We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruntsfield Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruntsfield Hostel
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a fabulous two night stay whilst visiting the Fringe Festival. Lovely spacious room, super comfortable beds and great breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant. On a map it looks like it's a fair distance outside Edinburgh city centre but it's only a 10-15 minute walk until you find yourself in the Old Town. If you have luggage you will need a taxi to/from Waverley Station but at approx £7.00 it's good value. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorksfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel. Its location is outside the main tourist areas, about a 20 minute walk through a nice park and a 6 Pound taxi trip with luggage to the train station. The restaurant was very nice and the breakfast in the morning, with made-to-order eggs, etc was delicious. Service at reception and dining was excellent, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YNotGotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Goods: Wake up call was on time, the paper i asked for was there, good breakfast and there was a bar downstairs, my room was well kept and the staff were sound. Bus stop just outside or 15 mins on foot to princes street which is a nice walk in the summer. also good view from my window


The Bads: Price

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the New wing if you can, away from the ballroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently stayed here as we were at a party at a pub down the road. The hotel is easy reached from the City Centre, it took us about 15mins to walk it. The rooms were very nice, very well appointed, although the hot water was scorching hot and there were only 2 sachets of coffee which I find annoying when there are two of you in the room and may want a second cup. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The hotel bar is nice and reasonably priced and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I just wouldn't dream of staying a anywhere else! The staff are lovely and so helpful and friendly. We have stayed in several rooms over the years in this hotel and we've yet to have a bad experience. If your having a special trip, I would definitely recommend the four poster room!! The bar is great with a great selection of wine , cocktails and whisky.
Lovely hotel with lovely people working there!!

Room Tip: Four poster is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Regular destination for a quiet drink and chat with my better half. Dougie in the bar is a stand-out a real pro who seems to know everything about every kind of drink! The other staff are good too. The bar food is fine and is reasonably priced. Good place to eat if you're too busy / lazy to cook, not a place to dine if you want to impress. We will continue to visit the Brunstfield - Dougie really is good and no he didn't pay me!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I ran a course at the Bruntfield and attended a networking event, and stayed overnight in between. The accommodation is good, a bit like a rabbit warren though, lots of corridors!

Pleasant room with good facilities, the wifi was pretty decent and TV had lots of channels. The staff were very helpful and able to find me somewhere to get some material printed and bound which was only a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCheesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Bruntsfield
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#112 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Bruntsfield
Gillis Centre
Gillis Centre
#72 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#130 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruntsfield Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruntsfield Hostel

Property: Bruntsfield Hostel
Address: 7 Bruntsfield Crescent, Edinburgh EH10 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Bruntsfield Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing