We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2007

The suites in this hotel are truly grand and comfortable with wonderful views over Edinburgh. The staff made our children feel very comfortable with little kits and menus designed especially for them. Would recommend this hotel for its charm, comfort and proximity to Edinburgh main high street attractions. Did I mention the luxurious bathrooms!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spicechilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2007

From start to finish this was an excellent experience. The person taking my booking went through a description of each room, facilities, decor, views and helped me to pick what turned out be a fantastic room (25). A huge antique bed that I had to jump up to reach gave great views through the large window when lying in bed. The bathroom was enormous with a double Jacuzzi bath - fantastic for a romantic getaway and seperate shower cubicle with really good/powerful shower. Service was excellent with our ice bucket replenished without even asking - we dined in-room and our table was set with linen tablecloth etc just as if we were in the restaurant. Room had large TV/DVD/CD player and TV could be moved out to get a great view when lying in bed. The whole experience made us feel really pampered and cocooned from the outside world - once we stepped through the grand front door into what was a very elegant and spacious reception are (with real coal fire) we felt as if we had entered another world. Take some wine / goodies / lots of bubble-bath, relax and just enjoy - highly recommended !!

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank Precious-times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2006

My partner and I have just got back from a long weekend at the Edinburgh Residence. The hotel was lovely, peaceful, quiet, the reception area clean and homely, the room was the only problem. Travelling up to the suite we used an old fashioned lift, which was fun and added character, unfortunately the suite itself was old and 'unpolished'. We were told we would have a 'spa' bath and had a normal bath. We were transfered from the sister hotel the Bonham down the road as this seemed like a good free upgrade from a superior room to a suite. The superior room we requested at the BOnham had a free standing copper bath and I feel we may have made the wrong choice by taking the free upgrade. The room was lovely and big with very high ceilings, just as expected, but the bathroom was basic, roomy but not particularly luxurious, the room itself needed a good dusting, new carpet, just a few niceties added alround. we were not blown away and for the price, probably wont go back. Staff very friendly, disappointed with breakfast and the room itself.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Miss_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

We booked this hotel mainly due to other positive reviews on Tripadvisor.

We stayed in a Classic Suite for two nights and were very pleased with the size of both the room and bathroom.The jacquzzi bath was really enjoyable.

As our suite was on the bottom floor there was no view from the window although there was another door in the room which led to steps onto the main street.

The Scottish breakfast was delivered to the suite at the time of our choice between 7-10am which meant that there was no need to be up and dressed for a more formal dining room breakfast.

Another pleasing aspect to this hotel is that you have total privacy as the rooms are not serviced until your key is handed into reception when going out for the day.

The hotel is ideally suited for those travelling via the airport bus into the city as it is a 10 min walk from the stop in the West End and it is again a 10 min walk to the start of Princes Street.

We would recommend this hotel and would consider coming back again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank nmcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

We spent 5 nights at The Edinburgh Residence in a Classic Suite and loved it. On arrival we started to get our bags out of the car when we were greeted by the staff, who carried our bags in then had the car moved to the Hotel's car park, while we checked in. Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and polite, and extremely helpful. On one occasion we needed to print out an email attachment and this was arranged with no fuss and the utmost discretion. Free internet access for guests in the drawing room was a nice touch, especially as we needed to access the aforementioned document.
We had a large room, with enormous bed, very comfortable sofa, dining table and chairs, bathroom with massive bath and a walk in shower. We also had a stereo system, DVD player and our own Sky TV box for entertainment. There was also a small fridge and a microwave so we could keep milk cold for our tea and heat up our porridge if we didn't want to eat it immediately it was delivered to our room. Breakfast was brought to the room each morning and was lovely. We could choose full cooked Scottish breakfast, or continental, or a selection of each and it was all delivered to the room at the required time. No complaints at all.
The hotel was about 7-8 minutes walk from the east end of Princes Street, which we found to be no problem at all. We walked everywhere, and never felt that we had a long way to get back to the hotel. There were plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk and we only used the car once while we were there, and that was to go outside the City.
We loved The Edinburgh Residence and if we visit Edinburgh again, will certainly book in there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank angie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

There are only two bad things I have to say about this timeshare: it's further than anticipated from the city centre and it SERIOUSLY needs remodeling.

The locale is actually in a great spot. It's literally 1/4 mile from the west end of Princes Street. This was fine for me, but not my 60-year-old mom, considering you still have so much more of the city to walk. I like the locale, as it's in a quiet neighborhood that seemed very safe.

The drawing room was a cozy place to meet guests from other hotels or even other rooms. They put the paper out every day, a weather schedule, and there is a computer with Internet access.

The rooms are situated in a grand Georgian home. Each room is a suite in itself, with more-than-enough elbow room. However, all the furniture (bed included) and carpet needed upgrading. It's all old, versus antique. We had a one-bedroom suite overlooking Queensbury Way (back street). It was quiet. At first, I was concerned about not having air conditioning (as we arrived during a heatwave), but the upper apartments get a lovely breeze. The washrooms were immaculate.

The food is very tantilizing, and welcome after a LONG day in the city. Because once in for the eve, you do not want to walk anywhere else (the nearest store is around the corner, appx. 2 blocks away), unless you're arriving by taxi. If the furniture was updated, this would be a PERFECT honeymoon spot, as it's reminiscent of a bed & breakfast--without the reminder that there are actually people who appear to clean the room and bring the food.

The staff was of excellent help and service. They knew what to recommend and made all the reservations. Those who were appointed to our room minded the notes we left and things magically appeared (e.g., extra sugar for the tea, extra towels, etc.). Everyone was in good spirits all the time.

4  Thank SugarDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2006

A crescent of old stone mansions converted to "29 luxury townhouse suites" of varying sizes. No sign outside that indicates this is a hotel. The nearby Bonham, also Channings and the Howard have same owners. UK hotel guide indicates that the E'burgh Res and the Howard are 5*. Some units have been sold as timeshares and we got ours through a rarely available exchange. We had #6 basement level with exit to street level. Cannot understand why any previous reviews would mention noise; it was totally quiet even with window ajar. Practically no vehicle traffic and few pedestrians. Upscale residential district in all directions; quite a long walk for us seniors with bad knees to Queenferry Street and on to Princes St or wherever we sought restaurants and tourist areas. The modern art museum in an impressive old building and grounds is a short walk away in the opposite direction.
Can't add much to previous reviewer's description of our studio flat with huge split level bath.Roomy enough to live in for awhile, comfortable queeen bed, desk, table and chairs by triple bay window, lots of closet and shelf space (but very annoying hangers that kept dropping), thick terry robes. Microwave, coffee and tea, dishes for 2, stocked minibar with fairly reasonable prices (free milk) and room to hold more. No dishwashing facilities except bathroom so we left used dishes out and they were washed and put away. Continental breakfast available by ordering evening before for 7.50 pounds could include wide choice of juice, cereal, pastries, bread, beverage. Scottish breakf. available for higher cost included just about everything . Room service menu which we used the first night upon arrival.
Bathroom was really something. Jacuzzi, bidet, dark red and white tiles half way up all around, gleaming modern shower stall, towel warmer, good toiletries, lots of glass shelves. As timesharers with studio, I would expect our unit was one that got the most use but wear and stains were minimal. I do not recognize this facility as the one a past reviewer reported blood, stains, noise; surely that was somewhere else.

Service was quiet and impeccable. No intrusions. Room serviced only when key left at desk. We did not spend much time in the public lounge but it was as past reviwer described. Quiet and beautifully decorated with reading material , internet access and drinks available.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,414 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £100 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing