We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the place, it's a must stay, if you like great staff, food and rooms”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the place, it's a must stay, if you like great staff, food and rooms”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This was our 6th or 7th stay and again The Balmoral never fails to deliver, service 10/10, staff 11/10, rooms one of the comfiest beds ever, you don't want to get up and could easily miss breakfast. Breakfast is top class, food great, and service again great, a young man from India served us, he is a asset to the hotel, friendly, chatty and pleasant, thank you. Looking forward to our next stay, ps afternoon tea is fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philgto3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your impressions following your most recent stay with us at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that, from the comfort of the beds to the warmth of service, you were so impressed with every aspect of your stay and I shall take great pleasure in sharing your kind comments with my colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,656
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
729
1,743
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Fantastic location for a luxury weekend break, right on the doorstep of the Waverley station. Standard room was a good size and very comfortable, with excellent bathroom. We did not breakfast in the hotel but did dine in the Michelin-starred restaurant, which was a good standard although provided small portions which left us still hungry after a very expensive meal! Staff were very good although nothing special - rather impersonal. Leisure facilities were of high standard but under-publicised in the website so many guests would be unaware of the extent of facilities available. A downside was the extremely high drinks prices,which put us off staying in the hotel, and the overcrowding of the bar with non-residents using this as a waiting stop for their trains. There was minimal lounge seating away from the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3691dps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in March 2013, what a great place, for such a large hotel, the staff were attentive to each detail, from check in to check out we were treated like royalty. Its probably a bit too expensive for us to become regulars, but if ever we win the lottery....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasona391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent hotel in so many ways, classy and historic.
We went for New Year's Eve and it's right by the train station, making the train a super way to arrive.
Some of the rooms have a turret in the corner (a round alcove), which is very cool.
New Years' function - very good and lots of fun.
Breakfast was great.
The hotel is right in town and the view down the road is perfect for watching the New Year's festivities from (if you're facing the right way).
Do watch out for your old man checking out early and leaving you to pay the 300 pound room bill after he promised to shout you - an old trick, but a good 'un!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthebluecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This is old school 5-star. We first had chosen another hotel. Trendy, boutique and out of town. Was fiully booked. All the best: because the Balmoral is a great option. Old-school palace, at the heart of the city, next to central station. One of the city's landmarks, with its clock tower. You arrive: the tartan-clad doorman is impeccable. Be warned: there are a few details here that you might not like in the first place, e.g. the skinny bunches of flowers in the lobby, the worn carpets or pieces of furniture here and there or also the unpleasant smell of fuel in some corridors. Luckily, this is immediately balanced by this hotel's best feature: a perfect service. Ever-present, friendly, resoectful, efficient. We had a superior room in 3rdc floor facing the Castle. Very large, very high ceiling, great view, Conran-style sober, perfect room design, Carrara marble bathroom: great! One enormous fault here: the sound-proofing. The windows are not properly insulated so you may hear the outside noise. Hard to understand in a newly refurbished hotel! We were lucky because our room was far enough from the main street, but this should be addressed, absolutely! The rest is only praise: classy in-room breakfast (prefer that to the buffet, too crowdy and cafeteria-like), gorgeous pool and spa, top notch one-star Michelin restaurant (The One), perfection in details ( "ren" amenities, shined-shoes wrapped in silk-paper, etc). So, definitely a place to remember. Just ask them to re-do the rooms' sound-proofing! Uh and also: we loved the compllimentary botttle of Champagne (part of our package), but next time know that we'd appreciate a half-botttle of great Champ rather than a full one of cheap bubbly. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martialbenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel looked like an opulent dream for my Hogmany trip this past Dec/Jan, but when we arrived, the entrance was small, Christmas decor mediocre, and just no wow factor. The staff did not go out of their way, EXCEPT for the porter on our last day, on our trip to train station. HE WAS EXCEPTIONAL, but that was the only 5 star treatment we got on our trip. The rooms were nice and large, and the bathroom was awesome: white, new, clean. But the hotel itself is just not what it should be. The bar, which was written up as a 5 star luxury experience with dress code, etc, has OLD, torn banquettes with cheap tables and bad lighting! I was stunned! Looked like a diner. We went for drinks at the adjacent sitting lounge and there was ONE waiter on duty who was running all over not even trying to hide how over worked he was. He said because it's a holiday they are short staff. Great time to not staff your hotel. Not plush or regal. I would look into a boutique hotel if you are considering Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment following your stay with us at The Balmoral over Hogmanay. I am pleased that you were impressed by our bedrooms and bathrooms, which have all been recently refurbished and we are currently planning a refurbishment of our lounge bar to bring this in line with the rest of the hotel.
Our service is something that we typically pride ourselves on. Whilst the hotel is particularly busy during the period over New Year, this should not impact on the level of care and attention given to our guests and I am sorry that you felt this was not the case.
I would very much welcome further discussions with you regarding your experience and the points that you have highlighted in your review and to this end, I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at the hotel on the number below.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
0131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked the Balmoral as we had planned a weekend in Edinburgh to look at wedding venues which we had planned for ages and were very much looking forward to. I have stayed at the Balmoral before and had always had a good experience.

The welcome from Concierge was warm and they immediately parked the car and emptied the car of luggage. However the receptionist was rude and very difficult to deal with. I had booked a double room and was prepared to upgrade as we wanted to make the stay extra special with a castle view room. The attitude was appalling and after paying a significant amount extra, there was still nothing pleasant about the experience. I felt embarrassed at how she was dealing with me and it damped the high spirits which we were both in.

The Balmoral never even offered to show us around the Hotel as a possible wedding venue and after the negative experience at the desk this really did not set a good example of the service offered.

However Concierge booked us a great restaurant and my car was ready and waiting for me early the next morning as we needed to leave on time.

We enjoyed many drinks and too much champagne late on Saturday night in the hotel bar and enjoyed the views from the room.

Feel disappointed that one person has spoilt our experience at the Balmoral which we tried to make special as we were looking for a wedding venue. Perhaps more staff training for customer serving members of staff would be beneficial.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get a good room unless you are prepared to pay large amounts. Fifth floor is am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing