We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It was great but one of the staff was really bad.We were staying with friends. We had booked a joining room.He said it wasn't in the booking then he said he couldn't change the booking.One of my friends called and the booking was changed emidiatlly !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlennong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,751
    724
    205
    83
    42
See reviews for
767
1,809
171
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely bedroom, and lovely facilities. Was only there for an overnight stay but really enjoyed it. The only thing that did spoil it, was when we checked out we were handed a bill for laundry for a cost of £78!!!! Don't know where they got this invoice from??? however the receptionist just ripped it up and said sorry.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here on the 14 th of November in room 608, the room had a fantastic view of the Castle and Princess street and we were grateful Elvira (lovely and friendly) had allocated us this room as it was a first wedding anniversary treat for us. The room was lovely and clean and the marble bathroom was very nice too. We liked that it was fresh milk for in room tea and coffee, alot of other 4/5 star hotels should learn from this as uht milk is not nice. We did visit the bar £11 for each glass of wine, eek, I do think this is unjustified even for this hotel. We also visited the spa, which was lovely but there was paint work going on at the side of the pool, which ruined the experience for us both as there were sheets lying about, men in overalls cutting about and a strong smell of paint, surely this should have been done on the night shift when pool is closed as at £214 for 1 night this is unacceptable. We would love to return but would make sure no work was going on in spa as this is why we booked this hotel in the first instance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Make no mistake, this is a lovely hotel, with great rooms and generally attentive, helpful staff, and a great breakfast, but so it should be at these prices. What shouldn't happen is waiting 20 minutes to get served in the bar - lots of staff on duty but seemingly unable to get themselves organised, and this did not seem to be an isolated incident. The whisky bar is better, but has a less extensive range (unless you want a whisky, in which case your luck's in, they have over 400 different types!) and is still very pricey. Would I stay again? Absolutely, but I'd probably do my eating and drinking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a mighty impressive hotel. Looks great from every angle you look from and excels at night when illuminated. We also had the joy of staying in a room that had views along Princes Street as well as the castle - could have just stayed in the room and just enjoyed the views!
Staff are excellent, determined to ensure you have a good time whether they are stationed at the front door, in the restaurant, reception, etc.
If I had one gripe, I wish the prices were a bit keener. Breakfast is very good, but not great - why then expect £25 for it? Room prices are a wee bit steep as well.
However, the hotel is an institution and really is a 5 star experience. Oops, I've contradicted myself when moaning about the prices...
I should really rate the property as 5 star however as the bedding is immense, had a superb and very comfortable sleep. I will mark down a bit though for the prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were greeted warmly and led to a beautiful, comfortable table. The food and tea was delicious, and the service was friendly and pleasant. Our server, Chris Douillet, did an excellent job of making sure that we enjoyed the afternoon. Also, the live harp music was lovely. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful Hotel with amazing staff,made or weekend away so perfect.Highly recommend staying here! Right in the city and around everything,beautiful bar and very well trained staff. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: we had 4 rooms and they were all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing