We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent 5 days at the Balmoral in April. It was our first time there and what a fabulous experience. It is gorgeous and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Every service and consumable we tried exceeded expectations. The folks at the bar made us feel so at home. Number 1 restaurant is a must-visit. My only gripe is the exorbitant price of internet access. This service really should be a part of the room price - even if it is only a slower service available for free with high-speed available for a price. I hope the hotel will consider modifying its policies in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,593
    688
    189
    78
    37
See reviews for
702
1,715
159
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We recently stayed at The Balmoral whilst attending a wedding at Dundas Castle. We stayed at The Balmoral a number of years ago and our second stay did not disappoint. The hotel is in a great location and offers all the usual comforts expected of a hotel of this standing, however, what sets The Balmoral apart from others is the fantastic, cheerful and helpful staff who all appear to enjoy doing the best they can for their guests. At this point I am ashamed to admit that I do not know the names if the people who looked after us so generously, but suffice to say from the minute we walked up the steps to the front door we were greeted with courtesy, warmth and when appropriate, humour. The staff at breakfast were superb as we're those in the Bistro and the cocktail bar (where we could not resist 'popping in' a couple of times a day for a glass of Prosecco). Thank you to everyone at The Balmoral.

Room Tip: We stayed in 406 which had a great view of the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherCAbergavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your return stay with us at The Balmoral recently and would like to thank you for taking the trouble to share your impressions.

Your feedback regarding the warmth of service is particularly pleasing and I shall take great pleasure in sharing your comments with my colleagues who looked after you so well.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

London could learn a lot!
Blazing fire in the entrance, security for my Bentley,a room with tv in the bathroom and Dusty Springfield on piped music if I were rich I would live there.
Breakfast is amazing, I tried first time black podding with Ayreshire bacon.
Pink Champagne at night,just apart from Sandy Lane Barbados the best place next to my own mansion I have stayed in!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HippyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was a lovely hotel and the service was very good. I can really recommend the mocktails in the hotel bar and the beetroot ravioli served at their restaurant - Hadrian's Brasserie.
The location of the hotel is spot on, as it's right by the train station/ bus stop/ hop on and off buses.

My only complaint would be that our view was pretty poor, which is a shame as there are amazing views from all sides of the hotel, so many of the rooms must have great views. We were just a little unlucky.
It's a bit pricey but worth it, if you are looking to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My Husband and I have stayed at The Balmoral a few times, both, as a couple and, more recently, as a family :-) and would highly recommend it to all.

This hotel just feels 'special'; it = has all the modern amenities you would expect whilst retaining it's old school charm.

The service you receive is fantastic - I have to be honest, having stayed at The Balmoral before as a couple I was a little unsure of how we would be received with our son, who was 6 months old at the time, but we were made to feel very welcome and they provided a travel cot, bottle warmer and steriliser and he got to take home a complimentary rubber duck which had 'I had a splashing time at The Balmoral' on it (little touches that don't really cost them anything but a nice touch none the less)

The spa is lovely, with sauna and steam room (although beware if going with wee ones that they operate certain times for the kiddies to enjoy the pool - fair enough I say, it is a very tranquil place)

We made us of room service, there was a good menu and the food was excellent and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning (a great array of cooked breakfast, breads, meats, cheeses, fish, fruits, yoghurts and pastries, I have to say out of all the hotels I've stayed in Balmoral has the best buffet breakfast in terms of variety and quality)

Although you don't see many people with babies/toddlers at the Balmoral, I would definately deem it family friendly and our wee family will be back next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is the second time i stayed at the hotel, and the second time was even better than the first! Staff even friendlier than i remember, they went out of their way to accomodate our every need. All staff very nice and friendly, always wearing a smile. Room was beautiful and large and very accommodating. Bed was super comfy! Visited the spa too and it was really nice experience. Can't wait to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review following your most recent stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you once again enjoyed your visit and that my colleagues were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
190 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The rooms are lovely, spacious and well looked after. The beds are really comfortable. The service is great and the staff are very professional and are happy to go the extra mile. The hotel is also in a very convenient location. I would definitely recommend that people stay here during their stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing