We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful majestic hotel.”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka Beach, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful majestic hotel.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful majestic hotel with a lot of character. Service was excellent. Rooms were nice and large, albeit, a bit on the tired side. A refresh would be appropriate to ensure the high standing of the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VRJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,698
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,772
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lovely afternoon tea.The staff were really attentive.There were many different teas,coffees,hot chocolate.There were really fresh sandwiches,egg,salmon and cucumber,a tasty wrap and coronation chicken roll,a cheesy pastry,2 different scones with gorgeous clotted cream and jams,a parfait,2 different cakes each and then chocolates ,2 different nougat and if you can fit it in fruit cake.A cute teeny tea tin to take home too(plus anything you cannot eat).Make it your lunch as you will not eat for hours.The quality of food was really good.It should be on your bucket list.It is a bit pricey at £27 a head but the setting ,food ,harp playing and service made it a special afternoon out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife attended the Spa at Balmoral today, and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The therapist Gabi worked her magic. She had a fantastic facial treatment and hot stone therapy. The products used are amazing, and she was totally uplifted.

The staff were very professional and friendly. Will recommend to friends, and will definitely return.

Best Wishes to all at the Balmoral.

Mrs Z Bernard

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Six of us had a lovely time celebrating a friends 50th birthday one Saturday recently. The Palm Court is a stunning setting with a really Colonial feel. The service was excellent. Harpist on the balcony just superb. Sandwiches, scones, cakes then chocolates all washed down with as much tea as we could drink. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I prefer a better sweet / savoury balance, a little too much sweet for me. Pity also we were refused into the bar for drinks afterwards because although they had tables they were reserved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had afternoon tea on valentines day - absolutely amazing! The surroundings are beautiful and the staff could not have been more helpful and polite. The sandwiches were delicious and you could also change your choice to suit your requirements. The cakes were delicious and we even got to take the cakes we didn't eat home! Well recommended and we'll definitely be going back, I think we may stay there next time we go to Edinburgh - a lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had afternoon tea in the Balmoral in October and again in December. The staff were very helpful during booking and so welcoming and friendly on both visits! The Palm Court is a fabulous setting and afternoon tea itself is gorgeous. There is such a wide selection of teas, sandwiches, scones, cakes and chocolate. The staff will also put anything you haven't eaten into a box for you to take home! I would definitely recommend afternoon tea if in Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailinshligigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife treated me to a weekend break at this Hotel and it lived up to all my expectations. Great location and fantastic Hotel. They have an incredible whiskey bar that we spent one to many drinks in!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamtf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing