We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Edinburgh!”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Big, beautiful hotel. From the moment you arrive, and the doorman takes your luggage to reception, you know you're someplace special. The service here is absolutely superb, and always with a smile! Rooms are spacious, well appointed, and spotlessly clean. Room service for breakfast.....what a treat! It's so relaxing at The Balmoral. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awesometravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,853)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 3,853 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Afternoon tea is an enjoyable experience. Relax and enjoy it. Best enjoyed with friends and plenty of good chat. Sandwiches actually looked quite small. However I think the cake and scones were the best part. Tasty and plentiful. It is pricey so make an afternoon of it. The staff are very polite and service is good. Obviously there are cheaper afternoon teas out there but I think at the Balmoral it is more about the experience. I had a nice time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed three nights at the balmoral, and it was just okay. There were a few odd things i didn't like, such as the pre-authorisation of much of the bill prior to seeing the room, and the fact that breakfast didn't start until 7am. Then there is the noise from the street - a 4 nations Rugby game was played on the saturday night, and even from the 6th floor i was woken regularly during the night.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am sorry to learn hat not all aspects of your experience met with your expectations. Whilst we do always require a pre-authorisation upon checking in to the hotel, we would be happy to show you your assigned accommodation before taking the authorisation and would ask that you request this on any future stays if it would make you feel more comfortable. Our breakfast service in the brasserie is from 7 am, however, we do offer 24 hour room service and would be happy to accommodate an earlier breakfast service upon request.
Given our central location, the hotel does occasionally experience some external noise disruption on particularly busy weekends, such as the International Rugby fixtures. We do have several internal rooms or rooms facing the rear of the hotel which tend to be quieter and I have updated our records to ensure this is allocated for any future stays you may have with us.
I do hope that with my explanations above, you will choose to stay with us in the future. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance with your future reservations.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

For a short break in Edinburgh, this is an excellent hotel choice.
The staff are courteous, and efficient, and the central location is a real bonus. Rooms are well thought out, and a relaxing, luxurious sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

2 nights stay at the The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh in an executive room overlooking the bridge and the old city. The room was very comfortable with a walk in cupboard and Italian tiled bathroom, very nice. Bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Both had an excellent 2 night’s sleep.
Dined at Hadrian's brassiere on our first night table booked for 8 00pm. Found the quality and range of menu not as good as our last stay. However, it seemed to be a big hit with BBC political commentators. Also with it, being my birthday the staff did make an effort.
Then on our 2nd day, afternoon tea at the Palm Court which is a bit pricey. However, again the service was excellent.
Cocktails were, enjoyed in the Balmoral Bar on a couple of occasions. In addition, we visited the whisky bar, where whisky champagne cocktails were enjoyed.
Breakfast was excellent and the service is too. 2nd morning we had breakfast delivered to our room very prompt and again good service.
My wife and I visited the spa, where the facilities are very good, sauna, steam room, and swimming pool. Complementary beverages, Tea, coffee and water are at hand with various reading materials to help while away the hours. A trip to the spa could not be done without a relaxing massage; the range is very good and not too pricey.
We had a very good stay and found throughout the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first visit to Scotland and we absolutely LOVED staying at the Balmoral. The history seeping from the walls, the open spaces in the foyer, the friendly (South African) concierge, the reception staff and the absolutely comfortable, quiet and luxurious bedrooms made our stay truly memorable! It was expensive but worth every cent of our struggling South African Rand! We ate out, apart from breakfast on our last day - which was sadly hurried due to to train times back to London. We would ;love to stay here again - maybe on our next "Once in a lifetime" trip!

Room Tip: Brilliant views from the corner tower room at the top!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a very warm welcome, staff could not have done anymore! Free upgrade as it was my birthday! Also received a selection of chocolates in my room....lovely touch!
Breakfast was excellent, huge choice.
Bathroom facilities were fantastic, brilliant shower! Ideal location, right next to station and walking distance to all the main attractions!
Would recommend for anyone looking for a weekend treat!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,857 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £170 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing