We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,138)
Filter reviews
4,138 results
Traveller rating
2,992
788
220
91
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,992
788
220
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
Filter
Updating list...
2,711 - 2,716 of 4,138 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here on the 9th February for a one night stay as a treat.

On arrival Concierge and Reception staff were very professional and very welcoming. The Reception is stunning.

The room was modern and a good size.

We ate out as were meeting friends but returned around 11 for late drinks in the bar which was lovely and again the waiting staff were professional and welcoming.

We arranged breakfast in the room in the morning which arrived on time and was a great end to the stay to chill out on a Sunday before checking out.

A lovely hotel with lovely staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuloufife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Always a winner and without doubt our favourite hotel in Edunburgh. Visited just before Christmas to do some shopping and had a lovely stay. Breakfast is always magnificent. The cocktail bar has a great atmosphere and the Pool/Spa are a wonderful bonus for a Hotel in such a great location. Only let downs were the £5 charge to get an ice bucket, the lack of free Internet and the ill informed receptionist who couldn't really give us much information about New Years packages and what was still available. Perhaps a lost sale there..... Valet parking not cheap either, but on balance maybe worth it for taking the hassle out of getting there with luggage and leaving with 5 times as many bags as we came with. Of course we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinb2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

we only spent 1 night and wish we'd stay longer as the hotel was just a great city break location and overall quality of the service was just perfect , travelled a lot and in mainly 5 stars and can say that this hotel and the Gleneagles are both 2 outstanding hotels that can easily compare to the best hotels in asia and Dubai even Switzerland !
quality of food was as well outstanding . room was very comfy and quiet .
don't hesitate to choose this hotel this is the one !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W144EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

And that includes the bathroom ... super comfy beds, extremely helpful staff. Two restaurants and a beautiful spa. We were celebrating HIS birthday so we upgraded and our room looked on to Edinburgh Castle and the Scott monument straight ahead with the Mound and Scotland's National galleries below. It is situated right next to Waverly Station so easy for transport. Parking is NOT included so if you bring a car, parking is an additional charge. However, the kilted and be-caped concierge (a very welcoming John while we visited) sorts all that out and will even talk you in through the new-ish road lay-out if necessary. Food in Hadrian's, the brasserie, was delicious, and the wines by the glass were amongst the best I have tasted. There are two Chileans - a Merlot, Gran Hacienda and the even better Luis Philip Lot 24 Carmenere and a Rioja, Banda Azul and a D Reynaud Croze Hermitage. And of course lots more. There was also a Michelin starred restaurant, Number 1, which we didn't try but the menu and the prices looked like exceptional value. We had a few minor glitches (keycards that didn't work, and a tv handset that didn't function) but the very helpful staff were quick to remedy these. Booking is recommended for certain treatments at the spa and also for Number 1. Oh, and we mentioned the birthday in passing and were delighted with the little surprise platter of macaroons on a decorated Happy Birthday plate that the very on-the-ball receptionist had organised to be placed in our room. We would definitely go back

Room Tip: If you want the view, be sure to mention it. We forgot , but we were lucky.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel for a two night stay. This hotel provided us with an excellent relaxing break in the centre of Edinburgh within easy walking distance of all central attractions. Food in the restaurants was excellent and afternoon tea was a lovely experience.

The room we had was an Executive Suite which was well appointed. The "extras" were very expensive - Wi-Fi access, mini-bar contents, in-room dining etc and care needs to be taken not to add huge amounts onto your bill.

The room we were in (524) was very warm and despite setting the air conditioning to minimum temperature, we had to resort to leaving our window open. Even then, it was still a bit too warm.

The hotel is very well staffed with highly proficient staff who all exhibit fantastic customer service skills. Every member of staff we dealt with was a true credit to the company and their training. We couldn't fault anything that was done for us.

The spa area is somewhat lacking in facilities when compared with other similar luxury hotels. However, what they had (steam room, sauna, and pool) were all of a high standard. Beauty therapy treatments were all reasonably priced and gave excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews