We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,107)
Filter reviews
4,107 results
Traveller rating
2,969
782
220
89
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,969
782
220
89
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,123 - 3,128 of 4,107 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel had "old world" luxury. The ceilings were like 20' and the windows were huge. The room wasn't fancy, but was very big, clean, and charming. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great for walking to sites, pubs, etc. We were in town for a work event and this was the nicest of the 3 venues we used.

The road construction out fron was a bit of a pain for walking or getting in and out in a cab, but that certainly can't be blamed on The Balmoral.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGREENW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

During a day stopover in Edinburgh in July when cruising around the UK, I arranged a reunion with a very dear friend who had to arrive by train, hence we chose Balmoral
as it's close to the main station. my friend had surgery on her foot and could not walk well.
Hotel lobby bar is so dark dismal and dare I say I found it far too expensive. 16pounds for 2 drinks! The best thing was the friendly guy who delivered a message as the train had been
delayed or canceled so my friend was going to be late.
We hobbled across the street to another hotel for lunch drinks and a lovely view of the castle
and paid not much more for our lunch there than the cost of 2 drinks at the Balmoral.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank aircanukgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Lovely old traditional hotel; this was a first visit to Edinburgh and I heard about the hotel from friends that had stayed there 30 years ago. I think Edinburgh is the perfect city for a stay in a traditional hotel and I was not disappointed. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite; nice living room and a foyer with coat rack (great for leaving coats and hats) a large walk in closet; bedroom and bathroom; very comfortable suite.
We traveled to Edinburgh by train and this hotel is virtually next to the train station which was a great convenience factor. The staff was very friendly (as is everyone in Scotland) and very accommodating with helpful information on sights, shops, etc.; just a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyrosieNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Though it does sadden me that if you can afford it you can save £££ - i called up for two rooms for my brother's 40th birthday weekend and they were £440 a night - but my sister in law works for a top investment bank booked it for £120 per room through them! Seems unfair but anyway - it still worth the money - particularly the concierge and the spa. Bars are lovely and relaxed (not 'family' places but grown up and tasteful) it couldnt be in a better location - welcoming reception area with beautiful flowers - our room had some noise from a generator at the back of the building when the window was open but ths is the middle of a city so i dont expect silence. Rooms are well appointed and lovely REN toiletries in bathrooms. Staff are polite and professional - we will def be back

Room Tip: i think the larger ones were at the front
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lellybellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here whilst attending a function. Speedy and welcoming check in.

Large,well appointed and comfortable room. Evening turn down service with clothes put past/hung up and towels replaced.

Good range of food at breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews