We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Town House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
54
6
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
6
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsuite bathroomcity centremod consfriendly hostseasy walking distancecomfortable roomsprinces streettop floorroyal milemansebusesaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Have stayed here a few times. Very comfortable and tasteful house. Feels like a home. Charming hostess. Convenient location for buses (No 10), free parking and not too far from town. Although it is on a bus route it is really quiet and there are lots of places to eat nearby (Susan can recommned some) . If you have the fishcakes for breakfast you won't need to eat again all day! Highly recommended. We had a twin and single room, single room had a huge victorian bath!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvellous_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the best B&B on a street with many others, none of which look nearly as nice as The Town House. Susan Virtue is a superb host for your stay. The location is near many sites and great restaurants and pubs (Bennet's Bar just down the road is best for a quiet pint). The Cameo film house is around the corner, too. A short walk across the canal takes you to the big Scotland Conference Center where I attended an international conference. You can't go wrong with this place!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank brewsterlewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This B&B has so much to recommend it.
The location was perfect - walkable to the castle and old town, and the bus to the Royal Botanical garden was right outside our door! We had a car, though, that we were able to park for the duration of our Edinburgh stay (one of the very few B&Bs with parking). The breakfasts were really good - a variety of choices all tasty and a cut above the typical "full scottish breakfast." The room was spotless and the ensuite bathroom was immaculate. And there was wi-fi! Susan Virtue was very sweet and helpful. My husband and I had three lovely nights there and if we ever get back to Scotland, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnihahaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Great B and B, one of the best in the UK! Beautiful house that strikes the right balance between elegant and cozy, run by intelligent, hardworking and genuine people. Location is great - not too touristy, not too far from center (15 - 30 mins easy walk to the castle, Scott monument, etc.) No curfew, gorgeous decor, privacy - everything you need to enjoy all Edinburgh's charm and glamour!!! Do be advised that credit cards aren't accepted, it is cash or cheques only, but the slight inconvenience is more than worth it for the comfort, the company and the locale! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mystericj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My wife and I recently had a chance to stay at the Town House B&B in Edinburgh, Scotland, and what a surprise it was for us.
The owner Sue, was friendly, attentive, and the rooms on offer were clean, well furnished, and we wanted for nothing, The breakfasts were as big or as small as you wanted, and the food was excellent and fresh.
I would highly recommend this B&B to couples, as it is only a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.
Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phrozenbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews