We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel with panache”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Balmoral Hotel is certainly different. Wonderful service. Fabulous bar. Fine breakfasts
and an exquisite restaurant.We flew from Copenhagen to Edinburgh and then took a taxi
to the hotel. Booking in was a pleasure and our room was a joy to behold....nice and roomy
with a lovely large bathroom through a separate door. The Balmoral is only five minutes walk from the railway station. Definitely a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryandLindyGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,979 - 2,985 of 3,884 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel is spectacular, albeit a bit pricey. The lobby is elegant and beautiful and the bar is very cozy and comfortable. Our room, on the fourth floor was very large with high ceilings and generous windows overlooking the old city across the way. The service was impeccable and the gym/spa, exceptional. Even though the hotel was very busy as we stayed there during the big Edinburgh festival - a must do - we were accommodated in every way by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in August for The Fringe. Lovely rooms although I was surprised the room service cart couldn't get between the bottom of the bed and the TV - hence a lot of unnecessary moving of dishes and plates! My sons had a twin room which was much larger. My only other issue was that as a small person with knee issues I found the bathtub/shower a bit of a problem, the bath is very deep and high with a wide surround - I think only the suites have a walk in shower. The service was excellent and we had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonPug2black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Edinburgh and if you want the shops it could not be better. For a city centre hotel it is fabulous and the service is great. We did not eat in the hotel as there are so many great places to eat in Edinburgh so I cannot comment on the food except breakfast which was good, if not a little pricey. The Concierge service was really helpful and worth using especially if you only have a short time in the city. The bedrooms (classic) are fairly small but have everything you need and the beds were very comfortable. If you want somewhere to stay in Edinburgh then I could recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed right in the middle of festival season - and were so impressed with the hotel staff's ability to make guests feel pampered and relaxed notwithstanding the insanity outside the doors. We arrived very early and tho our room wasn't ready the front desk called us as soon as it was, and we had a lovely early morning walk on the royal mile without the crowds. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom had a kitschy picture of Sean Connery which seemd a nice touch of whimsy, and while the view was just of city rooftops we certainly felt we received great value overall. Particularly when you consider the concierge desk - if there is a better concierge in Europe I'd like to see it. These folks are brilliant - they can work miracles. Edinburgh restaurants and sights go into almost lockdown in August, yet the Balmoral can help you do just about anything you might want. This is one very special city, and to stay in a place like the Balmoral adds considerably the charm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We decided to go to Edinburgh at the last minute for two nights from London. Having been to Edinburgh before, I knew which hotel I wanted to stay at for a few reasons - view and location. It is on Princes street with the best view of the Royal Mile and Castle.

We had requested a room with a view and they didnt disappoint. The view was amazing. We were however on the top floor, 6th, and this had a tiny tiny window which was very disappointing. Looking from outside, the top floor was the only floor with these windows. As we were not in the room much, we left it. With this the room felt extremely small and closed in.

Other than this, every was great from checkin to check out. Professional staff, helpful concierge, amazing bathrooms.

I would definitely recommend. If you want a castle view...make sure you ask for 5th floor or lower!

Room Tip: Castle view is a must....not on 6th floor though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Furree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I visited this hotel for a weekend break with my partner, the hotel from entering to check in was very nice, it looked good, on arrival to the room it was small compared to the height of the room, I can live with that, the view was disgusting. Im surprised for a hotel of that standard to have not though of someway to give it a more plesant look. I spoke to the management about another room, which they would only do if I paid a substantial upgrade,, they we're rude and uninterested, I was upset, infact tearful due to the way they belittled me, they made me feel I couldn't afford to stay there, considering I paid over £210 per night not including breakfast, it's not something to be sniffed at we we're there for 2 nights.

Would I return NEVER, did I like the reception, Manager service NO they we're only interested in the wims of those in the Rolls Royces, all guest should be treated with respect and understanding not to feel like a second class citizen like I was made to feel.

I wrote to them when I go home, again nothing but that's the way it is.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolCheshire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Guest

I am sorry to learn from your review of your disappointment with the outlook from your room during your stay last September. Since your stay, our courtyard has undergone refurbishment to improve the view from our internal facing rooms. Whilst some of our guests welcome the peace that these rooms provide, I appreciate that it does not meet everyone’s preference.

We work hard to deliver high levels of service to each of our guests and generally receive great feedback so I regret if this was not the impression you were given. It is also our aim to respond to all guest correspondence but having checked our files I could not locate your letter so, again, would like to apologise if you were left with the feeling we had not taken your comments seriously.

Should you decide to return to Edinburgh in the future, please do feel free to contact me directly to discuss our room categories so that I can ensure you are reserved a room that best meets with your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Harry Fernandes
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £178 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing