We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive But Worth It ( just !)”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Expensive But Worth It ( just !)”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We thought we'd treat ourselves to a couple of nights in our favourite UK city and decided on a bit of luxury for our accommodation.

First and foremost, the hotel is in a fantastic location ( you won't find more central than this). Step out the door directly onto Princes Street and everything you need on your doorstep.

Our room was very nice though, in truth, I'm not sure it really was worth the £290 we paid per night. Immaculately clean , comfy , well maintained and everything was in good order within. We enjoyed a good sleep both nights here.

We loved the bar which served superb cocktails. Breakfast was good as was lunch. We ate out at night so can't comment on evening meals. Service was excellent and they do try very hard to get it right. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne8527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    726
    205
    84
    42
See reviews for
769
1,813
171
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently enjoyed afternoon tea in the Palm Court at The Balmoral in Edinburgh. It was excellent from greeting on arrival to the service at The Palm Court. Francesca was very welcoming and friendly showing us to our table and looking after us. The afternoon was relaxing and enjoyable in beautiful surroundings. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed on overnight as part of the wedding package offered to guests. The staff in this hotel are wonderful from the moment we were greeted by the doorman and concierge to the waitress who served us breakfast the next morning. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage. There was an over the bath shower which was quite a high step- you might have to watch out for this if you aren't the tallest of people or have problems with joints. However the rest of the bathroom and the toiletries provided were excellent. One wee let down was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities and I know these only required a phone call and was complimentary, sometimes its nice not to have to wait, especially first thing in the morning when the kitchens are busy. I have noticed that in other 5 star hotels, you are now provided with a coffee pod making machine-please consider this Balmoral.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a walk in shower if you have mobility problems. Rooms at the back may not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juniepie250555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent hotel. Excellent Staff. Excellent service.

Whilst i loath this website for its bias and inaccuracy, I promised I would review the excellent Tiago.

We arrived back at the hotel late after a night out, and were served, entertained and impressed with the service in the residents bar, and in the hands of Tiago.

Try the Espresso Martini - you will not regrets it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night last weekend - as a gift from family. From the moment we arrived, until we left the following morning, the service was first class, very friendly, polite and efficient. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. One slight niggle was the lack of a hotel directory. However, the rest was wonderful. If you wished complimentary tea/coffee you phoned room service and it was delivered a few minutes later - a full kettle of boiling water, tea, coffee, fresh milk etc. We were able to keep the remainder of the milk until the morning which worked well.
Toiletries supplied in the bathroom were lovely , good range and were excellent.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we felt £40 for breakfast for 2 was a bit steep but enjoyed going out to a local cafe.
This was a special treat - and very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAT10258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After very pleasant lunch with Mrs D we stopped at The Balmoral - Bollinger Bar for a cocktail and some Schiehallion for me and as usual all the staff were as helpful as ever taking time to explain some of the cocktails to my wife as she likes to try different ones and not being a real drinker is sometimes unsure - in comes Tiago - very pleasant helpful and knowledgeable of what they have to offer. He even took the time out to chat to us asking what we had been up to and recommending the hotel food etc, after I had informed him that we often came in and have indeed sampled the tasting menu at No 1 we moved on to why he was here from his native Portugal very nice lad and a pleasure to meet somebody who takes a genuine interest in his customers or at least takes the time to talk to them rather than just pedal their products

Room Tip: Long time since I have stayed though it was a suite up on the fifth floor to watch the Festival Fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeDee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just left the Balmoral for an evening cocktail for my mother's birthday. We got exceptional treatment from Tiago. I asked for a recommendation of cocktails and after a description of what I usually drink I was offered the perfect cocktail for me. Subsequently was offered am espresso cocktail which I absolutely adored and will now be able to make for my friends at home. I could not fault the service here from Tiago as he was very efficient and attentive but not 'in our faces'. A complimentary birthday cocktail was also given to my mother! Fantastic and will be visiting more frequently!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
959 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing