slip of paper with a cryptic username and password combination on it, one for each device you have. The access times out every 24 hours and you are limited to 200 MB of transfer. This is fine if all you want to do is check your flight reservations or enter Tripadvisor reviews, but forget about streaming video. The timeout thing is particularly annoying and if you have multiple devices don't forget to label each slip of paper so that you remember which one goes with each device. The wi-fi aside I thought this was a great place to stay and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side might be noisy. Ours was on the back and was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rooms are good sized and stylish.
Staff are friendly and helpful
Wifi is free and reception is fine. Why they insist on giving you a 24hr access code with max 200mb is beyond me in this day and age, makes the whole process slow and keeps booting you off.

Location is good. You are right on the tram line. and Edinburgh royal mile is a 15 minute walk away. Not right in tourist central.

Airport access - we walked down to the airlink bus, took half an hour to get to airport, after 15 min walk, which was a bit hard in the sun and heat, alternatively you could get the tram which stops right out front of hotel. - but not widely used yet it seems.

Room Tip: It is an old building so be prepared for a flight of stairs at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night for a relaxing night away with my boyfriend. Excellent location for the new town just down from George street, can walk to the old town in 10-15 mins. Room was a very good size and nicely decorated (loved the tv on the end of the bed) and a complementary mini bar with soft drinks and snacks. Big, powerful shower and bath robes to relax in after your shower. Didn't eat in the restaurant or drink from the bar but was expensive from what we could see from the menu. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Travelling as a couple for a romantic weekend we wanted something with a bit of character. So, although this is part of a major chain, it has oodles of nice features. It is in an old georgian terrace, and the room was large in both floor space and ceiling height, so it felt very spacious. Bed very comfy. Bathroom gorgeously fitted out with a lovely strong shower. Separate TV sitting area was nice, to sit in the morning while waiting for someone to finish getting ready!

Location is brilliant, right in the new town. 10 minutes to walk from waverley station and princes street, 5 mins to portrait gallery. And the tram is right outside if you are arriving by plane.

The tram building work which detracted from some reviews is now finished.

Breakfast is very good, cooked to order and substantial enough that we didn't need much for lunch. its well worth the extra money.

Recommended, and we hope to be back again some time.

Room Tip: We had a nice room on the second floor, overlooking york place. Very quiet due to triple glazing so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Enjoyed excellent afternoon tea with a glass of Prosecco on 25 July having seen review on TripAdvisor. Food and service were first class and great value compared with Afternoon Teas experienced elsewhere. We will be back Many thanks for very enjoyable afternoon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eleanor302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel all around.... we had an unexpected upgrade to the Executive Room which we received complimentary water bottles, small snacks, and a mini frige. The staff are absolutely wonderful and wonderful.. we had a couple of run-in's with the electrical outlets when trying to use our hot tools and the staff gave us their on electrical plugs for easy conversion. The food is reasonably priced and delicious. The customer service is out of this world! Finally, the room is very modern and decorated in a very contempory interior design with amazing functionality to increase the feeling of being "at home". I will definitely come back here again and recommend to all my friends traveling overseas. Best hotel in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasJerseygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £79 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing