We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Treat”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My other half booked a night's stay for my birthday in a room with a stunning view! The room was beautiful and the bed was oh so comfy. When we returned from dinner they had left a complimentary dish with macaroons with "happy birthday" written in chocolate. A lovely touch I thought, considering I had only mentioned in the passing to the receptionist that I was there for a birthday treat. All the staff we dealt with were wonderful, you could tell that nothing would have been too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend if you are looking for something a bit special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,729
    718
    200
    81
    41
See reviews for
759
1,790
169
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just had to let you know after an afternoon at the sales and the biz of Princes Street we were delighted to find sanctuary in the Balmoral Bar. With the efficient service of the staff and the gorgeous modern décor and furnishings we were happy to relax there with a couple of drinks and complimentary popcorn as well as roasted almonds. Pleasantly surprised when presented with the bill to find it wasn't expensive!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank feelgood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. It is a classic with great service and nice rooms. Unfortunately both restaurants were closed for remodeling when I was there this week but the Whisky Bar was open and in good form. Don't miss the Whisky Bar just off the lobby. The Palm Court is also great for tea or cocktails. I always enjoy staying at this hotel and this trip was not exception. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Went here for my wife's birthday. Initially just for a meal with the family but then I decided to book a room for the night for both of us.
Now this is how hotels should be, great reception by the concierges, desk staff and restaurant staff. Car parked for you, bags to the room, everything organised to make the stay an experience.
The rooms are simply sumptuous with huge comfortable hug me beds, very large bathrooms and great views of the best city in the world. Our room was on the corner of the bridges and Princess Street and I was expecting a lot of road noise but there was none. The sound proofing is excellent.
We ate in Hadrians restaurant and it was fantastic from start to finish. The staff could not do enough for us, they even decorated my wife's desert plate with Happy Birthday. Breakfast is equally good with a huge selection of traditional, Scottish and continental foods, no haggis though or Stornaway black pudding.
Loved this place, we will be back - that's a promise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to dine in Hadrian’s for your wife’s recent birthday celebrations. I am pleased to read that the restaurant impressed and I am equally glad that you were able to enhance the occasion by incorporating an overnight stay with us in one of our stunning rooms with views across the city – which we would tend to agree is one of the most spectacular views one can find.
We do typically offer black pudding with our breakfast so I am sorry that this was missed on your visit. We can also provide haggis on request so please do let us know next to you are visiting and we will be certain to have this available for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at the Balmoral in December and it was worth every penny. Room lovely, bathroom amazing, pool and spa gorgeous. Special mention to Lisa the therapist and the other staff in the spa who were very brilliant. The hotel is beautiful but its the staff that really make the place, from the receptionist who remembered my husband's name the second time he met him to the staff member who greeted me going down in the lift on Sunday morning, every member of staff we came into contact with was terrific.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Visited the balmoral bar for a pre theatre cocktail tasting menu for 2. Each course was perfection. We later returned as a table of 7. The staff were so accommodating and friendly. A special mention to JD, Carolina and a lovely polish gentleman (his name escapes me). The knowledge and passion they showed in their work was very inspiring. They are a credit to Edinburgh's best hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visited the new Scotch bar in the Balmoral several times with a group of whiskey nutters. We were not dissapointed! With the group we sampled a fair few rare whiskeys, had some good food to go with it and all our questions were answered by our whiskey expert James behind the bar (in kilt of course). Welcoming and fun, and a great place to sample some of the better whiskeys. And ask about their most expensive bottle, the smell alone...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisNelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing