We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was GRAND at the Balmoral”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I insisted we stay at the Balmoral after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel was conveniently located next to the train station and in the middle of the old and new town of Ediburgh. The service, atmosphere and property were fantastic. We arrived early (noon) and were shown to our spacious room (for UK comparisons). The concierge promptly secured us a table at the exclusive Oloroso terrace for lunch with amazing city, castle and sea views. The spa facilities left us feeling more relaxed and indulged. It was a great trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank n2research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,005 - 3,011 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

june 2011
beautiful hotel with amazing facilities...luxary property with excellent location..right in city center .
we had visited this hotel 3 years back and now booke dthis hotel for ourfriends ..they had an amazing experience with family.
this hotel gives a feeling of true scottish hotel with wonderful location.

Room Tip: executive double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welgrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I went there this afternoon for the very famous afternoon tea with my parents. The venue is beautiful and the table was very well set up when we arrived. We enjoyed very good cakes and sandwiches. The staff was very profesional and findly. One point disappointing : the sandwiches with crisps. I expected something more sophisticated...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jyborel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here again because we have never had a bad experience at The Balmoral. We stayed in a Superior Deluxe King room with a wonderful view of the castle and Princes Street. You are greeted warmly everytime you enter, whether you have just been out for the day shopping or you are arriving for the first tme.

The rooms are spacious, clean and fresh and they also have turn down options for your children. There are packaged for the children when you check in and they also have a great menu for the little ones.

Hadrians has changed the menu since we were there 2 yrs ago but it is still great selection and Quality. The spa remains as good as ever and prices are reasonable as well.

The location of this hotel is the best in Edinburgh. You can walk to all the shops and your choices for excellent food are all around just outside the door.

You will not be disappointed with The Balmoral Hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Went to Edinburgh with my boyfriend for his 30th Birthday. Stayed at the Balmoral for 2 nights. As soon as we walked through the door we was made to feel welcome wanted and at home.
Check in was smooth and staff was smiling and the whole ambience was great.
We had arrived....
We was offered to be taken to the room by the reception staff member who checked us in to show us the amenities and a little tour of the hotel , resturant and bar areas.
The room was bright and airy and had all the comforts from home , slippers, bath robe and also a nail file in the toiletries lol.
We had afternoon tea in the Palm Bar the staff there was great and the Afternoon tea was amazing. What topped it was the Harpest that started playing on the Balcony of the bar. Excellent. We had dinner at Hadrians and the food was amazing and again the staff was attentive but not overbearing. We did not want to leave. Planning our next trip to the hotel asap. The staff , the hotel and the resturants were just fab. Can not praise the hotel enough. It was a home away from home. The spa area was relaxing and there was a separate lift from the rooms down to the spa so you could come down in your robe straight to the spa where there was a pool and loungers as well as a bar with fruit juice and fruit which you could help yourself to. Unfortunatly we was not able to have a treatment but this is on the ticklist for our next visit. This was one of the best hotels we have stayed at and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel201035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I recently had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Balmoral. My room was fabulous! The view of Edinburgh was amazing as well. Even better, however, was the lovely staff. My flight arrived well before check in time and they were extremely accomodating about having my room ready as soon as possible. I was consistently greeted with a smile and "how may I help you?". The concierge offered great recommendations and one of the men actually walked me to the train station with my luggage upon my departure, helped me get my ticket and left me at my exact train! They definitely went above and beyond to make my stay in Edinburgh fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This time it was a brief stay at The Balmoral and it was a family trip (previously I have stayed there a few times on business), with six of us (four kids aged between 8 and 14), but they excelled in every way...from the great welcome the kids got (kids packs and snacks in the room), to the fantastic and large rooms (we had two junior suites which were perfect!), through to the first class attitude and service of all the staff we had contact with (special note - Rob, the senior guy on the front desk looked after us really well).

All-in-all we cannot fault the hotel in any way. It is the best hotel in Edinburgh, in the best location, with the best staff and the highest standards ....our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: Try to get a Princes Street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £180 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing