We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated elegance, faultless service, attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Understated elegance, faultless service, attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I hate to think how hard the induction training must be for the staff - but the result for the guest is superlative performance in every way. Efficient check in, clean room, all facilities as expected, effective and polite staff across the board. And helpful on the issues not even requested (extra newspaper at breakfast? Borrow an umbrella? Fetch or hold luaage?).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,619
    698
    193
    79
    39
See reviews for
722
1,724
162
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Everything in this hotel is 5*,down to the grand public area's of the hotel that seems so clean with the harp or piano playing unconsiancly in the background to the staff who would arrange anything you wanted . I was abit dissapointed in the room as being without a view and being although very comfortable,quite basic as 5* hotel go's but i am being very picky . As location is concerned you couldnt be in a better location,2 min walk from the train station,10 mins walk to the main streets and castle E.T.C . I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit edinburgh who wants to have a luxurious time in a fantastic location .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deacon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here for a night to celebrate my 30th birthday. Hotel staff were amazing and went out of their way to help my wife make the day special. David Musk helped to decorate the room, which was awesome. As vegetarians staff at the Hadrian put an entire vegetarian menu together for dinner. Food was fabulous, service was great. Overall, it was a great trip and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VInay_agarwal003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression of your visit to The Balmoral on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your 30th birthday celebrations with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues who took such good care of you, particularly David Musk and our team in Hadrian's Brasserie.

We strive for guest satisfaction and service excellent and appreciate such positive feedback from our valued guests and customers as it inspires and motivates us to maintain the high level of service we aim to provide.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return to The Balmoral.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights as we were attending a family wedding, a very pleasant experience all around. I cannot comment on the fine dining restaurant as our weekend was preplanned for us, but be assured that the breakfasts on the two mornings were memorable, oh well simply because I had my favourite breakfast always, glass Champagne, scottish smoked salmon (best I have ever tasted) with scrambled eggs - devine!! The breakfast staff deserve a mention, they were polite, courteous and professional, particularly the restaurant manager who served me my breakfast so I did not have to go to the buffet counter - lovely! We had a suite which was indeed very nice, only downside was the roadworks which started at 5 am on Saturday morning. Having mentioned this to the hotel reception, they very kindly deducted one overnight parking, which was most acceptable. Valet parking and luggage to room on arrival, just what one would expect from the Balmoral Hotel. Will definately return and hope to partake in the fine dining restaurant on next occasion maybe, just maybe, the roadworks on Princess Street will be complete..........

Room Tip: Ask about the roadwork noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Balmoral.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your dining experience at breakfast was so memorable, from the quality and choice of our offering to the professionalism of the staff who served you.

On the occasion of your next visit, you mentioned your desire to dine in our fine-dining, number one restaurant which has retained its Michelin star for the 10th consecutive year in 2012. Please do contact my office directly when you have a date in mind as my Personal Assistant will be delighted to take care of your arrangements.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Balmoral.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon. It was a complete surprise for me and I was blown away. What a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. We were made to feel very welcome, we were given an upgrade on our room as it was our honeymoon, beautiful view from our room. Champagne bar was a little empty and lacking atmosphere but the other bar was fab. Went to pool in basement in evening, disappointed no jacuzzi but pool gorgeous.
Can't wait to return

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel Balmore was really great with friendly & helpful staff throughout, specially the Concierge. They answered the phone within 2 rings each time and where always willing to do whatever to make our stay enjoyable. Even the front doormen were always willing to jump-in with helpful suggestions from directions to what options there for local UK cell phones.

We were surprised the Concierge had at least 2 on duty during regular hours and sometimes 4, so it was never a long wait. We hired a car to drive throughout Scotland and because it was being dropped-off at another location, Enterprise wouldn't provide a GPS (take note of that). The hotel Concierge loaned us their GPS and provided a postage-paid box to return it.

The room was very nice, large, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The only issue was there's significant construction happening in front and directly across from the hotel which created a lot of noise and somewhat impossible to sleep later than 7 to 7:30A. This has been going on for a long time now and felt the hotel could have advised us of this or offered another room away from the front. We asked for a quite room up front and when we checked in which was at 1AM, so there wasn't anyway to know that.

Breakfast was included in our rate, so I cannot comment on its value but the food was very good and a nice selection. There are several areas throughout the hotel to enjoy a drink, tea or just relax without noise.

The Spa looked nice but we didn't have time to try this. The pool & fitness area were very nice and although on a lower floor it felt like it was outside. The elevator was out of order during our stay, but why complain about using a lot of stairs if you're going to workout!

The location is great for site-seeing and shopping. If you're driving, be aware that the construction will cause delays unless you know Edinburgh really well. GPS will not help you much and we found every local to have different opinions about the best way to drive to wherever.

One negative comment about this luxury hotel and that it doesn't include free WiFi, only 2 computers in a Business Office. Today most economy hotels include WiFi and I'm just surprised this hotel doesn't, specially when paying $450 to $500 USD per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just returned from weekend in Edinburgh and stayed at Balmoral.Arrived by train so hotel is perfectly placed for easy access from station.Very cheery,friendly greeting by concierge and same by reception staff.Check in was quick and efficient and we were very quickly given our keys.We had a room on 6th floor with portholes for windows-quirky but very nice!Room was large with seating area and beautifully clean.Bathroom not large but had lovely shower and was well stocked with toiletries,bathrobes etc.
We didn't eat at hotel but returned later in evening for drink in the Palm Court bar.We remembered this from our last visit as a place with background music and a lovely relaxing atmosphere in which to chill out and enjoy our drinks.So we were very surprised this visit to find it totally lacking in atmosphere and the bar staff approached us at 10.50pm to ask if we wanted any further drinks as they were closing!!We felt we had to hurry our drinks and leave so it wasn't quite the relaxing end to the evening that we were expecting-very disappointed.
That said everything else was great and although expensive we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing