We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic elegance in the perfect location”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed just one night on a business trip and found everything to be perfect. The location is Princes St which is the main walking road right opposite the Edinburgh castle. Check in was smooth. The hotel is large yet gives a cozy feeling. The room isn't large but the size was certainly better compared to London hotels plus the ceiling is high which gave a spacious feeling. Internet is available on your tv for 5 pounds. Ordered room service for dinner and had breakfast on the ground floor restaurant and found the food very tasty on both occasions. The price of 140 pounds I got was very reasonable (but I don't know if this is a corporate rate but suspect yes).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,999 - 3,005 of 3,914 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have stayed here a few time over the last few years for various occasions, my birthday, my mothers birthday and 2 family trips. On every occasion the service has been second to none. My family and I love the old fashioned elegance of this superior hotel. The room service is fantastic! we love the burgers! The breakfasts are superior to any others we have received in other hotels of this stature. The concierge is fantastic and is happy to arrange trips. I cannot commend this hotel enough. We just love it. Luxury at its finest.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FORSYTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

There for a wedding, so the rate was reduced-still £210/night incl.breakfast. The lobby is grand and has a great location, but the service was not of a standard I expect from a hotel like this. Exception to that were the valet/door staff, who were excellent. Had to ask 3 times for an iron to the room ,and as the room was not ready prior to the wedding (despite being called during the week about this and arranging an early entry to the room) , this really irked me. The bar was fine, nothing special, the meal at the wedding was decidedly average (& i'm sure it cost a fortune per head). i've stayed at the Radisson Blu in the Royal Mile and le Monde in George St and had a better experience--pretty poor value overall but certainly nothing special for the money. The room was nice compared to some of the other guests rooms-6th floor facing courtyard (not a great view but quiet), beds were decent but would I stay again- no!!

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be refurbished and modernised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jampat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided to treat ourselves and stay at Fodors first choice for lodging for 2 nights. I am sorry we did. Our room was smaller than an average hotel room in the states. The bathroom was elegant and very upscale, but for about $370 a night, it was definetly not worth it. You had to pay for internet access and there was no coffee or hot water pot in the room. I guess they believe that if you can afford those prices, you can order room service! During our 14 day stay in Scotland we had stayed at much better places for the value of our money. This stay was our only mistake of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MO2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The beauty and history of this hotel was awesome. The location was perfect, just minutes from everything. The staff was very nice and accomodating, and the food was very good. We had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh and will be back and will stay at The Balmoral Hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjganovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were there at a very busy time, the Edinburgh Festival, but the service continued to be of a high quality. A great location to walk the Royal Mile , close to the major shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dick6645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Balmoral Hotel is located in a prominent position in the heart of Edinburgh on Princes Street.
The shops and department stores are within easy walking distance.

Our room (a Superior Deluxe King) was spacious and well-furnished with a very nice view of the castle and Princes Street. The bed was king-size and comfortable. However it’s a mystery to us why the room still had an old-style TV and the small safe was built in approx. 15 cm(!) above the floor and therefore very difficult to access. The bathroom was clean and modern, sufficiently large and even had a window for daylight. However none of the bathrooms in the rooms have a walk-in shower (only the suites have them), which we thought was rather strange for a 5-star hotel. To shower, you have to get into a bathtub with a very high wall surround, which can be very problematic for older or handicapped guests!

The food in the “Hadrian Brasserie”, one of the two restaurants in the hotel, was very good. Unfortunately that cannot be said unreservedly for breakfast. The fruit juices weren’t fresh (probably tinned), the scrambled eggs tasted very artificial (probably convenience food). However the sausages and – believe it or not! – the haggis were very good.

The staff, including the staff at the reception, were generally attentive, friendly and helpful. An exception were the very arrogant, unfriendly concierges. The impression one of them called Kevin made was especially negative. When my wife asked him to phone some restaurants to see if we could get a table somewhere, he was offended that she didn’t agree to a booking right away as she wanted to check with me first. “Well that’s that then!” was his reaction. Then he turned the other way and started doing something else. During the entire conversation he never stopped snuffling and sneezed several times (for the lack of a hanky) into his right hand, which he then presented to shake my wife’s hand! It’s an enigma to us how such a person can be trusted with an important job like that.

In general however, we were very pleased with the Balmoral. The original Scottish doorman at the entrance of the hotel is from Germany by the way!
Good

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £180 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing