We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab break”
Review of The Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #152 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Had a fanstastic break in a beautiful city. Accommodation was in a lovely victorian house which has obviously been loving restored. Susan and Robert were very good hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Room was nicely decorated and very comfortable with a fab onsuite. Breakfast was excellent. There was also free parking available.

We were within walking distance of Princes Street and Castle and found the buses friendly and easy to use.

We will definitely be back and would throughly recommend The Town House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years for a range of reasons:
Spacious, very comfortable rooms. This is a classy example of Edinburgh architecture.

The service is attentive, but you do not feel 'fussed over'.

The cooked breakfast is excellent, and the location is central.
It is easy to find in the car. A big plus is the car parking facilities, as parking in Edinburgh is not easy, and on street parking is expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamjggibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Very central and yet busses near by. Lovely room ensuite. The bedding and towels fantastic which made me feel good and comfortable like being at home. Both Susan and Robert looked after me like a long lost friend which is nice when travelling on your own. Scrumptious cooked breakfast with loads of tea. Thanks very much for everything. Next time I´ll bring my husband along and we will certainly stay at Susan and Roberts TOWN HOUSE which is a beautifully restored and refurbished Victorian house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here with my wife for my 30th Birthday. Really beautiful Victorian building, and made to feel very welcome during our entire stay. The room was very comfortable and cosy, and we both slept well throughout the stay. Breakfast was also very good, and the owners were always happy to accommodate special requests (my wife is allergic to what).

Fantastic location for City Centre & Old Town - would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to couples visiting Edinburgh who wants a peaceful and welcoming retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Pleasant stay and easy access to central Edinburgh and owners are friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and wifi provided. Good value for money for my wife and I. We will come back and happy to recommend this to our friends

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bmw1000rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

beautifully maintained traditional edinburgh house it is obvious the owners have taken
a lot of care in looking after the property. Car parking is within easy walking distance.
Excellent breakfast and comfortable bedroom and a lovely guest sitting room.Susan was an
attentive host.We were pleased fresh milk was available to compliment the tea and coffee in
our room.On a good bus route and a 15min walk from city centre

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tettenhalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were a party of 4, and did not stay in the guest house as it was full ,so stayed in the apartment, this was quite a walk away and not good when breakfast finishes 9-30, far too early !,,the apartment was very clean , well furnished ,comfortable beds, (no fire drill or fire extinguishers)also apartment not serviced until we requested it at 4pm breakfast room very small , white toast not available,so one would have thought that after requesting this it would have been there the next morning, no.
One has to be aware they only accept cash, we paid £464,nowwe come to the real nasty, after agreeing with the owner susan that we could leave our luggage at the guest house after breakfast, for a few hours, we arrived there about 10-45-50, and were met by her husband, whose manner can only be descibed as hostile,he said he knew nothing about this,and when my husband said could we leave it until 3, he said not really, words were exchanged , my husband said we would not stay there again ,and this person said(shouted) he would not have usand we obviously had not travelled!! this was laughable as we have been all over the world staying in many 5*hotels, and indeed myself and my daughter have managed same hotels, the reason we stayed at the above is because due to a concert we could not get booked into a hotel that weekend ,are these people really in the hospitality industry.? (needless to say we did not leave our luggage,! and would adv ise anyone considering staying here to rethink.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
459 reviews
Cruachan Guest House
#168 of 393 in Edinburgh
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 393 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#54 of 393 in Edinburgh
100 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: 65 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £28 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Edinburgh
The Town House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing