We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail tasting menu”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great evening in bar sampling cocktail tasting menu to celebrate friends birthday. Service friendly and helpful despite very busy evening (esp Nacho and Nuno) and enthusiasm and inventiveness of Bartender Lyle was fantastic and helped make the evening. Would definitely recommend the latest potion which we named "lyle's lyrical miracle" - not yet on the menu but am sure will be a favourite soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JNEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 3,927 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

as a special treat to ourselves we booked two nights in The Balmoral and travelled by train. This is a lovely lovely hotel, the staff are warm helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We loved the Palm Court, the Whiskey Bar and enjoyed both great cocktails and rare whiskey! Even with a huge Ball event on the Saturday night there was no difference in the service offered, the smiles of the staff or the speed of delivery of our drinks.
Our room had the promised view and was immaculate. The marble bathroom with huge tub was delightful although the plumbing presents a challenge if you are used to taps! we had lots of fun trying to get the tap to work without the shower operating too! Breakfast was a treat with great choice of everything, and delicious cold and hot options. Must mention Corrie - only 2 months here and such a lovely warm and friendly chap - but all of the breakfast staff were lovely too.
We ate out so cant comment on the Number One restaurant or the bar but we had lunch in the Spa and it was lovely - arriving with magnificent silver plate covers and tasting delicious. Spa is great too - lovely massage swim and steam left us feeling relaxed and energised.
Recommend the Whiskey Bar - the French barman knows his whiskey allright! and we loved the Palm Court for people watching.
Finally Peter the Doorman who is just so lovely and so helpful and makes you feel at home in an instant - Thankyou!

Room Tip: ask for a castle view or a 6th floor room. I think we would prefer to be higher up next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beefarmhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The location of The Balmoral is excellent on Prince's Street but unfortunately there are is no carpark but the hotel provides a valet parking service at an extra charge.
Rooms are very clean but the standard rooms could do with a little brightening up and the throws on the bed were looking a little worse for wear and needed renewing.
Also a slight disappointment was the hotel have removed the tea and coffee making facilities in the room and guests have to request this and a kettle and teas/coffees will be brought to the room.
Surprisingly there was no choice of teas like in other hotels which provide Earl Grey,Green Tea etc and the coffee sachets were of lower quality.No biscuits were provided either so this aspect could be greatly improved.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and the young Spanish lady Eugenia was extremely efficient and very pleasant.
We did not feel,overall this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon here on Saturday and were treated like royalty from start to finish. The experience was relaxed and unhurried, leaving us plenty time to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the delicious tea, cakes and champagne. Jorge and the other staff were courteous and professional without intruding on our girly treat. It was pricy, so I couldn't do it every weekend, but as a treat, it was a lovely civilised way to spend three hours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags5002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A fabulous building well decorated & maintained. Superb location.
Exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this standard and reputation.
Attentive and friendly staff, always happy to assist.
A great place to stay on that special occasion.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank The Critical Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for a last minute trip to Edinburgh and we weren't disappointed. The Balmoral is a grand old building conveniently located right next to the station with wonderful welcoming staff. Our room had a huge comfortable bed and beautiful marble bathroom with lovely REN toiletries. We returned to the hotel in the afternoon freezing and wet and decided to warm up in the cosy whiskey bar with a few drinks and enjoyed the gorgeous complimentary almonds and chocolates which were a lovely touch. We didn't eat in the hotel that evening but we did enjoy the wonderful breakfast the next morning which was the nicest breakfast I've had in quite a while, the food was of a very high quality. We would definitely return to The Balmoral

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KNorthumberland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We came here for afternoon tea as a birthday treat and they really made an effort. Despite having been born and brought up in Edinburgh I had never been before but it has left a great impression. I have to say the setting is glorious, cosy but quiet with good space between tables, beautiful harp music and first class service with professional, welcoming staff. Would come again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £185 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing