We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we were on the last leg of our honeymoon from Italy and booked here to finish off our last night before travelling home. I loved it here, staff were helpful and the afternoon tea in the Palm Court was delicious! the hotel looks amazing and would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarkandLilyDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,751
    724
    205
    83
    42
See reviews for
767
1,809
171
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Fantastic Hotel will definitly be back staff where so helpful they made us feel special, nothing was to much trouble, restaurant impeccable, food amazing, could not ask for more, pure luxury, i can not praise this hotel enough

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on the south side with it being an old building you can hear some outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have you heard the saying that "first impressions are very important" ?
On Tuesday morning January 14th, prior to my departure from Edinburgh, I was looking for a post box to send some mail back to Australia.
I had stayed in the old section of Edinburgh and I was on my way to the Waverley rail station in Edinburgh.
I asked the doorman at the Balmoral Hotel for some advice on the nearest post box and he kindly offered to take my mail which was stamped and ready to go and took them inside to pass on to the front desk.
That kind gesture of your doorman must certainly say a great deal about the hotel- imagine what it is like to stay there if you get service like I have mentioned and I was only a passing tourist in the street!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurrK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Palm Court at the Balmoral is a fine venue for afternoon tea. It's light, airy and elegant and the small amount of through traffic from hotel guests doesn't disturb the calm atmosphere.

We couldn't eat all that was put before us but that was merely an issue of appetite as the food was superb. Excellent sandwiches, warm, crumbly scones, a dessert and lovely individual cakes were followed by a choice of fruitcake, nougat and handmade chocolates. Those that we couldn't finish we're put in a beautiful box together with miniature caddies of tea to take away.
Service was outstanding. Our charming French waitress took coats, arranged napkins and took pains to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. We changed tables without demur and our request to make a minor change to one of the sandwich options was met charmingly.

Of course it is not a cheap affair but I can't really see how it could have been any better and I didn't need anything to eat for the rest of the day, so perhaps the price comparison should be with dinner rather than a mid-afternoon tea and cake stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was so, so lovely. We stayed for three nights in January 2014 and had a lovely, huge, room facing out towards the Castle. The staff could not have been more charming and really went out of their way to be helpful - they didn't even mind when we trekked mud through reception (SO SORRY) after having an "interesting" time on Arthur's Seat.

The free bottles of water at turndown service were very much appreciated, as were the magazines in the room and the mini tin of Shortbread. The bed was massive and like sleeping in a marshmallow and despite being practically on top of Waverley Station the room was extremely peaceful. Breakfast was excellent, we had both the a la carte and the buffet and they were both delicious. The staff were attentive without being overbearing and were great at bringing us endless pots of tea.

One absolutely tiny niggle - it would have been nice to have an ipod dock in the room, but that's the only thing I can find fault with.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Balmoral over Hogmanay and attended the Gala dinner and Ball and had a great view of the fireworks. All of the musical entertainment was much enjoyed as well as the dancing! We did this last year and enjoyed it so much we decided to go back. Everything was excellent and we all had a very enjoyable time. The staff, accommodation and food were excellent. We had afternoon tea in the Palm court which was very enjoyable and a lovely way to spend a couple of hours. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked an internal courtyard so it was very quiet. Breakfast on New Years morning was in the function suite we had been in the night before. This worked well and better than last year when we had to queue at Hadrian's. This year there was no queue at 10.30 and we were shown straight to a table.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: From my experience our room facing the courtyard was quieter than the room facing Princes street alb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Special and extraordinary hotel with great Great service and an excellent location. Had a wonderful experience. Basic rooms are quite small with others being outstanding. This is a fine hotel and added much to our visit. Strongly recommend the Balmoral for those traveling and staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bills2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing