We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge rooms in a luxurious, aging property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #52 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“huge rooms in a luxurious, aging property”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My family and I wound up here after our reservation at this property's sister location (the Bonham) got a bit mangled. The rooms are huge; we decided to just have all four of stay in one room to get a little more intimacy in our family vacation. We fit without difficulty. Breakfast was served in the rooms and was excellent. The staff was great, especially Max. Help accommodating late and slightly frustrated arrivals, setting us up and making sure everything was to our liking. I would definitely return and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montgomerygrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    64
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
224
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in the Classic Suite. Beautiful room even with decor something out of the 70s. Very spacious room with sitting and dining area and large flat TV. Private door leading to the street in a quite charming and upmarket area. 15mins or so walk to centre. The bathroom was very modern and had about the best power shower I've ever used. Also had a jacuzzi. Service was polite and discreet. The only downside was breakfast: chewy bread, not-freshly squeezed orange juice, filter coffee (!) and I simply couldn't eat the cheese. For anyone used to continental bread and cheese, the breakfast servings were abysmal. On the plus side, muesli and fruit salad were good and you do get served in your bedroom which is fab. Did not eat lunch or dinner here so can't comment.

But guys, for the room prices you charge please invest in a decent coffee machine and serve espressos - charge a small premium if you need to. If breakfast had been superb, I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3mola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Residence. The warm, professional staff were a delight and could not have been more informative and knowledgable of the area. From our breakfast to bed turn down, they paid attention to every need or question we had. Just a few block away from some wonderful restaurants it was a breeze navigating the bus and train lines. It's discreet location is quiet at night in a town that enjoys late night pub entertainment. Plenty of in sight parting and easy walking distance to all the town has to offer. Recommend the all enclusive "explorer" bus line tour package. It enables you to sightsee, easy on/off incorporated with four different bus tour lines. That way you get to see the entire city and the "Britannia" in Ocean Terminal. We left just before the annual Tatoo celebration (month of August). We noticed a lot more tourist entering the area and understand tickets for the events should be ordered well in advance. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfback68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This is a great hotel in a really quiet street which is close to the action, being near the end of Princess Street. Our stay was really relaxing. The accommodation comprised a very spacious and comfortable suite with microwave, crockery, cutlery, chopping boards etc and the breakfast is brought to your room. White Company toiletries, a cafetiere with proper coffee, comfortable bed and sofas.The staff were all friendly and helpful. One criticism is that the room service menu and cooked breakfast option didn't really offer much vegetarian choice. Other than that, loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parky530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

we stayed here 2 nights and suite was fabolous, very beautiful and big with nice view over the city. very friendly staff and service. very quiet and close to the center at the same time. good price. if ever to edinburgh will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is the second time we have stayed and we wern,t disappointed, they up graded our room when we wanted to stay an extra night into the Town House which was fab with views over the roof tops of Edinburgh, the service was great, food tasty, and the staff wrer really friendly, really near to the city centre but it was really quite, Stay and have a lovely trip!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallHunnybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

i had originally booked Channings, a sister hotel, and received the phonecall the day before advising "Bad news and good news". Bad news, that the room was double-booked, good news that there was a "Grand Suite" available at Edinburgh Residences, for same price. "Perfect" I thought.
Infact, it was better than "perfect", it was simply wonderful... Reception service was excellent, room was fantastic - King size bed, spacious lounge area and 2 bathrooms and the breakfast was presented lovely.
A romantic weekend made even better by surprise change in hotel !! I will definitely go back to Edinburgh Residences.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,328 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 148 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Property: The Edinburgh Residence
Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing