We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the heart of the City, a tranquil retreat”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I love The Balmoral and always try to stay there when visiting Edinburgh. It is quite quirky but feels very homely - all the rooms seem to be different but are very comfortable and have classy fixtures and fittings. What you get is complete peace and tranquility and quietly attentive service from the exceptional staff. The beds have exquisite linen. The bathrooms have been thoughtfully designed. The place is spotless - the only fault is Edinburgh itself which seems to get grimier each time I go. Still, once outside and turning my back on the rather shoddy array of shops that now populate most of Princes Street (exceptions include Jenners, and of course, Harvey Nichols on St Andrew's Square) the view of the Scott Monument and the Castle are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,852)
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We enjoyed a family afternoon tea at the Balmoral, 7 adults, a 5 year old and a 1 year old. The staff were excellent with the children-much better than expected and we felt quite at home despite the posh surrounds! Afternoon tea was great, especially the champagne! We would definitely return for another special occasion. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

After a surprise engagement during a recent trip to Edinburgh, we decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Balmoral after hearing excellent reviews. We certainly weren't disappointed, we received first class service from the moment we walked in. Staff went out of their way to welcome us & make our stay very special. The room catered for every need with a lovely view of Princess street & the castle & of an excellent standard.
We would highly recommend the afternoon tea which was a memorable experience served in a gorgeous decadent room & nothing was too much trouble.
We were especially grateful to Ms Grabowska from reception who sent our first engagement card to our room!
A truly memorable experience & worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vin5946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The service was excellent from the moment we arrived. The staff were all very helpful and very attentive. The room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location is excellent for shopping and eating out.

Room Tip: Would have preferred an iron in the room. Just felt the laundry charges were to expensive.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were a group of 5 "girls", 2 celebrating a big birthday! The Balmoral was the perfect place to do this. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the experience was fantastic. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 12.45 but this was a perfect excuse to enjoy a cocktail whilst we waited! The barman was lovely and made a complimentary non alcoholic version of the cocktail for one of us who is teetotal, this was a nice gesture. The drinks were served with nuts and unusual flavoured popcorn.

We had spa treatments arranged for the afternoon and these were excellent with each of us enjoying our pampering. The therapists were very professional and we were encouraged to sample and use the Espa products available. After our treatments we were invited to use the relaxation room where we were brought herbal teas, cold water etc. There is also a lovely pool, sauna and steamroom available for use and nice loungers around the pool area.

We had 3 rooms on the 4th floor and they all differed slightly, but were all very nice. They overlooked the station and with the window open could be a little noisy but that really is the only negative thing I can mention. I have stayed at the hotel before and do not recall this being an issue at the other side of the building. The bathroom is well equipped with Ren toiletries and was serviced twice daily, once in the morning and at turn down in the evening. The birthday girls had a nice plate with a greeting and some lovely macaroons waiting for us on arrival, another added touch which makes all the difference.

Breakfast at Hadrian's was excellent, a huge choice and variety of items on offer as well as specially cooked to order items. The Bircher muesli was delicious and we all loved it!! Very decadent! The buffet was exceptional with a huge choice of high quality products and kept very well stocked even towards the end of service. Kannan the restaurant assistant manager took the time each day to chat to the guests and was charm personified!!

We had pre-booked dinner at Number One on the second evening and this was the highlight of the weekend. We all enjoyed the Chefs Tasting Menu with accompanying wines and can highly recommend this. The sommelier was very knowledgable and gave a detailed explanation of each wine and why it had been chosen to compliment the food. The beetroot meringue was amazing as was the desert simply described as Apple which turned out to be a whole lot more! The food is really quite something but the whole experience is what makes it so special and memorable.

The staff throughout the whole hotel cannot do enough to ensure that you have a wonderful time. They are all a credit to the Rocco Forte group. They are all so smartly dressed and professional and really make the Balmoral what it is. I would not hesitate to recommend the Balmoral and will hopefully return again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACF02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balmoraledinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest

What a pleasure to read such a thorough and wonderful review of your recent stay with us! I am delighted to learn that you and your girlfriends had such an enjoyable celebratory stay and took the opportunity to experience all that we have to offer here at The Balmoral. It will be a pleasure to share your review with my colleagues who looked after you throughout the hotel and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franck X Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I got married here September the 7th! I dealt with the lovely Elizabeth who was everything u could wish for! She helped me through all the planning and on the day I got a sneak preview of our room all set up for the guests! It's was beautiful! Planet flowers did the most amazing flowers that made the room just outstanding!
The whole day got better and better and being Italian our courses had to be more than 3.. So we asked if they could do 5! Every guest said how amazing the food was! Each course 10/10!
Our host bob who we would of been lost without was fab!! He really added so much to our day!
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank everyone at balmoral for giving me the best day of my life so far.... I chose elemental photography and cherry tree videography and thank u to them for capturing the most memorable moments that we will cherish forever!
If anyone is getting married please please look on both websites and see for yourself how spectacular it was!!
Daniela&Francesco 7.09.2013

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danimarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Once we stepped into the foyer of this 5* hotel with the help of the hotel concierge, we were directed to the reception desk. Here we found ourselves under the control of a highly professional service machine, which appeared only to exist to provide us with an excellent experience, which was achieved. The purpose of our 3 night stay was for a birthday, not a particularly special one, but the team at this hotel worked so well together and made the occasion a very enjoyable experience. A future visit to Edinburgh will not be the same if we stay anywhere else in this lovely city.
The hotel is situated in a perfect position and very handy for walking to the city centre shops, Royal Mile, railway station and buses for the Royal Yacht. We travelled by train and as it was next door it was only a matter of minutes before we were in the hotel.
Breakfast was served in Hadrian's and provided a superb fare. The Whisky Bar was an excellent place to finish the day off, and at both of these places, you are attended by friendly and knowledgeable staff. We would highly recommend this hotel and will revisit sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room which faced towards the old city and although it overlooked the station there was hard...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £169 - £658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing