We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It's central but slightly out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It's clean a beautifully decorated. Our room actually felt quite luxurious. The bed was really comfy and the shower was amazing!! Breakfast wasn't included but could be added on at a discounted price and was cooked to order with great service. The lobby was always manned and staff were really helpful. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnstonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Staying in Edinburgh during (August) festival and tattoo season is never going to be low cost. The Indigo offers superb service, attentive staff with a caring attitude and make the cost justified if you want a better quality establishment. The tram stop outside the front door, whilst difficult for those arriving be car is a real bonus for getting around the city. Food was very good indeed cooked to order and you could tell the difference. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fairdealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel has great rooms which appear non uniform and therefore have more character. The services are excellent great touch in the mini bar by having fresh milk. Drinks in the small bar were reasonably priced. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulG5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in a room at the rear of the hotel (301) which, whilst it had no view at all, also meant it was away from any potential noise on York Place.

Usual Indigo style and, as always, an immaculately clean room and comfy bed. Wifi worked well.

Breakfast was better than last time, though still waiting for the brown sauce I asked for on day 1!! Some staff were also very friendly/professional and some less so. Parking really must be booked in advance (£12 a night) and be warned it is a bit of a nightmare stopping outside to collect a key fob for access to the parking (which is located away from the hotel); if you were a solo traveller I am not sure how you would do it. Would suggest the hotel look for a better system.

But these (apart from the parking) are small points; it is an excellent hotel in an decent spot (behind the St James shopping centre).

Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights & were pleasantly surprised at the space of the room and en-suite. We have certainly experienced far less room in our various travels. The staff were very attentive. There is a bus stop and tram service at the front of the hotel and Edinburgh's main bus station is nearby in

Stayed: August 2014
Thank KenMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I only stayed one night on this trip, but my experience with Hotel Indigo was thoroughly positive. It had all the key features I rate in a hotel (quiet room, clean, good Air-Conditioning and good shower) but also had some nice extras which made the overall stay all the more pleasant, not necessarily but things that stood out to me over other hotels.

The two I particularly noticed were the free wi-fi which worked well and was easy to access and the complimentary mini-bar with snacks and soft drinks. Both of these made a difference to my stay in a positive way.

The staff were polite and helpful and the location is excellent just over the hill from Waverley station and the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Indigo hotels are my favourite brand at the moment. They are consistently high quality and also decorated sympathetically with the locality. This one is Edinburgh; local authors and theatre. Lovely rooms. Great beds. Complimentary mini bar of soft drinks and chocolate. WiFi is swisscom which is always good quality. Remember to ask for many slips of you have multiple devices. Great breakfast but don't be even a minute late or you will just get toast. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank TomZunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Address: 51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing