We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, luxurious yet friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful, luxurious yet friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the Balmoral in April-11 for a friend's wedding, but have only got to posting now.

What a wonderful, luxurious yet friendly place! Arriving in all the whirlwind of a wedding party, and with my husband as an usher, having to direct guests to where they were going at the same time as checking us in myself, it was a wonderful surprise to be told 'madam, you've been upgraded to a suite'! No explanation or change in price = no questions asked!

Our suite was very generously-sized, both bedroom and living room, with big comfy bed in the one room, and easy chair, books and magazines, large telly (which we barely had time to use) and a great view of the picturesque city of Edinburgh out of the window.

Breakfast was very expensive, but amazing - a buffet the like of which we'd rarely seen before with service to match. If you're allowing yourself a night of luxury in Edinburgh, I highly recommend the Balmoral.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,593
    688
    189
    78
    37
See reviews for
702
1,715
159
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently located on Princes Street near the Princess Gardens, Waverly Station, and the Royal Mile. This is a grand old hotel with a modern interior and attentive staff. All of the main attractions from Hollyrood Palace to Edinburgh Castle are within walking distance.

Room Tip: AWAY fro the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbascom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have just had our wedding at the Balmoral and I have to say that all of the staff made our big day memorable and special. On the run up to our Wedding the Balmoral staff especially the Wedding co ordinator were supportive and we have no regreats in holding our Wedding in the Hotel. We had family and friends stay prior to the wedding and had no complaints whatsoever. My advice would be that if you are looking for a Wedding venue this would be ideal as the location, exterior, staff and support are all excellent. Thankyou Balmoral you were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Wow, this hotel taught us that top luxury amenities are not just for adults. The Balmoral offers a special welcome and room amenities just for kids! We enjoyed the adjoining rooms available when you book a family room rate, and they stunned us with all the thought they put into welcoming wee ones. The spa even has splash times that permit children in the pool and the hotel provides child size robes & slippers! The breakfast in the hotel dining room is more than anyone would want with nice service as well. Finally, we loved where the hotel was lcated! Within walking distance of The RoyalMile and every site we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,091 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I did not stay at this hotel and this review is simply of the Balmoral Hotel as a piece of architecture. The building is absolutely stunning! Massive and occupying most of a city block, the hotel is visible from all over town. It is especially impressive at night. A stunning building and even if you cannot afford to stay there I would recommend taking a look.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Located at the end of Princes Street near the Scott monument, this grande dame hotel is next to the train station and near all the main attractions in Edinburgh. We had room 611, a junior suite upgraded from booked Deluxe King. Nice bedroom with comfortable bed; excellent modern bathroom; sitting room with desk, 2 easy chairs (which we moved there from the bedroom), small table and TV; anteroom good for luggage storage out of sight.
Service excellent throughout. Breakfast buffet totally excellent ( BP17 or BP21 if you take anything cooked). Dinner in the Brasserie very good but not great.
Highly recommended if you can stand the 5 star tariff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very beautiful hotel. In the center of it all, very close to the train station which is nice. You can literally walk to the trains. The staff are VERY friendly and helpful--probably the best part of the hotel. The rooms were beautifully laid out and very spacious as well. Breakfast was decent.

Overall, a great hotel, but definitely a splurge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing