We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel.”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

All the staff we encountered - concierge, reception, bar and brasserie, were wonderful. The staff in the restaurant made our evening with excellent service always with a smile, they really seemed to love their work. The food here was absolutely divine. Hotel is spotlessly clean and the room was lovely with an amazing view of the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdtravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,851)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,994 - 3,000 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Balmoral staff is so well trained and experienced....it was a real pleasure to have stayed there. However, be aware that their one-star Michelin restaurant called "Number One' just wasn't, in our opinion. You will have to spend at least three hours at your meal, with a lot of time in between courses because "that is the way we do it". It really came across as unnecessarily pompous. Also, I didn't like my dinner of Dover sole; it was bland and lukewarm and not cooked through (though I had requested that). There is a "pre-dessert" brought without having been asked for.......just when it was midnight and I was trying to get out of there.....then you suffer through yet another wait and get the real dessert. I had said we were very tired and would like to have the courses come more quickly, to no avail.
Good service is good service, and part of that is judging your clients well, timing the food so that it comes at just the right time, and is appropriately hot. I have eaten in many good restaurants in different countries, and this just seemed pretentious and a waste of money and time. Sorry, as the Balmoral does everything else so very well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Chose the Balmoral to celebrate our wedding anniversary and made a great choice by staying here and wife loved it. Had a lovely meal in the Brasserie and service was excellent. Swimming pool and gym was great and wife enjoyed a spa treatment. Obviously not cheap, but worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We've been to Edinburgh a few times and the Balmoral is without a doubt the best hotel we've stayed at. From entry to departure the service was superb. All the staff were impeccable in manners and very friendly. And more importantly, despite the fact that this is a busy hotel, we were impressed by the way the staff made us feel incredibly welcome, more like a family home than a top notch hotel. The room was very pleasant and we slept like babies. After a show at the Festival Theatre, we had dinner in the restaurant attached to the hotel and the food was excellent. My husband and I chilled out on our second night with room service and a movie - which, for someone as busy as my husband normally is, was a treat. Small things :) And on our final day, with a couple of hours to kill before we returned to London, we enjoyed afternoon tea in the Palm Court. For me, this weekend was perfect - a relaxed husband, a lovely hotel, and the sights of the beautiful Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisetasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

 This hotel, my wife and I, believe is outstanding.  We have visited this hotel  on a number of occasions and have always received the same high standard.

On top of the tastefully decorated hotel and outstanding architecture the staff at the Balmoral make this hotel a wonderful place to stay and on this occasion made our wedding day (June 2011) and weekend really memorable.

A relaxed informal close family wedding is what we wanted and the Balmoral was perfect for it. We had a small wedding and in our party had 4 children under 10 who all voted it was the best place they have stayed and didn't want to leave.  On going to bed a small teddy bear placed on their pillows which blew them away.  This is just one of many little touches offered by this hotel.

We received above and beyond service from the wedding planner, the concierge, the spa staff, the restaurant manager of Hadrians who made our Sunday's breakfast that little more special and the Palm Court manager and her team who delivered a perfect wedding afternoon tea service.  A truly wonderful day we can't wait till our next visit.

Thank you to all the team at the Balmoral we hope we spend many anniversaries to come with you.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjlmk4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This landmark hotel is ideally located. Originally built as a railroad hotel, it is adjacent to Waverly Station and is about a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. It is also handy to shopping.

We opted for a castle view room at about 275 pounds per day including the full breakfast. The breakfast was extraordinary in its scope and we usually made a bacon sandwich and took it away for lunch.

Service from the desk staff was outstanding. The a/c was not functioning, resulting in an uncomfortable first jet-lagged night. However, when I pointed out the matter, it was resolved immediately. The bed was comfortable and the marble bath was well done although the high tub/shower could be an issue for some. That aspect might be worth checking on if mobility is a concern.

In retrospect, I don't think the castle view was really worth paying extra for. Assuming non-view rooms are of equal quality, that's what we'd reserve if we returned.

We experienced some delays regarding our email reservation inquiry and I needed to email the hotel to jog them. Check-in/check-out were painless. The concierges know their job and handled arrangements for a tour to Isle of Skye we planned for during our next stop in Inverness.

What was unacceptable in my opinion was that the hotel demands a 15 pound daily fee for Wifi. Even the B&Bs we stayed at had free Wifi. There are two computers in the business centre that I used to check email and a couple other trip-related matters.

We walked past a number of hotels on the Royal Mile itself but they are equally or more expensive than the Balmoral and may not get the same good reviews from TA members.

After traveling to Inverness, we returned to Edinburgh for two nights and stayed at a B&B that required a short bus ride to the Royal Mile. It wasn't really a problem, and the B&B had its own specific virtues, but the Balmoral's location really is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I base my rating on service primarily but this hotel is a landmark and an amazing one at that. I only had two nights to spend and used airline miles to book a deluxe room. There's no free wifi but the net is free at their Business Center. The staff at this hotel is exceptional. My friend was delayed by a canceled flight and they relayed messages and assured she felt welcomed when she arrived etc. The concierge staff stands out for helpfulness. In fact when we were leaving, someone actually took all our bags in the pouring rain and walked us into the train station, showed us where to get our tickets to London and then made sure we got on the right train - stowing our bags for us. He was so helpful and it took the stress out of it. The food at their "Hadrian's" is wonderful - great breakfast and they have selections for gluten free. (They are very supportive of guests with food allergies or vegetarian.) If you go to Edinburgh make this your home away from home. You won't be disappointed!
Kat

Room Tip: I used air miles so not sure of the normal costs.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katgriffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,854 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £171 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing