We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at No 1 and overnight”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner at No 1 and overnight”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great hotel, lovely large room, superb meal at No. 1. Only two issues (a) need iron/ironing board in room otherwise need to have items pressed by hotel (2) no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - you need to request this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,698
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,772
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We spent a great afternoon at the Balmoral hotel. We started off in the spa, switching between the sauna, steam room and the pool and capped it all off with afternoon tea in the Palm Court. The food and tea were excellent and the service was brilliant. Huge thanks to Joana and Ricardo for their attention, care and warmth.

Tom and Smita (Brussels/Edinburgh)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Clearly not the Queens estate but I think she would be very happy here. Firstly, I loved this hotel. Great location and you get a real sense of presence and heritage a real Edinburgh landmark.
We must have been a nightmare group 30 of us up from London on a Christmas bash, but we were treated superbly. By the way Edinburgh is faultless for Christmas, just lovely. The rooms were great, very comfy although my room was a little small compared to others but that's the luck of the draw.
The whiskey bar has to be seen to believed, although I still can't be convinced about Scotch but they do a wicked Bloody Mary.
I have stayed previously at the Scotsman but the Balmoral is equal if not better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at The Balmoral Edinburgh for the first time Friday 13th - Sunday 15th December 2013. Our stay was above & beyond anything we'd heard about The Balmoral, everything about it was absolutely perfect from the moment we arrived. We were booked into a deluxe room which was very large & roomy with a huge marble bathroom. Room was beautifully appointed and spacious. The hotel itself has a lot of facilities, we didn't get a chance to use the pool & spa area but the spa attendant was very happy to give us a tour. The staff at The Balmoral in all areas were extremely polite & helpful, nothing was too much trouble, their training was very apparent and in general they were extremely professional and very available. The bed was also very comfortable & extra pillows that I'd requested were already in my room waiting for me. We've stayed in Edinburgh many times but from now on if possible we will be staying at The Balmoral. My only small note of discord was I think the £7.50 tray charge is a wee bit excessive although I think tray charge in general should be abolished when your paying for a 5 star establishment, it seems to be a very British thing and something I don't feel is reflective of British Hotel Hospitality. However this is a minor thing, and everything else about The Balmoral was fabulous and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the building & was certainly quiet enough, it looked down towards Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WemyssBayKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Dec 2: Although we were not staying in this hotel (we stayed at The Chambers) - we decided to have afternoon tea here. Upon arriving we were directed to The Palms room - the woman at the front desk there was a bit aloof and directed us to Hadrians - Hadrians was not open for Afternoon tea (so we were told by wait/host staff) and were redirected back to The Palm - (what a conundrum) - as we did not have reservations they apparently did not have a table available - upon looking into the dining room - there were plenty available and open tables. However, we were instead directed, finally, to the Whiskey Bar to be seated and enjoy our Afternoon Tea (for 3) there. Fortunately, we were already feeling a bit put off - so it took a while for my frustrations to calm - We, my husband and I as well as my recent Univ. of St. Andrews graduate enjoyed our selections of sandwiches, desserts and teas - but found it would be unlikely that we would return -- solely because of the attitudes of those several staff members.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TxStateofMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed Sunday 8th December, our 3rd xmas break at The Balmoral, even though we live in Edinburgh. Once again it was a joy to receive the comfort and service we've come to expect at this hotel. From the intial greeting by the concierge,followed by the excellent bar service (special mention to the bar manager, who recommended the book on Jung), then to the helpful breakfast staff in Hadrians and finally the very pleasant staff in the lovely spa they were, without exception, a credit to hotel. In fact the only negative experience we had was on check in.

When we arrived the first thing the receptionist asked was did we want to pay an extra £50 for a Castle View room, which was very nice, she explained. However as I'd booked a double deluxe room with guaranteed city view, we declined her offer. She then gave us the key and directed us to a room on the 5th floor and said if we didn't like we could still upgrade to the Castle View room for £50.00.

We went up to the room and it was immediately clear that this small interior view room was not a double deluxe with city view. When we went back to the reception and advised her that was not the room I booked and paid for, she then gave us the key to room 452, We went up to this room and were very pleased, both with room and the view. It was clear to me that the receptionist gave us the first room hoping we would decide to upgrade.

As I've said we both love The Balmoral, and fully intend staying again next xmas, however this episode put a dampner on our arrival. Whether it is The Balmoral's policy to try and obtain an extra £50 from guests or that the receptionist was acting off her own back, it is unbefitting of a hotel with prestiege of The Balmoral to use this practice.

Having said the above, I still have no hesitation of giving The Balmoral a well deserved 5 * review

Gary Potter

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank postcardrecords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albrighton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the Balmoral for 3 nights (13th-16th Dec) and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is a very grand looking building from the outside and very clean and comfortable on the inside. All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, bright and spacious with a big bathroom (the bath was very deep so at 5ft 2 I had to be careful when climbing in and out to use the shower!!). Don't know if all the bathrooms are the same but less abled people may want to request a room with a walk in shower! We had a lovely view over the city and towards Arthurs Seat. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of both English and continental options, however if you order off the a la carte menu you will be charged extra even if you are on a bed and breakfast rate. We dined in Hadrians Brasserie one night and had a very tasty meal which was beautifully presented and served by very attentive staff. The hotel is in an excellent location being right in the city centre so handy for all amenities and is right next to the railway station. All in all we had a wonderful stay, the only disappointment we found was no tea/coffee making facilities automatically in the room, available on request but surely it should be standard?, tea/coffee used not replaced unless requested. Request to management, complimentary shortbread would be nice to have with the tea/coffee! Also more drawer storage in the room and a full size iron and ironing board. Finally we were offered a complimentary newspaper each day but it wasn't made clear it was only for a certain paper and so were charged though this was removed when queried.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipandlolspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing