We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing room”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I used to work in Edinburgh and for years walked passed this hotel on a daily basis so was really looking forward to a weekend break in this 5 star, luxurious and prestiogious location. Upon entering the reception area it all looks very impressive, clean and very inviting. We were booked into a queen room and allocated room 633. The room was perfectly clean but there was absolutely nothing special about it. It was fairly sparse and dominated by the windows wrapped around two walls heavilly draped with blackout curtains. Upon opening the curtains we could see that the room sat at the rear of the hotel, farthest away from the lifts, in the corner looking inwards onto the inside of a 7 or 8 storey block. In other words brick walls in all directions. Given the fantastic views that can be seen from this hotel and particularly as it wasnt full why would you allocate this room? Extrememly disappointed and given what we had paid I wouldn't return for another visit. Room and maid service was very good which helped detract from room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,852)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent a total of 9 days here from late September through to early October. My Wife and I can not rate this hotel high enough. We stayed in a Delux room and were lucky enough to get a brilliant view straight down Princes St. and up to the Castle. The room was very big and the bathroom had plenty of room. My brother booked a standard room (without the view) and even this was a great size. What really made this hotel though was the staff. Nothing was to much trouble. Every single person from the wait staff at morning breakfast to the night porters were absolutly brilliant. It is easily 6 stars out of 5.

Room Tip: Be cheeky and ask for a view of the castle. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From parking the car to arranging restaurants, the service was great. Perfect for a romantic weekend away in a beautiful city within walking distance of so many attractions. Full of character with splendid public areas as well as bedrooms and sumptuous bathrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlewanderer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We returned this week from a two night stay at The Balmoral. This is a superb hotel. The location is perfect, the staff welcoming and friendly, and the facilities excellent. We ate at both restaurants. Hadrian's Brasserie was truly superb. Every dish was cooked to perfection and the waiters excellent. On the second night we ate at the hotel's Number One restaurant. The food was good but overpriced and it's annoying when you have to remind the waiter to bring the drinks. We ordered two glasses of champagne but they only arrived after a couple of reminders. Ditto the wine itself. My advice would be to eat in Hadrian's - far better! Overall a wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel. We will definitely return and I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

A bit of a step back in time is the immediate impression you get at the Balmoral. Ornate stonework, high ceilings, lavish decor, a Georgian (or earlier) feel to the place. The tartan clad doormen, the fully trained reception staff, and every single one of the army of waiting staff, events staff and other personnel keep the thing ticking over like a well oiled machine like some episode of Downton Abbey.

Of course its heritage means one or two of the items are a little twee for the business traveller. The lifts that house no more than a couple of people with cases at a time; the somewhat anachronistic uniforms; the decor in some parts of the hotel - probably not to everyone's taste.

But this is a real gem and no mistake. Levels of service are truly first rate. Food is excellent. Rooms are charming, functional and sumptuous.

If you have a mind for a bit of a treat, then this is the spot for you in Edinburgh. Connery was right.

Room Tip: I doubt you can find a bad one... but the back of hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your charming description of The Balmoral and the team who help to deliver such high quality of service.

Having reached its 110 Year Anniversary, the splendour of The Balmoral still continues and it is such a motivating factor for all us who work in the hotel when guests provide such high praise and appreciation of the building and of the team.

Thank you for recommending The Balmoral to other visitors to Edinburgh and please do come back and visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Balmoral on two occasions, before and after our Scottish Highland tour; in total, 4 nights. We had a luxury king room with a view of the Castle. We loved our experience at the Balmoral. You are warmly greeted at the entrance by porters in kilts and very friendly reception staff. The lobby exudes class and good taste. The room was very comfortable with modern furniture, luxurious beds and a large marbled bathroom with pictures of Sean Connery as James Bond. Breakfasts were outstanding with a wonderful choice; basically, you can order whatever you desire. The concierge service was superb; what you'd expect of a five star hotel. My son used the spa and pool and said it was great. We loved our stay at the Balmoral and, should we ever return to this lovely city of Edinburgh, that would be our first and only choice .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProudlySA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Balmoral with your son before and after your tour of the Scottish Highlands.

Thank you also for posting a review on your appreciation of our accommodation, dining and Spa experience, along with the quality of service from our team. Your complimentary remarks are appreciated by all of the staff and we are delighted that The Balmoral will be your first and only choice when returning to the city of Edinburgh.

We look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Balmoral for 2 nights in mid-October on a short mini-break in Edinburgh, and it probably exceeded our expectations. The staff were universally friendly, polite and very helpful, from the wonderfully dressed doormen, to reception and the knowledgeable concierge. We stayed on the 6th floor in a standard double room. Very comfortable and spacious, and we both slept really well. The room had a fantastic marble clad bathroom, complete with a circular window looking out on some of the sights of the city (frosted glass for those who worry about such things). We were on a break rather than a work trip, and so had ample time to enjoy the spa at the hotel. Again, we can't speak highly enough of the facility and the staff. There is a good sized pool and a sauna and steam room to unwind in after a swim. We didn't use it, but there is also a small gym in the spa which had all the usual equipment. We both had a massage while there and have only good things to report about the quality and friendliness of the service.
We stayed on Sunday and Monday nights and were able to find very reasonable rates for a great, classic hotel that was more than worth every penny. The hotel is 2 mins from the main train station and a great location to explore both the old and new parts of the city.
Highly recommended for anyone looking for somewhere in Edinburgh that offers a touch of elegant luxury

Room Tip: Great views of the city from the 6th floor, whichever side of the hotel you are staying on!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your October break at The Balmoral and we are delighted that the experience exceeded your expectations and was value for money.

Please do visit us again when you and your wife decide to visit Edinburgh for another break as our team will be delighted to welcome you both back to The Balmoral.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £172 - £664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing