We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Nice”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you want to be near the downtown , just live there , its little bet expensive but every thing is great , the bathroom and the bed is great , but the bad thing is the Wi-fi not free , it will cost you for 24 hours 15£ and 3£ per hour , i hope that they make the Wi-fi free because its an important thing now .

Room Tip: Suite room but its expensive .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Took one of the superior rooms and found that they did indeed put James Bond in the bathroom. Clean, quiet and excellent breakfast each morning. Have a choice of either going to the restaurant or room service for the same price. Nice touch.

Room Tip: get a superior room - much more space to move about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were wanting somewhere "extra special" to stay for our Son and Daughter's Graduation in Edinburgh.......The Balmoral did not disappoint!! We have just enjoyed a most amazing 3-night stay! Our bathroom had a most impressive black and white picture of James Bond, and we can see why this is Sean Connery's favourite hotel!
The hotel has location, location, location!.... at the end of Princes Street, next to Waverley train station. The impressive building is famous for it's iconic clock tower.....the "Big Ben" of Edinburgh that features each New Year's Eve to start the fireworks party!!
Our room on 5th floor had views towards Leith and the Firth of Forth. Double glazing was excellent so traffic noise was excluded. Air conditioning was quiet and effective......Summer had arrived and our weather was gloriously hot and sunny! Rooms are spacious, bed was enormous, bathroom was marble tiled, furniture and soft furnishings etc...were all beautiful! Small touches like "turn-down" service in the evening and complimentary morning paper make the hotel special!
The Staff deserve special mention.....everyone seemed to have a real pride in the Balmoral! Doorman, Concierge, Reception, Restaurant/Bar, Housekeeping......everyone had a genuine smile and friendly greeting......nothing was too much trouble to ensure you enjoy your stay!!
We were very busy with Graduation events, but can testify from two previous visits Number One Restaurant deserves it's Michelin Star and Hadrian's Brasserie is excellent!
We have still not been to the Spa/ Fitness Room/ Pool.......perhaps we can relax on a future visit.....minus the Children!!!
Edinburgh is a most beautiful old City, and the Balmoral Hotel is "as good as it gets!"......We will return!!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor....the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to learn that you left The Balmoral with such fond memories of your son and daughters graduation celebrations and would like to thank you for sharing your impressions.
The Balmoral is indeed a spectacular building with the clocktower being visible throughout our beautiful capital city, and we are delighted you enjoyed the equally iconic images of Sir Sean Connery in our bathrooms.
Your comments regarding the quality of the accommodation as well as the attention given by my colleagues are greatly appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share your feedback with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a wonderful hotel property. Even before we arrived we had excellent service from the hotel Concierge in making arrangements for us. Then onec arriving at the hotel we knew were staying at a Five Star facility from the manner we were greeted by the doorman and bell staff to the front desk staff when we checked in. Although not sure why the hotel had upgraded us to a junior suite on the corner of the top floor with the best view of Edinburgh Castle. The funishings in the room, somewhat modern for this style of building, were very sleek and comfortable. The bathroom was equally nice with a very hot towel warming rack.

Throughout the four nights we stayed at the Balmoral, the service continued to be wonderful, what ever we asked for was done, and done quickly and always with a smile. Where ever you walked in the hotel every hotel staff member would greet you with a smile and wishing you a good day.

It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Definitely want a high floor overlooking Edinburgh Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketotravel813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent a weekend in Edinburgh to celebrate a significant birthday and based ourselves in the Balmoral.

As everyone says the staff are exceptional, great to see service at this standard in the UK. Top marks to all staff.

The amenities are impeccable. Everything from the bathrooms in the restaurants to the quality of the bed linen in the bedrooms. All top notch.

We stayed in an upgraded room and the ambient outside temperature was 23C (hard to believe in Scotland) but our room was adequately cooled and maintained at a comfortable temperature. The turn-down service is excellent.

We had diner in the restaurant and the food, wine and service was fantastic. Reasonably priced too.

The hotel is really centrally located - right next to Waverly station, and with easy access to the Old town as well as Princess Street and shopping.

If you can then this is the place to stay when in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Balmoral during your recent birthday celebrations. Your generous review is extremely gratifying to read and I will take pleasure in sharing your kind words with my colleagues throughout the hotel who looked after you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Exceptional hotel. Exceptional staff. Every detail taken care of - great location in a fantastic city. Stayed in a suite that had two rooms bath and a half - more than enough room for a family of four. Kids had their space (and TV!) and parents had their space. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. If staying in Edinburgh you can't go wrong with the Balmoral.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any packages that include a suite. Our package included the suite, movies, interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdadventuretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We absolutely adored this hotel from the minute we walked into the grand foyer and saw that it was smack bang in the middle of town. If it wasn't enough that the hotel is in one of the prettiest cities in the world, we were blown away by the professional, friendly and attentive service of every staff member we came across. Nothing was too much trouble and everything had been thought of in advance. The extra beds for our girls were beautifully made up for our arrival and at turn down two gorgeous little teddies complete with Balmoral bathrobes were left on their little beds. The rooms were so spacious and the huge ceilings made them feel so luxurious. There is nowhere I would rather stay in Edinburgh than this hotel. It really is something special.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you were impressed by the situation of the hotel within the stunning capital city that we are so fortunate to occupy.

I would especially like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your accommodation and the efforts made by my colleagues in our housekeeping team to ensure your family enjoyed a comfortable stay. Our Balmoral Teddies are usually well received by our youngest VIP’s and I am glad your daughters liked them.

It will be a pleasure to share your positive comments with my colleagues and we sincerely hope that you will return to The Balmoral should you be returning to Edinburgh in the future.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £188 - £677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing