We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Town House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #144 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming and Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed two nights in two rooms at the Town House in Edinburgh, Scotland on our recent trip to the U.K. We had two rooms that were well appointed and comfortable. Susan Virtue, the proprietor, greeted us warmly and showed us to our rooms and explained how the shower functioned and answered other questions for us. Breakfast was in the dining room with our own reserved table for the four us which included my husband, 22 year old son and 20 year old daughter. Classical music played quietly in the background which made for a very soothing way to start our day. The Town House was conveniently located near many restaurants and not too far of a walk to Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The property has been renovated and well maintained and is an excellent value. I would look forward to returning again on a future trip to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the second and third floors. Third floor is a lot stairs that may be challenging for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 431susanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Were in Edinburgh overnight to visit a friend, and found this guest house which was close by. The owner was a lovely lady, very helpful. Beautiful, elegant room, which was spotless. Lovely breakfast the following morning, after being woken up to the smell of toast and coffee. Lots of parking available too! What a lovely short stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWM182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, elegant, 10-15 minutes away from city center (walking), comfortable bed, quiet and great service! Susan, the owner, is really nice and she will do everything to make you feel like home. On the welcome folder in your room you will find every emergency number you could use if you require it. Breakfast is amazing!
Rated as a 4 star B&B. It's worth the price!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Compasstraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great stay at The Town House with all the family (we had 4 out of 5 rooms). We had all flown in from different parts of world, arriving at different times, for a friends wedding and really could not have asked for more.

They really went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home with the early check-ins, ordering all the taxi's for us and helping with the on-line check-in for our flights back. Not to mention the wonderful breakfast which was plentiful with lots of choice!

I will definitely recommend The Townhouse to any friends coming to Edinburgh, and hope to stay again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJames17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for two nights when visiting our student daughter who has just moved nearby. The room was very comfortable, well furnished and clean. Breakfast was delicious and the choice was good. The stay here was just as good as city centre hotels we have stayed in previously and only cost half as much. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This has to be one of the best guest houses in Edinburgh. Its set in a former Manse for the church next door and is full of Victorian charm and character lovingly restored by the current owners, Susan and Robert. The room we stayed in was luxurious and had lovely original features but also the latest mod cons. The en-suite was amazing! The service from the owners was exemplary and breakfast was delicious. They were a mine of information about where to go and what to see in Edinburgh. And the price was very reasonable too, cheaper than a lot of hotels in Edinburgh. We parked in the guest house's spacious car park at the rear and either walked into town or got one of the frequent bus services that run past the guest house. All in all it was a faultless experience and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Town House: a warm welcome, a comfortable room and a good breakfast. An excellent location, not far from the Usher Hall and The Playhouse Theatre. We shall be looking forward to returning when we are next in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesmoViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Star Villa
#138 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Adam Drysdale House
#178 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#195 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#49 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: 65 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Edinburgh
The Town House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing