We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel for our wedding reception”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We got married on 1 July 2001 and had wonderful service from all the staff at The Balmoral.

The wedding planner Elizabeth was welcoming, helpful and efficient. The day ran perfectly smoothly and the service given to us by all the The Balmoral was exceptional.

The Sir Walter Scott suite is awesome and really gives the wow factor.

Morris, the Master of Ceremonies, kept the day running with the perfect amount of humour and dignity.

We stayed in a suite, which was lovely, big and with a very comfy bed. Great shower too in the huge bathroom. We had a really tasty breakfast the next morning by room service.

I would recommend The Balmoral for a stay in Edinburgh in refined circumstances or for a wedding.

In a word brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,056 - 3,062 of 3,950 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Actually, we do have long term plans to move to Edinburgh and living here would be wonderful, if unrealistic! This was one of the best hotels, if not the best, that my husband and I have stayed in - we travel frequently and have had many hotel experiences and the Balmoral was first-class. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and courteous and the hotel itself was impeccably kept. Our room was upgraded to a mini-suite and it was very comfortable with plenty of room to relax. Dinner at the Michelin starred Number One restaurant was a delight, with unrushed yet attentive service for a romantic dinner that lasted for 2 1/2 hours. The location on Princes Street is perfect for access to all sites of interest and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfast10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a very nice hotel, with a few glitches that take it out of the top tier in my opinion. The location is perfect for visiting Edinburgh, with almost everything that is a "must see" within walking distance. That is important in Edinburgh since there is little parking and the downtown area is very congested.

We stayed there at two different times in our trip. The first visit was very nice. We had a good sized, comfortable room. The only issue was the combination bathtub shower, that had very steep sides and would not be good for an older person who has mobility issues. The hotel restaurants were very good, as was the service.

This stay was during a weekday period, and the hotel was not as crowded as on our second stay, which was on a Saturday night. The second stay the hotel tried to put us in a downgraded, tiny room, since they had more customers, and they only changed our room to what we had reserved after I complained. The room service breakfast that we had the next morning was so bad that my wife could not eat it. I again had to complain to get the charge removed from our bill. These glitches should not have happened given the price that we were paying for the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatBearCaifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Had a 1 night stay in the Balmoral in April. On arrival we received an excellent welcome with our bags collected at the entrance by the Porters and took straight to the room, the check in was quick and the staff were friendly. We were then escorted to the room and given information on the hotels facilities. Room was spacious, comfy kingsize bed, plasma tv, his/her robes, big bath and power shower.
The hotel is very grand and all the staff were welcoming and friendly throughout the stay.

My Wife and I used the Pool on the bottom floor which was clean and complimentary soft drinks.

The only negative comment I would give is on the evening my wife and I dined at the restaurant in the hotel, there was some confusion with our reservation and the manager was rude and obnoxious, making us feel quite uncomfortable and nearly cancelling our booking. His arrogance nearly spoilt our stay but we feel the hotels benefits outweighed his attitude.

Overall Great Location (right next to the train station, directly in the town centre), great customer service from the hotel staff throughout, grand, and would reccomend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshhotels4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Balmoral hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Edinburgh. Literally a two minute walk from Waverley station, the Walter Scott memorial, all of the city and tour buses, Princes St (shopping), the nice restaurants, etc. In short, once you're there, you won't have to spend anything on cabs.

Doorman in traditional Scottish garb opens door each and every time, with a pleasant greeting. Umbrellas available for the inevitable rain. Every detail is taken care of. Beautiful lobby bar where tea and champagne served. Spa facilities are excellent, with cycling, rowing, and running machines, as well as an indoor pool.

Room large and well-appointed, with a gorgeous marble surface everywhere. Our room had a window overlooking the castle which was a big plus. I would recommend a castle view room.

We went to the Michelin-starred restaurant (number one) in the hotel - wonderful experience that was well worth the cost. Had the tasting menu with wine pairings and was stuffed by the end!

In summary, the Balmoral is without question THE place to stay in Edinburgh. As you might imagine, however, this luxury and location doesn't come free, therefore the only disadvantage is the high price, which we could justify for our short visit (two nights).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnaesDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Booked The Balmoral for our Silver Anniversary and we were not let down at any point with this choice during our two night stay. From the welcome and the Concierge who parked our car, the Receptionist who checked us in, wishing us a 'Happy Anniversay', Chambermaid's who turned down the beds in the evening, Room Service, Tea and Coffee arrived within 5 minutes, Bar Staff. The whole experience seemed perfect for 25 years together.
We had askwed for a room with a view and in edinburgh I don't think it comes any better, looking along Princes Street and the Castle from one side and onto North Bridge up to the Old Town from the other. Room was very spacious with a generous sized bathroom.
At the end of the stay my wife remarked that we would be back sometime, not a remark given out willy nilly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davdry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I insisted we stay at the Balmoral after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel was conveniently located next to the train station and in the middle of the old and new town of Ediburgh. The service, atmosphere and property were fantastic. We arrived early (noon) and were shown to our spacious room (for UK comparisons). The concierge promptly secured us a table at the exclusive Oloroso terrace for lunch with amazing city, castle and sea views. The spa facilities left us feeling more relaxed and indulged. It was a great trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank n2research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,881 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing