We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,107)
Filter reviews
4,107 results
Traveller rating
2,969
782
220
89
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,969
782
220
89
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,918 - 2,923 of 4,107 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Booked for my oldest pals 50th birthday. Booked well in advance advising staff how important this was to us. There were unfortunate booking problems with the cocktail event resulting in our table for four not being reserved. These things happen occassionally so I was determined it would not spoil the day.... bar manager organised for an impromptu sweet saying happy birthday to make amends. All good then power cut caused by Waverley station works. Two hours later and still no power. Bar emptied of guests no music or light apart from candles. It would have been understandable for staff to evacuate the bar however they allowed us to stay and finish the cocktail experience. That was very much appreciated as we'd travelled by train for the event. Under the circumstances the bar manager presented us with new vouchers so we could do our special event again. Concidering the power cut was beyond their control we were very impressed with the gesture that has more than made up for the booking error. The cocktails we recieved were wonderful so we very much look forward to a return to do my friends birthday treat properly. Thankyou to the Balmoral Bar for complete understanding and fairness. See you all soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudgesmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel has just undergone a major refit to the bedroom accommodation. It has only improved this fantastic hotel. There was not a problem with the rooms before, but now they are fantastic! I loved the marble tiling in the bathrooms and the very classy movie photo portraits, plus the illuminated magnifying vanity mirrors which are a dream to do your make up in front of. I love staying at the Balmoral. The staff always give you a warm welcome and remember your name. Nothing is too much trouble and they always make you feel genuinely spoilt and well looked after. From the greeting you receive from the concierge when you arrive at the hotel to the efficient handling of your call to the hotel operator, or even the way that the housekeeping staff remember which tea you like in your room or the essential vanity items in the bathroom, they make you feel like you just don't want to leave and go home... The food is great. Breakfast is great and the items on the room service menu give you plenty of choice from the hearty to the healthy. High tea in the Palm Court is an experience with mouth watering cakes and scones set to a backdrop of a harpist playing in the background. Lunch or dinner in Hadrian's Restaurant is just wonderful. The food tastes great and the presentation is faultless. The piece de resistance for food in the hotel has to be Number One. It is an experience in itself and you can see why they have consistently retained their Michelin star for the 10th consecutive year.

All in all the Balmoral is a truly fabulous hotel which I look forward to returning to time and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelCLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at the Balmoral many years ago and loved it so I'm sad to have to say that, in the intervening years, this hotel has lost a lot of it's former charm. The location is, of course, superb and the building is historic and lovely from the outside, though a bit dark and grim inside. The food was mediocre, the brasserie staff seem overstretched and harassed, making eating there unpleasantly stressful. The breakfast buffet, which was included in our room rate, was so bad that after a week we couldn't face it even though we'd paid for it. Our room was tiny (seriously tiny and thin, like a corridor) with no tea and coffee making facilities.The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean dirty crockery and trays from the corridors until mid-afternoon. I felt as if I'd overpaid for this hotel and then felt a bit ripped off by all the ways they "nickeled and dimed" us. For example, a hotel of this standard and in this price range should probably provide free wi-fi but the Balmoral charged us (75 pounds for a week) which seemed mean-spirited. The doormen and concierge were very helpful and pleasant though. I used to live in Edinburgh so I didn't need much help with orientation but they were super friendly and probably the only bright spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillandNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We returned again this weekend and booked a junior Suite, we usually have a suite but last time we visited they were refurbishing the Waverley steps and the train station so decided to have a room away from them. Unfortunately the council have now opened all of Princes Street except the area outside the Balmoral so it looks a bit like a building site, not that there is anything the hotel could do. Our room faced onto Princes Street but were reassured that there wouldn't be any building work at the weekend its council run and so no problems. Our room was a good size comparable with ones in London for the same money, good bathroom although an odd smell with brilliant size bath and lots of how water from the two showers one fixed one hand held. The bed was big and the room had a settee and two chairs and a good size TV. Unfortunately someone has bought the building across the road and have completely gutted it ready for rebuilding. So not only have you got the tram works on Princes Street but the works to the building opposite. That was where it went down hill as, on saturday at 7.00, probably slightly before, the building works started with jack hammers and reversing sirens made for a great wake up call. So my advice would be either book a room facing inwards, accept that you won't be asleep after 7.00 or like us don't go back to Edinburgh until the building work is complete. It is our favourite hotel in Edinburgh and appreciate there is nothing the hotel can do except maybe be honest and explain to residents booking that it will be noisy. (not sundays though, the builders don't work on the building opposite, just the porter entering at 9.00 thinking it was a different room!)
Look forward to 2014

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, ask for an inner room to be away from the building noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Balmoral Hotel, I have to say that the hotel is in a prime position but not easy to reach given the roadworks going on at the moment. The doorman at the Balmoral are very efficient as was the check in staff and concierge. The room was an executive king room at and although not much of a view it was clean lovely high ceilings and reasonably spacious. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room although they are available on request ? The standard of food in The Balmoral is very good having tried both room service and Hadrians Brasserie. You get what you pay for here it's quite pricey but the service is excellent. The only thing that let's this hotel down is the fact that they do not provide complimentary Wi-fi ?? This is a 5 star hotel with rooms costing nearly £300 per night and no Wi-fi ?? They expect you to pay £6 per hour ! Sort this out and I would say it is one of the best I have stayed in. Definitely a hotel steeped in Scottish tradition and proudly so...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellamy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews