We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,105)
Filter reviews
4,105 results
Traveller rating
2,968
782
220
88
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,968
782
220
88
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 4,105 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This was our 6th or 7th stay and again The Balmoral never fails to deliver, service 10/10, staff 11/10, rooms one of the comfiest beds ever, you don't want to get up and could easily miss breakfast. Breakfast is top class, food great, and service again great, a young man from India served us, he is a asset to the hotel, friendly, chatty and pleasant, thank you. Looking forward to our next stay, ps afternoon tea is fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philgto3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your impressions following your most recent stay with us at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that, from the comfort of the beds to the warmth of service, you were so impressed with every aspect of your stay and I shall take great pleasure in sharing your kind comments with my colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Fantastic location for a luxury weekend break, right on the doorstep of the Waverley station. Standard room was a good size and very comfortable, with excellent bathroom. We did not breakfast in the hotel but did dine in the Michelin-starred restaurant, which was a good standard although provided small portions which left us still hungry after a very expensive meal! Staff were very good although nothing special - rather impersonal. Leisure facilities were of high standard but under-publicised in the website so many guests would be unaware of the extent of facilities available. A downside was the extremely high drinks prices,which put us off staying in the hotel, and the overcrowding of the bar with non-residents using this as a waiting stop for their trains. There was minimal lounge seating away from the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3691dps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in March 2013, what a great place, for such a large hotel, the staff were attentive to each detail, from check in to check out we were treated like royalty. Its probably a bit too expensive for us to become regulars, but if ever we win the lottery....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasona391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent hotel in so many ways, classy and historic.
We went for New Year's Eve and it's right by the train station, making the train a super way to arrive.
Some of the rooms have a turret in the corner (a round alcove), which is very cool.
New Years' function - very good and lots of fun.
Breakfast was great.
The hotel is right in town and the view down the road is perfect for watching the New Year's festivities from (if you're facing the right way).
Do watch out for your old man checking out early and leaving you to pay the 300 pound room bill after he promised to shout you - an old trick, but a good 'un!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthebluecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This is old school 5-star. We first had chosen another hotel. Trendy, boutique and out of town. Was fiully booked. All the best: because the Balmoral is a great option. Old-school palace, at the heart of the city, next to central station. One of the city's landmarks, with its clock tower. You arrive: the tartan-clad doorman is impeccable. Be warned: there are a few details here that you might not like in the first place, e.g. the skinny bunches of flowers in the lobby, the worn carpets or pieces of furniture here and there or also the unpleasant smell of fuel in some corridors. Luckily, this is immediately balanced by this hotel's best feature: a perfect service. Ever-present, friendly, resoectful, efficient. We had a superior room in 3rdc floor facing the Castle. Very large, very high ceiling, great view, Conran-style sober, perfect room design, Carrara marble bathroom: great! One enormous fault here: the sound-proofing. The windows are not properly insulated so you may hear the outside noise. Hard to understand in a newly refurbished hotel! We were lucky because our room was far enough from the main street, but this should be addressed, absolutely! The rest is only praise: classy in-room breakfast (prefer that to the buffet, too crowdy and cafeteria-like), gorgeous pool and spa, top notch one-star Michelin restaurant (The One), perfection in details ( "ren" amenities, shined-shoes wrapped in silk-paper, etc). So, definitely a place to remember. Just ask them to re-do the rooms' sound-proofing! Uh and also: we loved the compllimentary botttle of Champagne (part of our package), but next time know that we'd appreciate a half-botttle of great Champ rather than a full one of cheap bubbly. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martialbenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews