We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very nice building, excellent location, smiling and professional staff. Had a little bit of a problem with the AC not cooling properly, but that happens. The restaurant was full so we had room service, it was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnassieux b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,853)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,322 - 2,328 of 3,853 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Of the many 5 star hotels I've been to in my travels, this one would be close to the best. Too often hotels claim to being five star and fail to deliver, but the Balmoral ticks all the boxes but their customer service is a stand-out. After 6 nights there, I could not fault anything.

So when price is unimportant or one is simply trying to spend the children's inheritance before they do, this is definitely the place to be. The Balmoral is so conveniently located by the railway station and central to everything else as well, and Edinburgh is such a wonderful city to visit.

The welcome from the staff made me feel like an old friend coming home, and their service and their attention to detail is second to none. The kilted doormen are not just window dressing either - they were there to help and advise and take care of any needs too.

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and luxuriously comfortable, and the hotel has first class and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had our senior prom in the Walter Scott suite at the end of June. The dinner was excellent and despite having 19 tables, everyone was served efficiently and the attentiveness of the staff was excellent.
The location made it easy for everyone to arrive and the entrance display was lovely and really enhanced the photos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday in the lovely city of Edinburgh, spending four nights in the Balmoral. Right up front I have to say that the room rates for this hotel are quite high, reflecting its five star status. We had a thoroughly great time at the hotel and in Edinburgh. The Balmoral couldn't be in a better location situated in the heart of the city close to the Waverley railway station.

As you would expect the highly trained staff (to a man/woman) try to ensure you have a perfect stay. From the friendly receptionist, the helpful concierges to the bar and restaurant staff and not excluding room service, they are extremely professional, helpful and friendly.

Rooms seem to be quite small but sleep quality is excellent. Breakfast choices are good and the food is of a high standard. We dined in both the flagship Number 1 restaurant and in Hadrian's during our stay. I will write a separate review of No 1 but Hadrian's offer quality food. My only negative comment would be that more effort is needed to make Hadrian's more 'special' in the evenings to differentiate it from the breakfast restaurant which it is in the morning.

The Balmoral is a first rate hotel and from the outside it is architecturally imposing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at The Balmoral. I am delighted to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your celebratory visit and found the level of service to be of a high quality throughout the hotel.
I am equally pleased to learn that the food you experienced in both Hadrian’s and Number One left a positive impression and will share this, along with your constructive comments regarding the restaurant ambience, with our Director of Food and Beverage for further consideration.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at the Balmoral for 5 nights in castle view rooms. Overall, we were very pleased. The reason we marked rooms a 4 was because we felt they were a bit small, especially compared to other rooms in other leading hotels of the world. The service was impeccable and we appreciated many of the suggestions made by the concierge. We ate in the hotel's restaurant, Hadrian, and enjoyed the food. The location was very convenient to most Edinburgh sights and is also next to the train station which was very convenient for us. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim54917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The historic Balmoral is imposing from the outside and you couldn’t really get a better location. Sat atop Waverley station in the heart of town you have Princes street and Edinburgh Castle on your doorstep. Rooms are classically decorated, very small but luxurious with fully marble bathrooms . Nice touches such as a turn down service are all part of the pampering you will receive. As with other Rocco Forte hotels you have to request tea and coffee making facilities as well as an ironing board but this is no great hassle. The only issue during my stay was a mix up regarding breakfast being included within my rate, but it didn’t take anything away from what was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_loyal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location especially if travelling by train on top of Waverly Station . ( 5 min walk) Friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable size room good bathroom. Expensive, but value for money. Would stay here again if I visit Edinburgh Had wonderful meal in Number One resturant Great food and excellent staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £169 - £658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing