We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't have changed a thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Ranked #131 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We arrived in Edinburgh on the train from Glasgow at the Haymarket Station, which was just a block from the Grosvenor Gardens. The B & B is convenient to stores and restaurants, and more importantly, was within walking distance to Murrayfield Stadium, which was where we were seeing the Oasis concert. We had booked 2 rooms, one of which was a double. Since there were 2 doubles available, we were shown both and allowed to choose. The rooms were large, clean, and beautifully decorated, Each of the rooms was different, with antique furniture and big, comfortable beds. We were given our own keys so that we could come and go as we wished. The hotel is located in "New Town" (which we were told is only 400 years old!) so it was a rather long but very pleasant walk to "Old Town". We saw some very historic and beautiful gothic structures, graveyards and churches, and of course, Edinburgh Castle, which is perched high atop the city and visible from all over. Our favorite pub in Old Town was called "World's End", because it sits where the wall of the city had been in early days, which no one ventured beyond. After refreshments, we visited the Royal Edinburgh Gardens, which I highly recommend. Being a long way from Grosvenor Gardens by this point, we took a cab back. We had a nice evening followed by a second restful night, and were very pleased with the full Scottish breakfast, made to order, in the morning. The management and staff at the hotel could not have been more pleasant, helpful and friendly. They answered questions, gave directions, gave travel tips and were generally the ideal hosts. I would definitely recommend the Grosvenor Gardens and would be more than happy to visit again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2009

Stayed during Hogmanay 2008-09. My two friends and I experienced SERVICE UNMATCHED at even the nicest hotels or B&Bs. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable, and the staff even gave us gifts for New Year's Eve!!! (wine and shortbread)

My only complaint -- and a significant one -- was the water pressure was lousy. It wasn't a drip but not terribly powerful. Improperly using the mechanism to work the shower had the potential to scald. This needs improvement.

The location wasn't unreasonable either. Maybe a block more than one would prefer from the main Princes Street festivities, but a very easy walk nonetheless. For UK train riders, this place is steps from Haymarket Station. Just be careful to choose Rosebury Crescent from the street Haymarket is on (West Coates). Grosvenor Street not the same as Grosvenor Gardens.

All in all, a good stay, INCREDIBLE service!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PapaJamieRockefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

This was a great experience. The property is run by Mrs. Chan and her family, who are all very friendly and very helpful. They bent over backwards to make our stay in Edinburgh as wonderful as possible. The property was clean and very spacious. It is a little bit of a walk to the attractions (princes street and the castle) but only about 10 minutes walk five pounds for a cab so it is really not an issue, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank Abes3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

We stayed here unexpectedly and booked here an hour before our stay. Ideal location in edinburgh. In walking distance for all main sights. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Service was very relaxed and personal. Breakfast was lovely. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for the last weekend of the 2006 Edinburgh festival. The hotel is in a convenient location within walking distance to the main attractions and close to public transport. Though near Haymarket Station, the hotel is in a quiet cul-de-sac and not disturbed by passing traffic.
Room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities that were needed for a good stay. Bathroom was small but with a good modern shower. Breakfast was good, and served by friendly and helpful owner and staff of the hotel.
Lots of helpful information leaflets available and personal advice on hand to help us plan our visit.
Should I visit Edinburgh again I would not hesitate in staying here again or recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravellingSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

I stayed at the Grosvenor Gardens in Nov 2004 with 4 friends and really liked it, I would stay here again. We found the owners to be extremely friendly and welcoming, chatted to us about the area and things to see and do and even called to see if we were coming for breakfast one morning when we were running late.

Our room was warm and comfortable (good for Edinburgh in Nov!) and we appreciated the free tea/coffee and whisky. I liked the decor, it was much more original than staying in a large hotel. There were 5 of us in one room and we thought there was plenty of space. The shower was small (no bathtub) but didn't pose a problem for us. I liked the fact that we were all able to stay in the same room, it was very sociable.

Location was good, right by Haymarket Station, cabs from the centre of town back are cheap enough and it's not far to walk either. It's not a party place, we came in late one night and prob did make a bit of noise so we were asked to keep it down but thats understandable in a smaller property with other guests in close vicinity. For the price I would definitely recommend Grosvenor Gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SissyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dumfries
11
Reviewed 8 February 2006

Atmosphere: Our stay was very pleasant, if only for one night but I am planning to go back again soon.

Hygiene: The rooms and facilities were clean and comfortable. Our room (7) wasn't large but big enough for us.

Staff: Very pleasant and helpful. As there were a number of rooms available that night the owner allowed us to pick which rooms we and our friends wanted to stay in. I do agree with the comments about the showers, some showers were not large at all and those clients of a alarger disposition may then struggle. Mine was plenty big enough though.

Location: This hotel is situated pratically opposite the Haymarket station (about 2 min walk). So ideally suited for those wishing a city centre tourist holiday as its on several main bus routes to Princes St, Castle and Royal Mile attractions. Or even the Zoo if you go in the opposite direction. Or for those Rugby fans like ourselves, this hotel is ideal as it's situated between Murrayfield Stadium and Princes St, so best of both worlds.

Food: Breakfast was certainly sufficient for me. Not the biggest fried breakfast I have ever seen but it kept me going for a few hours.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
711 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
307 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
245 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Gardens Hotel

Address: 1 Grosvenor Gardens | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH12 5JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel is situated in West End. It offers easily access by foot to Edinburgh's business district, tourists attractions, restaurants and famous Princes Street. The Hotel is well served by bus and train,close to the motorway network and Edinburgh Airport. We offer a warm and professional welcome to both tourist and business visitors. Our high standard of cleanliness, attention to detail, hospitality and those little extras will make your stay more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grosvenor Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing