We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Just spent two nights in this terrific hotel, and I would highly recommend it if you are going to be in Edinburgh. The bedrooms and bathrooms are huge and it is located in a quiet upscale residential area that is a short walk to many interesting shops and resturants. Very laidback but sufficient service, with breakfast taken in your rooms, and free internet use, I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2008

We booked this hotel on the day on an impulse and it was just perfect. Although the hotel was being refurbished this didn't detract from our stay in the slightest. From the second we arrived I felt relaxed and pampered. We walked into the reception area to be met by a lovely receptionist and a blazing fire. Our check-in was really straight forward and we were shown to our suite where all aspects of the room were quickly and politely explained. The room was a great size, decent sized bed, fluffy dressing gowns & slippers, lovely large clean bathroom with White Company toiletries, large sofa, dining table for breakfast in your room, TV, DVD, well stocked mini bar etc, etc! The hotel offers breakfast in your room at the time you select. Although due to the refurbishments we couldn't have a cooked breakfast the continental breakfast was just perfect and what luxury to have it delivered to your room and to sit and gaze at a spectacular view over Edinburgh whilst reading your Sunday paper. I really couldn't fault our stay, it was everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emmaloocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We spent a week here in one of the top floor apartments and loved it! It was a bit of a trek up all the stairs (the lift was a little old and only went half way up) but the room was well worth it (number 27 or 25 if i remember).
We were very lucky to stay here as a gift and four of us shared the apartment. It had a master bedroom with a huge bathroom with seperate shower, a sitting area with table and chairs, sofas (sooo comfy) a microwave, kettle and fridge and also two pull down beds from a bookcase! Very lovely rooms and high ceilings.
We mostly ate out in the evenings down the road but the breakfasts were delicious! A tad expensive for us, but having said that we have never stayed in such an up market place before so have nothing to compare it to!
as we were in Edinburgh a week we spent all morning in the room and spent afternoon/evenings out. A week may have been too long if we were just in a bed and breakfast, but the apartment was so nice we spent a lot of time there, we even rented a dvd from them one night. The staff could not help enough and were on hand around the clock.
Some recommendations of things to do in Edinburgh are the SeaFari (was the highlight). A ghost tour has to be done and ours was the only tour allowed in the covenantors prison (a definate experience).

All in all a definate consideration when looking for a luxury break away in a beautiful place such as Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KPS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We stayed here due to a mix up in our original accommodation but it was a real nice "accident". Everything was first class - rooms were clean and comfortable, TV channel selection was great (hundreds of channels) as well as a DVD library and stereo, which is handy if you have an extended stay, great food for breakfast, and a few minute walk to New Town and Princes Street. Just a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mierman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Everyone & everything at The Edinburgh Residence was very nice. The location of this hotel is very convienient to get around.
We especially liked the 24 hour Room Service Menu & the complimentary internet service available in the Reception Room.
It made things very comfortable for us at the end of each day.
We felt as if we were staying in an affluent Georgian home.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newvisitorUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

Spent a week here three years ago. The hotel is actually three glorious townhouses joined together and you truly feel as if you are in a private home. Our room was tremendous- with a large living area and charming breakfast table in a bay window overlooking the old rooftops of one of Edinburgh's oldest neighborhoods. The bed was sumptuous- we STILL talk about how comfy it was. The only little downside is that there is no restaurant, but breakfast service comes quickly enough from a restaurant associated with the hotel. The staff are friendly, but not familiar, so you feel as if you are in and out of your own "apartment." It is minutes from the castle- but in a sweet residential area away from the hustle and bustle. It's expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

The suites in this hotel are truly grand and comfortable with wonderful views over Edinburgh. The staff made our children feel very comfortable with little kits and menus designed especially for them. Would recommend this hotel for its charm, comfort and proximity to Edinburgh main high street attractions. Did I mention the luxurious bathrooms!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spicechilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#51 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £99 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing