We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Balmoral in Edinburgh and to be honest I dont normally comment, however, this time I am because if you are conisdering this hotel then do not hesitate. A fabulous setting - a genuine old style hotel but with the style and panache you would expect at a Forte hotel. The staff were so friendly, nothing was any bother and from the reception staff, concierge, restaurant and turn down staff all you ever got was a smile and a genuine greeting. We had breakfast included in our stay and that was fab, set in Hadrians' restaurant again nothing was too much trouble. We also chose to eat in Hadrians' for Valentines evening and we were not disappointed. Set right in the heart of Edinburgh just around the corner from Waverley Station you are near everything. We took a tour bus as we were only there a couple of days and that got us everywhere we wanted to see - Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, National Gallery, Royal Mile, Scottish Paliament & Arthurs Seat. Thank you so much to the Balmoral staff for a wonderful stay and if you are still wondering whether to book - just do it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 424 - executive double - nice views of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,753
    725
    205
    83
    42
See reviews for
767
1,811
171
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This Hotel is excellent, the staff right across all departments could not be faulted. The provide a first class service and its a joy to experience this level excellance. Would recommend this hotel without exception.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in - the attention to detail was superb and all of the staff - without exception - were fantastic!! The bars and the restaurants are excellent - in particular the Palm Court where we had a wonderful afternoon tea not to mention the Champagne!! The facilities are second to none and the Spa was a welcome retreat to relax for an hour or so. The location of the Balmoral is brilliant for every attraction in Edinburgh - we would definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles-n-fizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My stay at the Balmoral was very pleasant; the staff, the building, my room, and the location of the hotel all play a part in this feeling, but it was the staff who made the three days exceptional. I have stayed in 5-star hotels in many countries, and this facility stands as one the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61acs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night (I wish it was longer). We have stayed in 5* hotels all over the world, but I can honestly say that The Balmoral is one of the best,the staff are fantastic,nothing is to much for them to do for you. We stayed in room 630 which had a turret in the corner which over looked Hollyrood, The Scotsman and The Castle which looked sunning at night. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was spacious and luxurious. You cannot stay in this hotel without having cocktails in The Palm at the Bollinger bar,the cocktails are to die for, and the table service makes it that more special. We ate in Hadrian's which was fantastic,one of the best meals I have ever eaten! I can highly recommend the rib eye steak and scallops.
Overall people may say The Balmoral is over priced,but in my eyes its worth every penny. If u want.....Fantastic service....Fantastic Food and a fantastic experience to remember The Balmoral is where you will get this. We booked up again as soon as we got home for our next weekend at the Balmoral :D xx

Room Tip: 630 was fantastic the turret was so cute with the 180 view on the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsciv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Edinburgh having chosen the hotel online. When we go away without the kids (a very rare thing) we like to spoil ourselves and tend to choose the nice things in life. Our first impressions of the hotel were fantastic, perfect location in the heart of Edinburgh and a gorgeous building just next to the main railway. We ended up getting the bus from the airport which dropped us virtually outside the hotel (much quicker and cheaper than a taxi). As soon as we wondered into reception we noticed the difference. In this hotel, the staff are not only friendly, but they went out of their way to make us feel special. Within a matter of hours the staff knew us as Mr and Mrs xxxx. They helped with organising our weekend activities and also dinner reservations. The staff at some other 5 star hotels we have stayed in generally look down at you unless you are spending big bucks with them or are staying in their executive suites. However not in The Balmoral, they made us feel special the moment we walked through reception.
A special note has to go out to The Concierge 'Andy', whom bent over backwards to help guide us to the best tourist spots, rearrange dinner reservations and just generally take that extra effort to be warm and friendly to us both.
I also have to mention the Sommelier we met in the Bolinger bar (apologies but we've forgotten her name). She took time out to go through all the wines she had personally chosen for the hotel and also gave us a brief background of all the wines the hotel sold.
I felt this type of service would have been put aside for those clients whom had paid the most and had the most luxurious rooms, however even though we had chosen the Classic Room, we were made to feel like royalty.
Highlights: The most welcoming staff we have ever come across, The Bolinger bar, the spa, The great Brasserie, its location and a great city
All in all a fantastic hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Even the basic 'Classic Rooms' are rather special, you wont need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Excellent welcome on arrival, car taken away by valet parking with no hassle at all. Check in fine, slight issue with electronic keys but quickly solved.
Room a long walk from lift but functional with all you could wish for except a lack of drawer space. Also no tea/ coffee tray provided automatically. Ask for one and it is delivered quickly.

Bath very deep so had to be agile to climb into it.!!

Breakfast was the only meal taken, but very helpful staff and it could not be faulted.

Had a drink in the bar , one glass of wine and a gin/tonic £15.00, so off to pub after that.
Checkout very quick and car returned on time.

Left something in the room, and sadly to say response time so far poor.Still no call back from lost property after calling 12 hrs ago.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing