We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, South Africa
1 review
“First class service”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first visit to Scotland and we absolutely LOVED staying at the Balmoral. The history seeping from the walls, the open spaces in the foyer, the friendly (South African) concierge, the reception staff and the absolutely comfortable, quiet and luxurious bedrooms made our stay truly memorable! It was expensive but worth every cent of our struggling South African Rand! We ate out, apart from breakfast on our last day - which was sadly hurried due to to train times back to London. We would ;love to stay here again - maybe on our next "Once in a lifetime" trip!

Room Tip: Brilliant views from the corner tower room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    726
    205
    84
    42
See reviews for
769
1,813
171
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a very warm welcome, staff could not have done anymore! Free upgrade as it was my birthday! Also received a selection of chocolates in my room....lovely touch!
Breakfast was excellent, huge choice.
Bathroom facilities were fantastic, brilliant shower! Ideal location, right next to station and walking distance to all the main attractions!
Would recommend for anyone looking for a weekend treat!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for a few nights last week. It had been nearly fifteen years since we had last been there. If you want first class service and and excellent accomodation I do not think there is anywhere to match this hotel in the city. The staff are very attentive. The rooms are very spacious as you would expect of an old building and nicely furnished as well. The Bathrooms clean with large baths and showers combined. There are two bars one of which has over 400 different Scotch Whisky's.!
Breakfast is excellent although perhaps a tad pricey at £25 for the cooked option. However that said this is a great place to stay as it well positioned for exploring both the old and new towns.
We would highly recommend the Balmoral for its great food, attention to detail and excellent service from all its staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to share your experience of your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to be of an excellent standard and that you were able to enjoy one of our more recent additions, the whisky bar, during your stay.
It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and we hope that you don’t leave it so long between visits next time!

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Great evening in bar sampling cocktail tasting menu to celebrate friends birthday. Service friendly and helpful despite very busy evening (esp Nacho and Nuno) and enthusiasm and inventiveness of Bartender Lyle was fantastic and helped make the evening. Would definitely recommend the latest potion which we named "lyle's lyrical miracle" - not yet on the menu but am sure will be a favourite soon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JSEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

as a special treat to ourselves we booked two nights in The Balmoral and travelled by train. This is a lovely lovely hotel, the staff are warm helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We loved the Palm Court, the Whiskey Bar and enjoyed both great cocktails and rare whiskey! Even with a huge Ball event on the Saturday night there was no difference in the service offered, the smiles of the staff or the speed of delivery of our drinks.
Our room had the promised view and was immaculate. The marble bathroom with huge tub was delightful although the plumbing presents a challenge if you are used to taps! we had lots of fun trying to get the tap to work without the shower operating too! Breakfast was a treat with great choice of everything, and delicious cold and hot options. Must mention Corrie - only 2 months here and such a lovely warm and friendly chap - but all of the breakfast staff were lovely too.
We ate out so cant comment on the Number One restaurant or the bar but we had lunch in the Spa and it was lovely - arriving with magnificent silver plate covers and tasting delicious. Spa is great too - lovely massage swim and steam left us feeling relaxed and energised.
Recommend the Whiskey Bar - the French barman knows his whiskey allright! and we loved the Palm Court for people watching.
Finally Peter the Doorman who is just so lovely and so helpful and makes you feel at home in an instant - Thankyou!

Room Tip: ask for a castle view or a 6th floor room. I think we would prefer to be higher up next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefarmhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The location of The Balmoral is excellent on Prince's Street but unfortunately there are is no carpark but the hotel provides a valet parking service at an extra charge.
Rooms are very clean but the standard rooms could do with a little brightening up and the throws on the bed were looking a little worse for wear and needed renewing.
Also a slight disappointment was the hotel have removed the tea and coffee making facilities in the room and guests have to request this and a kettle and teas/coffees will be brought to the room.
Surprisingly there was no choice of teas like in other hotels which provide Earl Grey,Green Tea etc and the coffee sachets were of lower quality.No biscuits were provided either so this aspect could be greatly improved.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and the young Spanish lady Eugenia was extremely efficient and very pleasant.
We did not feel,overall this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon here on Saturday and were treated like royalty from start to finish. The experience was relaxed and unhurried, leaving us plenty time to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the delicious tea, cakes and champagne. Jorge and the other staff were courteous and professional without intruding on our girly treat. It was pricy, so I couldn't do it every weekend, but as a treat, it was a lovely civilised way to spend three hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags5002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing