We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hogmanay”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

stayed at this hotel with relatives for a hogmanay break and attended the Gala Ball. The whole experience was excellent and is something we will consider doing again.
The hogmanay event was excellent -- good food, good company, a variety of music to suit everyone and great views of the fireworks display. A most enjoyable and very relaxing way to bring in the New Year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are a bit quieter, especially at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,671 - 2,677 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in The Balmoral from the 4th-6th January. Great hotel. I will normally always find something to moan about and so would my partner. Couldn't find a fault with this hotel. Rooms where spotless and staff where very pleasant. Only disappointment was didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurtant, due to outside committements.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

hi regards stay at the balmoral this weekend we stay in hotels alot and always end up here we did not stay last year big mistake we ate out at 2 different places food shocking so ate sunday lunch at hadriens i am a head chef in a busy place got to say the best sunday lunch i have ever had and my wife agrees service impecable just relaxed made to feel like a millionare so we had lunch on monday again spot on all staff make you feel like a millionare had breakfast in bed wont go to resturaunt for breakfast again superb met sarha on check out now customer service manager still remembers us from 2 years ago and made time to look up to see what we like in the room is that good or what! we have booked again for march and would recomend any body going to edingburgh stay here and pay the little extra you wont regret it

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Balmoral for 2 nights during a short visit to Edinburgh, in a deluxe room at the top floor.

The room itself (corner) was huge, almost double the size of traditional rooms elsewhere with a very comfortable sofa, table and chairs (mini-living room) and a king bed. Bathroom was also of very high quality and spacious.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, polite and efficient - Room was kept very clean and breakfast provided plenty of choice, though the croissants were not always of the same high quality.

Hotel is very conveniently placed next to the Waverley train station and a short walk to most places.

One minor nuisance - The water pressure in the shower was disappointing; not what you would expect for a hotel of this quality. Not sure if it had anything to do with our room being at the highest floor in the building.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Chios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us at The Balmoral Hotel. We have recently completed considerable refurbishment of our guest rooms and I am pleased that you were impressed with the results. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the poor performance of the water pressure in your shower. I am sorry this was not detected prior to your arrival and I have now shared your comments with our engineer to ensure this is rectified.

My colleagues and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With our best wishes for a Happy and Prosperous 2013,

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We visited the Balmoral and were very impressed with not only it's perfect location being on Princes street (right in the center of all things Edinburgh), but also of the amazing service we received. You would think a nice hotel like this would not accomodate kids, but they did a great job and accomodated our 11 year old, even with a complimentary hot chocolate upon arrival! Our funnest was staying in the JK Rowling suite - Yes the suite she actually finished the final Harry Potter book in!! The PalmCourt room is perfect for an afternoon tea, and the bar has great original cocktails - my favorite was the Prince Apre. Julie was so attentive, and delivered top-notch service. Highly recommend the Balmoral for families and couples.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelabundance_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Whoever is in charge of staff training should have a pay rise, I have never been in an hotel with mo pleasant and helpful staff, from the doorman to check-in , from bar staff to spa staff everyone we met was delightful. The location is also excellent at the end of Princes street and with valet parking there was no problem with leaving the car for the whole weekend. Hadrian,s brasserie was lovely for our evening meal and breakfast was a feast. Our first visit and certainly not our last

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,899 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £183 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing