We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great service, Great Hotel”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great service, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

I brought my 3 young daughters up from London for a few nights. The hotel is literally next to the train station (ALL GOOD... We heard NOTHING in terms of train noise), which was quite convenient.
We were greeted by the friendly door staff and then at reception--everyone was helpful and friendly. The girls even had kid-sized bath robes and slippers waiting for them in the rooms.
All of the major tourist sights are within a 10 minute walk and easy to get to.
The bar had some of the best hamburgers my girls have ever had and dinner in the restaurant was lovely, with many choices for all.
The pool was fantastic and a nice way to spend a few hours in the late afternoon. The spa staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure the girls were settled.
Would DEFINITELY recommend a stay here to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,769
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My rating takes in to account the price and supposed to be 5* luxury-ness of this hotel.
The good:
The outside of the hotel looks fantastic.
The restaurants, lobby, etc... look fantastic
The location is good (though many hotels in the area are similarly good)
The concierge and staff service were excellent.

The bad:
Our room was VERY SMALL. I had to move furniture to open my suitcase.
The room was cheaply furnished and looked dated. The TV stand, the bed stand, the desk, the lamps. All felt very cheap and/or looked quite old. 1970's old, not antique old.
Our room was a small, plain, white, square box. No effort at all for style of feeling.
The room was noisy at night. The hotel is on the corner of two busy streets. Our windows seemed to be a thin single pane of glass that also did not seal completely. I was woken up in the wee hours by the grinding of trucks and laughter of drunks.

I had high expectations for here but my jaw dropped when I saw the room. No romance, no character, no luxury. I would not return. Check the pictures.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the appearance of our hotel and restaurants and in particular your comments on our service. Our warm Scottish hospitality is something we take great pride in and we aim to offer an unrivalled personal service for all guests. I am delighted to hear that this is something you noted during your stay. I was however, disappointed to read your comments regarding your room. The Balmoral offers a variety of room categories to suit varying needs, starting with our Classic rooms. Each of the rooms in the hotel is unique in terms of size and decor and whilst many of our guests enjoy the simplicity and understated luxury of the design and decor, we understand that this is very much a matter of personal taste and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Perhaps a different category of room would better suit your needs. We are currently refurbishing a number of our rooms and I would be delighted to update your guest profile to reflect your preferences for a newly refurbished room.

I also regret to learn that you experienced some noise disturbance from outside the hotel. The city centre can be extremely busy at times and I do regret that the street noise impaired the enjoyment of your stay. As a Grade A listed historical building, we must maintain our original windows however our engineering team are now looking into whether we can further soundproof the room, whilst keeping within the limitations of planning permissions for a listed building, such is ours.

I hope you are able to visit the hotel in the near future in order for us to restore your confidence in our accommodation. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally to discuss this matter further.

Yours Sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The bedroom we had looked out over Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street - one of the most stunning views I've ever had at a hotel, especially at night. The huge bed was comfortable and the bathroom had its own area for hairdrying - very handy. At the restaurant the staff were delightful - we went the whole hog and had the tasting menu. Every wine was explained to us before each small, perfect course. The wine waiter was delightful, as were all the staff in both the restaurant and the hotel.
The swimming pool was lovely and warm with lovely loungers by the pool. There was a steam room which I had all to myself. It has its own special lift down to the basement.
For the full breakfast every item on the plate was of excellent quality. Checkout was efficient to the point that when we were ready, the chauffeur appeared, ready to take us to the next hotel. I must add that this trip was a prize, so we only had to pay for extras. Memorable!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our 4 night stay, with daughter and granddaughter was a triumphal success. Location made it very easy to visit Edinburgh's historic places of interest and helpful reception and concierge staff identified "best places" to visit. Meals, décor, public rooms, rooms and bathrooms and service were all to an exemplary standard. The use of one's names, by the staff, at every opportunity made the hotel seem caring & homely - more of a feeling that you were one of the family than just another guest. Great attention was given to our granddaughter, and to other children in the hotel, to make sure that they were comfortable at all times. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is one of those wonderful but rare places which serves you by anticipating your need or by responding to requests with speed, courtesy and efficiency.This Hotel represents quality without being pretentious. The prices reflect their high standards and the number of personnel involved in making your stay what you want it to be - in my case relaxed. Fabulous fun having cocktails in the Palm Court before dinner. The brasserie is chic, elegant and serves stunning beef ! They were all very flexible about dealing with my wheelchair and very welcoming to my daughter who I was visiting as a student and who came in to join us for various drinks, meals and a Spa. I received everything I could have wanted from this superb hotel. Can't fault it. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: My room had a superb view from Arthur's Seat to the Castle. It was on the back but don't wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruththomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel has an excellent location, in the center of the town and at the heart of all the action. Nonetheless, I'm not quite sure it's worth the money. It's not that anything was wrong; the place is beautiful and clean, and the staff in the bar and the front door are very friendly. It just seemed to be lacking something--soul, a vibe, ambience--whatever you call it, that you find at the smaller, quirkier boutique hotels. If grand hotels are your thing (and they're often mine), this could be the place for you. On the other hand, if you're looking for something with more soul or character, you might want to try another place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and the Balmoral Hotel surpassed my expectations. The room was well appointed with comfortable bed and nice linens. The bath was updated and very nice. The service was excellent - they responded to each of my requests immediately and efficiently. On top of all this, it's location was ideal. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing