We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Headed for afternoon tea at the Balmoral, lovely setting but somewhat spoiled as there was a constant stream of guests, visitors passing through the dining room, heading for the Spa, toilets and the conference centre behind.
I woulsd suggest in this instance that it did not turn out to be "My cup of tea" - although the choice of teas, sandwiches, cakes and scones was good, with the little "box" to take home uneaten goodies.
Chose to pass on the bubbly or driks in this instance - might be Ok for a one off or very special occasion, but in this instance I was not overwhelmed.
I hate to say it but I preferred Claridges in London, where the satff were less pretentious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,619
    698
    193
    79
    39
See reviews for
722
1,724
162
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orkney
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a fantastic three nights here between Christmas and New Year. Got a very good deal from otel.com and really enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere and decoration in the hotel helped us to get into the spirit of things, the staff were fantastic and our room was lovely. We paid a small amount to upgrade to a castle view - it was still a bargain. Breakfasts were excellent, there is a great choice of food, though make sure you get in with plenty of time, on Sunday the breakfast buffet is closed very promptly to allow the staff to prepare the room for lunch I'd guess, but it meant that we felt a little rushed. Having said that, I'd spent an hour in the spa beforehand (allowing teenage child to sleep in), so i felt nice and relaxed anyway. Our room was large and with a fantastic view. The bathroom was large and well appointed though the shower was an over the bath shower, not separate. There was however a good handle to make sure you did not slip and my tall son said that it was the first time in ages that he had had a shower where the water was well above his head rather than at ear-height! The hotel is well sited, especially at this time of year when the weather means that you might well wish to get to places quickly, staff were friendly and helpful, the bars relaxing... all in all a trip I hope to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for floor five
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Forget the food in the "Cocktail bar".. the clue is in the title, yes, A Cocktail Menu - what a great idea ! Friends took me for a surprise afternoon and both the cocktails and service were simply superb ! Try the "Black Forest Gateau" cocktail, truly magnificent, just close your eyes and pretend you are back in the 1970's.. the only thing missing was the sound of T-Rex in the background ! Something a bit different for a great, sippingly, sumptious, slurpy yet sophisticated, girly day out !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 191266Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel... but myself and my partner went in for a drink before heading out for the fireworks on New Year's eve. The staff were excellent, catering to our every need. One of the waiters asked if we would like to watch the fireworks from their suite upstairs as they were in prime position which we accepted (it was so busy and cold outside!). We went up to the suite at 11.45 along with other guests of the hotel and it was excellent. They had limited the number of people entering the balmoral bar so it didn't get over crowded. I had some excellent champagne cocktails. Every member of staff we passed smiled and said happy new year, the hotel itself looked amazing, we wished we had been staying there! Will definately choose this hotel next year, just an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

we had a great time at the Balmoral; the service was extraordinary, everyone was super friendly and helpful, and the most important things [such as quality of bed, breakfast, bathroom etc] were amazing. having said that, we left our iPhone in the room one morning and didn't find it there when we returned. we immediately informed the reception without making a fuss but unfortunately they were more laid back than we would have expected/wished for. We kept asking politely for two days for an update until we had to be less nice 48 hrs later to receive an actual response... which was, they couldn't find the cell phone anywhere, and that was the end of it. would have expected a more direct approach from their side from the first moment; after all, this is a 5-star hotel and such incidents should be dealt with more carefully. apart from this very unfortunate incident, everything was great

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMarkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

I am very sorry to learn of the lack of urgency shown when you reported your phone missing during your recent stay, as well as the poor communication thereafter. Having spoken with my colleagues in housekeeping and reception, I understand that regrettably the phone has still not been located. A member of the Front Office management team will be in contact with you shortly to further investigate this situation and I sincerely hope given your extremely positive experience overall that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Balmoral soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Spent our second Christmas stay with our family. As on the previous stay the hotel had a real festive atmosphere which was enhanced by the excellent service and welcome from the staff in all departments. The bedrooms were spotless and had all the necessary facilities.
Overall the hotel has character and ambience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just ace. It's directly next to the train station and right near to the best shopping in Edinburgh. We were lucky enough to have a room with a fantastic view of princes street and the castle, which was very special. The room itself was small but perfectly formed and more than met our needs. Comfy bed, lovely linen and remarkably quiet for being in the city centre. The staff were all very helpful and not a bit pretentious. The noted it was my birthday and treated me to some macaroons on a decorated plate. A very nice touch. If I could change one thing - it would be to have coffee in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing