We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get better”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

They just do everything so well, from the arrival greeting to your departure, everything is just right. The service is the best I have had in a long time, they are very personable and knowledgable, nothing seems like too much trouble. They definitely have the art of good service without being over the top.

The location is perfect, Edinburgh is one of my favourite cities, and this hotel is situated in the heart of it.

My one small and it is very small issue was the room was very hot at night, but I am sure if I had called for assistance they would have fixed it for me.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjamjjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,044 - 3,050 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

We went to the Balmoral for "high tea". It was amazing!!! It is so olde worlde and so delicious! I felt we were a little under dressed (jeans and sloppy joes) for the soooo elegant decor - but the service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome. You do need to book, though, as it is popular - and no wonder!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ken255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed overnight to attend a function in February 2011 and in terms of service and attention to detail for the customer experience, the Balmoral was the best I have ever stayed in. The friendly doorman offered to have our car parked for us, introduced us by name to the Receptionist and while waiting we were greeted by the Manager, by name. We were then taken to our room by the Receptionist, who offered to show us how the tv etc worked and when our luggage was brought up we were again offered the same service. We declined on both occasions but felt it was a nice touch without being overly attentive. While walking through the hotel we were twice greeted by name within the first hour or so of being there.

The room itself was of an excellent standard and I could not fault it in any way. The Hotel itself is almost a landmark in Edinburgh and ideally located for sightseeing in the city and perfect for transport as the bus station is nearby and it's on the doorstep of the train station as well.

We had an excellent breakfast the next morning and our car was ready and waiting for us at the door when we were due to leave. The doorman even asked someone to move their vehicle for us to allow us to get away easily!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.


On

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

A landmark in Edinburgh and easy to see why. Located on the Princes street, close to all major attractions like the castle (but then again, Edinburgh is not a big city to begin with). Their spa packages are quite nice. Swimming pool is good but in the basement. The building itself is extraordinary and every morning I saw people clicking pictures of the hotel. when you see something like that, you know you're in a special place. The restaurant could have been better though. Good service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eaterofjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

That's a rather over the top statement as I haven't stayed in every single hotel in this City, but it is difficult to imagine that anyone could do better. The imposing building has great character and as you are ushered in by the friendly kilted doorman there is a fire blazing in the lobby. The check-in is unfailingly polite and well informed. There is a genuine sense of friendly welcome in this hotel, something that is difficult to achieve in such a grand and formal setting.

The rooms are beautifully furnished and the bathrooms are really excellent with huge deep baths, fluffy robes and excellent toiletries. I had a spacious double room room for around £200 which I regard as a great price given the level of this hotel.

The room service full Scottish breakfast is very good, copious and reasonably priced. The hotel's Brasserie offers a top quality set menu and the Palm Lounge/Bar is great for afternoon tea or a postprandial whisky.

Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This was our first time staying at the Balmoral. We had a Superior deluxe king room. It was spotlessly clean and we had a lovely view over Princes Street and the Castle. The bed was very comfortable with snow white linens. I was a bit worried about being disturbed by traffic noise, but it wasn't a problem. The room was not very big, but in a building of its age I suppose there isn't much can be done about that.

The bathroom was fine, although at that grade of room I would have expected a separate shower. The bath is quite high and not the easiest to get in and out of.

It is lovely to stay in a hotel that still turns down the bed at night. The balmoral also places a mat either side of the bed with slippers there, ready to step in to. The clothes that we had left on the chair backs were also tidied away into the wardrobe.

The Balmoral does not have tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms although they are available on request. You need to phone room service for coffee. When ours arrived it came with two of the nicest Christmas pies I think I have ever eaten.

We had dinner in 'Number One'. We chose the Chef's Tasting Menu and I had the accompanying wines. The food was quite delicious although not the best Michelin starred meal we have eaten. Breakfast was in the hotels main restaurant, served buffet style with options available to order. Their scrambled eggs were a delight although the decaf coffee left a lot to be desired. Service too was a bit haphazard and disjointed.

The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Also worthy of note are the tartan clad gentlemen at the door and the concierge staff. You drive up to the door, walk in, hand over your car keys and your car is magically whisked away to be parked and all for the princely sum of £27 per day. Expensive yes, but you have to realise that you are right in the centre of the city.

All in, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeoutgalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Balmoral is an amazing hotel to visit, especially the Tanquery 10 Bar, formally the Bollinger Bar. I am always impressed with the attention to detail and the level of attentiveness of the staff. I have always been made to feel very welcome and the champagne served really is the icing on top of the cake. Thoroughly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £185 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing