We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* All the way”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed for 2 night 21st and 22nd September to attending a wedding. What can i tell you .......We were spoiled from the moment we arrived. The service we received was second to none from the valet parking to the efficient check in. The room was spotless with a beautiful bathroom and huge bath, we had everything you could wish for beautiful complimentary products and slippers and bathrobes.
The breakfast at the Balmoral is fantastic a huge choice of great quality breakfast items from fresh juices to 5*sausages and black pudding. Do not miss breakfast.
We attended a wedding at the hotel and the food and service was outstanding.Well trained waiting staff and beautifully set tables with sparkling glasses and cutlery. The food again was outstanding velly cooked and beautifully presented.
A Hotel that knows how to spoil its guests with staff that have been well trained and take pride in the service they provide.
A definate well deserved 5* rating could not find fault anywhere. Well done to all.We will definately be returning . This is a Hotel that understands the industry and the concept of customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,642 - 2,648 of 3,918 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel deserves its reputation, and certainly lived upto it the other week when I put some business associates in to stay. Very pleased. Thanks to all the staff for an excellent job, very attentive and professional

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porsche c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed twice over the last 10 days at The Balmoral Hotel in Edingburgh on vacation. We were there 2 nights before our trip on The Royal Scotsman and 2 days after our trip. We were traveling with our parents and without a doubt the staff at this hotel made our stay fabulous. Our parents are in their late 70's and traveling internationally is hard on anyone let alone folks who don't travel alot. From the doorman to the bar servers this hotel has it done pat. They are first class all the way and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Balmoral is a top class hotel. Room was spacious, bathroom well sized with a shower that was powerful and hot. Service was efficient and helpful. There is a reasonable gym in the spa area. My only critisism would be that breakfast only starts at 7.30 which is a bit late for those of us with work to do! All in all, a very smart hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Had a great stay . Thought it good value given it's location, style. Pleasant professional staff. Very nice room, well appointed, large bath. Great location. Highly recommended. Only complaint is the internet charges which they should drop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Balmoral. I have shared your comments with my team who were delighted with your feedback on their professionalism and they look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

What a shame.I was expecting so much from this Hotel.The sandwiches were served with no thought to presentation just a few crisps thrown on top .The cakes were reasonable.Just one small cup of coffee was served with no offer of a refill .It was not worth the cost .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank splodge173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Customer

Thank you for posting a review with regard to your Afternoon Tea experience at The Balmoral.

I was concerned to read that the content and presentation of Afternoon Tea did not meet your expectations and you felt that it was not value for money.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback and resolve the matter by contacting me on 0131 556 2414 at your earliest convenience.

Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I first experienced the Balmoral when invited to a business function there. We were suitably impressed and so I booked to celebrate our anniversary with a gourmet meal on the evening in the Number One restaurant. From the moment of arrival our every need was catered for, from the parking of our car to the excellent service in the restaurant. We received an upgrade to a suite with a view of Princess Street. The only negative point would be that there was no ironing board in the room but this was provided on request. Many of the staff wished us a happy anniversary and all were friendly and helpful. John on the door is a great character. Perfectly located at the North Bridge end of Princess Street this is the hotel to book when staying in Edinburgh. We had delightful stay and we have every intention of returning when we next stay in this city.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent but a bit pricey, the standard rooms would be fine for most needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing