We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent hotel”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
ire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, excellent hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Excellent location, excellent hotel. We stayed in the Balmoral for 3 nts, 3 children and 3 adults. While researching on tripadvisor we were debating staying here or at the Scotsman but the balmoral seemed to be more child friendly from the reviews and we were delighted with our choice. The Scotsman is just next door but the Balmoral stands out by far. The staff were the friendliest we have ever come across. We asked for interconnectiong rooms and got a great deal on the family affair rate which offered 1 room free for kids. We checked all the websites for deals and got the best rate by phoning directly. The weather wasn't the best but the location ment we could come and go as often as we liked and unload our shopping! We ate in Hadrians the first night as it was handy for the kids and we didn't have to leave the hotel, the food was excellent for young and old. The swimming pool was a real treat heading down in our dressing gowns (kids gowns too) every morning to the self service Juice bar. The changing rooms even had hair straightners, a great idea. We are already saving up and planning our next trip to the Balmoral.

  • Liked — Location, interconnecting rooms, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Paying for the internet, parking $25 a day
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thaisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,654
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
729
1,743
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2008

While this hotel is very good it does not prove good value for money and we felt a little ripped off.

The location is perfect situated on Princes street and inbetween the Old and new Town.

We had asked for quiet rooms and were very pleased with our top floor classic doubles as they were well above street noise level. However for the cost (approx £300 a night) they were rather small, but cosy and the bathrooms were huge with baths.

However, a friend of ours also staying at the hotel had an executive double (over £60 more a night) and we were shocked by the comparison. The room was draughty with a very dreary green design theme. The bathroom was much smaller as was the bath. The lack of really good light (which made the smaller rooms look cosy) made this room look dark and dingey.

On top of the expensive room costs, breakfast (a buffet) cost a minimum of £16 - a slight problem if you just wanted a bowl of porridge or cereal.

The internet cost £3 for 15 mins. There is a nearby easyeverything cafe where you get 2 hours for the same amount.

We just felt the hotel was trying to squeeze as much money out of you as possible without offering the absolute top service one would expect with such a price - some of the floor tiles in the bathroom were wobbly, the ceiling of the bathroom in the executive double was made out of hardboard and looked ill-fitting, some of the bedrooms needed re-decorating (the executive double in particular) and the lift system was rather inefficient as the two lifts ran on independent systems. The doormen were very dour and unfriendly (but the front desk were very helpful and polite).

None of these problems are enough to seriously criticise the hotel but when combined with the price it leads to a disappointing stay.

We don't mind spending a lot of money on a good hotel, but the price of this place was just too much for what you get. We would stay here again if there was some deal on. Friends of our stayed here in February for £120 a night and I would recommend anyone to snap at that chance. Don't go here paying the full whack.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Guestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2008
Dear Guest

I was sorry to read of your disappointment with some of the aspects of your accommodation.
We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and this autumn will be commencing a bathroom refurbishment of our guest rooms.
I am sorry not to have had the opportunity to have met with you during your stay to discuss your concerns further. I do hope that you may allow us the opportunity to welcome you back the Balmoral in the future.

Kind regards
Ivan Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed in Balmoral Hotel for a long week-end.
The architechure and the interior design of the hotel is absolutely stunning.
The rooms are very comfortable and provide all the necessities.
The cuisine was at highest standard. All the staff of the hotel are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh.
We would definately reccomend it to everyone and we'll definately visit this hotel again.
Iva & Karen

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

A beautiful hotel set in the heart of a fantastic and vibrant city.

The staff were superb and very helpful, the room excellent with a high ceiling, king size bed, walk in wardrobe settee and arm chairs, plenty of room.

Breakfast was top notch with as much as you wanted with both a hot and cold menu.

The bar very elegant but comes with an elegant price 11.50 for a Brandy Alexander I thought was on the high side especially for such a small drink, but hay you dont have to drink there and once more the staff very friendly and attentive.

Overall we found our stay at the Balmoral more than we expected and not as expensive as I would have thought.

We Will Be Back.

  • Liked — The Room and Staff
  • Disliked — All was good
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maximus60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We ended up in Edinburgh after a mix-up with some friends and had to make a last minute booking. I randomly booked the highest rated hotel on hotels.com for a few dollars more than the others, the Balmoral. I had no idea it was a hotel of this international quality, and we were pleasantly stunned.

The toiletries were lovely, and the bathtub was extra long. Our view was just lovely, of the castle and a well-placed Scottish flag. The sheets were fantastic, it had a brand new Bang & Olufson TV. The concierge even tracked down a UK Blackberry charger at midnight for us.

The only drawback is the pushy luggage handler who insisted on taking my small overnight rolling bag. He then lingered until we gave him money. An awkward start, but this GORGEOUS property more than made up for it.

  • Liked — the whole package, sheets, bathroom, helpful concierge
  • Disliked — pushy staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MzRed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My family and I stayed here in May to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel is simply the finest in Edinburgh and we loved every minute of our stay. The location is perfect right in the centre of everything. The staff could not do enough and I even had a special cake and personal chocolates made for me by the chef in the in-house restaurant. The concierge helped us with local information and the front reception were always smiling and helpful. Our rooms (all three) were clean with wonderful bathrooms and views. This is our favourite hotel and we hope very much to return next year hopefully with our two daughters as the afternoon tea is a must and I can't wait to see their faces. Please dont listen to negative reviews this is a fabulous hotel which is warm and welcoming whilst retaining its 5* quality. We felt very special to be guests please don't change a thing.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing just wish we could re-visit sooner
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, Resident Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback you have posted on the Trip Advisor website.

I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, on the occassion of your birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Balmoral next year.

Kind regards,

Harry Fernandes
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Worth a viist:

The good:
- Location excellent
- Afternoon tea a highlight and must
- Front desk very helpful
- Smaller room but huge bathroom

The bad:
- Room service food was not 5 star quality
- My room was dusty when I arrived, more through lack of use
- Avoid the 6th floor as this is the top and has sloping roofs

This was a good 4 star hotel, not Ritz Carlton standard but for 150 pounds a night we were very happy.

  • Liked — Afternoon tea
  • Disliked — Dusty bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, Harry Fernandes, Resident Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2008
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read your positive comments in your review. However, I was also concerned that you did not find all aspects of our service as they should be.
As with all our guest feedback, I have shared your comments relating to the room service and the dust found in your room with our management team. They join me in apologising for these inconsistencies.
Guest comments are imperative to our business and we welcome such criticisms and accept them in a positive way, as they allow us to monitor and so improve the services we provide and your feedback has been most valuable.
I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Balmoral in the future.

Kind regards
Harry Fernandes,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing